Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Work of Sheer Genius
Vegas has to be one of the best crafted examples of it's genre; creating a perfect fusion between breaks, techno and even a hint of trance. This CD is great to relax to or to go mental to. Well recorded with nice, clean, natural bass lines and mad drum tracks. Can't reccomend this anymore. I just hope they don't leave it much longer until they release some new...
Published on 29 Sept. 2000

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Crystal method could have rocked!
This particular album has a great deal of potential, there were some very nice ideas, the problem was that their tracks became stale. Usually starting off well good intros to climaxin and then a lack of progression as they added a few breaks and rehashed the sounds already produced. A lack of direction is unfortunately not their major down fall it's their lack of...
Published on 13 Jun. 2006 by Mark J. Skinner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Work of Sheer Genius, 29 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Vegas (Audio CD)
Vegas has to be one of the best crafted examples of it's genre; creating a perfect fusion between breaks, techno and even a hint of trance. This CD is great to relax to or to go mental to. Well recorded with nice, clean, natural bass lines and mad drum tracks. Can't reccomend this anymore. I just hope they don't leave it much longer until they release some new material!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine Big-time intro, 9 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Vegas (Audio CD)
Liking all kinds of music, but especially various kinds of dub experementation, I had high hopes for this LP which I'd previously enjoyed tlistening to in chillout sessions in clubs up and down the UK.
I'm pleased to say I wasn't disappointed in hearing its transition from white label/dance floor to CD in the living room.
"Vegas" initially struck me as a cross between a grittier variation of the Higher Intelligence Agency's Two LPs "Colourform" and "Freefloater" and a smoother take on The Future Sound Of London (circa FSOL's ISDN, Dead Cities and their excursions as Amorphous Androgynous). However, the more I listen to it, the more I hear and the more I like it.
This CD takes ambient and techno and fuses it elegantly with drums and bass to produce something for dancing or just chillin out to. The sounds are almost exquisitely crafted, with a coarse, almost grainy edge that sidles alongside deep bass that goes through the floor before moving your internal-organs about. The 10 different tracks on Vegas are all very different and there's not a boring moment on the whole CD.
The Crystal Method clearly have a lot to say and this first LP is hopefully a showcase for future world domination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whoa! This rocks!, 23 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Vegas (Audio CD)
Wow! What a CD! The first track i heard by The Method was the one with Filter and that was ace! Sort of a rock/trip hop crossover. I got the UK 12 track copy with that track on it and Now Is The Time, so it's definitely worth tracking down that copy as Now Is The Time is psychotic! If you've got a car and you want some speeding music, this is the stuff to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 29 Jan. 2008
By 
This review is from: Vegas (Audio CD)
iv owned this album for a few years now and it still gets played frequently, alot of peoples views tend to liken them to the chemical brothers, which i do agree they are similar, but at the same time very different. they share similar beats and sounds, but TCM sound very sharp and have a unique "distorted" sound to them. i can listen to this album all the way through, where as with the chemical brothers i tend to listen to selected favorite tracks.

most dance fans will already own this album, but if you dont then i strongly reccomend it! in my opinion TCM hold there ground against other great dance artists such as; the chemical brothers and leftfield

i also own the other TCM albums and they are also brilliant. "legion of boom" just sounds like an updated version of this album and "the tweekend advanced" is kind of like there b-sides

enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crystal CD is almost gold, 8 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Vegas (Audio CD)
I bought this CD because I had heard a few of the tracks before. And After a few hours listening I would have to say it is a satisfying buy. The Sound is like Chemical Bros meet Prodigy which if you are into trance will go down well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 15 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vegas (Audio CD)
I will get straight to the point. Vegas is quite simply the best dance album I have heard, and I have heard quite a few. TCM's blend of breakbeats, electro basslines and bonkers samples are just mesmerizing. If the single 'The Name of the Game' is anything to go by, the new album will be worth the wait aswell...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Crystal method could have rocked!, 13 Jun. 2006
By 
Mark J. Skinner "Music master" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegas (Audio CD)
This particular album has a great deal of potential, there were some very nice ideas, the problem was that their tracks became stale. Usually starting off well good intros to climaxin and then a lack of progression as they added a few breaks and rehashed the sounds already produced. A lack of direction is unfortunately not their major down fall it's their lack of diversity, I counted at least five tracks that sounded very similar. There style is similar as other people have said to the chemical brothers perhaps slightly harder edged, however this album is no where near as rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fantastic!, 24 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vegas (Audio CD)
I have the UK version of this with 12 tracks and it is brilliant! I bought it because I recognised some of the tracks from the FIFA computer games and I wasn't disappointed. My favourite tracks are "Jaded" and "Keep Hope Alive", but every single one is a beauty. I can't wait until they bring out some new stuff. Until then, I'll keep listening to this. It's a must for all techno fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still a head-on rush now as when it came it out mid 90s., 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vegas (Audio CD)
Everyone knows The Crystal Method now as they've been featured in so many films but this was their second album and they'd found their feet by then. Just great stuff to listen to when dancing or taking substances. Cannot be listened to on low volume. That would be an insult. Just great off-yer-tits music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not like the chems, 1 April 2000
By 
M. J. Axtell "Jimmy Luxury" (Exeter) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegas (Audio CD)
People who say that if u like the chems, props, fluke, orbital, etc u will like this are wrong. Compare the baslines of the groups, the hard hitting techno rock-riffin beats of the Method to the spangly indian beats (private psycadelic reel & the sunshine underground) are different styles all together. One thing is constant. They are both unbelievably talented artists, producing constantly amazing records. If u like techno (u will know what i mean if u have played ridge racer). If u want dance that is madder than your average chems, the method are for u. U say tekno. I say Vegas. For full effect, purchase car and cane it alnog narrow country roads as fast as you can drive it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vegas
Vegas by The Crystal Method (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews