Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elegant melancholy from Floyd's quiet one
1978 saw Pink Floyd on hold, Roger Waters was writing what was to become The Wall, Dave Gilmour was recording his first solo album and Nick Mason was probably off racing cars somewhere. Floyd fans were still reeling from the aural assault of 1977's Animals album and somewhat alienating live shows. It was left to Rick Wright to come up with something to soothe the average...
Published on 3 April 2001 by Timothy Hooper

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Best Bland In The World
While Roger Waters was demoing 'The Wall' Richard Wright recorded this lovely album which is ideal for dusky Summer evenings or sleepy afternoons. Wright was the only classically-trained member of Pink Floyd and his jazzy writing and spunky playing informed their best material. This album can't hope to come close to those glories and has even been
described as bland...
Published on 24 Mar 2008 by A. Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Best Bland In The World, 24 Mar 2008
By 
A. Walker "Andy Walker" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wet Dream (Audio CD)
While Roger Waters was demoing 'The Wall' Richard Wright recorded this lovely album which is ideal for dusky Summer evenings or sleepy afternoons. Wright was the only classically-trained member of Pink Floyd and his jazzy writing and spunky playing informed their best material. This album can't hope to come close to those glories and has even been
described as bland. True, the musicians, great though they are, don't sound as if they were born to play together and the compositions themselves have a watery and passive feel (hence the somewhat self-deprecating title). However, it is still a very enjoyable and relaxing listen. Much of the music is infused with Wright's trademark melancholy and there are even some very fine moments like the sublime 'Cat Cruise' and the funky 'Drop In From The Top'. Ultimately it's the instrumentals that work best as Wright seems more at home playing than singing. A useful gap-fill, then, for fans who may have yearned for more of Wright's input on 'Animals' and 'The Wall'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elegant melancholy from Floyd's quiet one, 3 April 2001
By 
This review is from: Wet Dream (Audio CD)
1978 saw Pink Floyd on hold, Roger Waters was writing what was to become The Wall, Dave Gilmour was recording his first solo album and Nick Mason was probably off racing cars somewhere. Floyd fans were still reeling from the aural assault of 1977's Animals album and somewhat alienating live shows. It was left to Rick Wright to come up with something to soothe the average Floyd fans jangled nerves and Wet Dream just about managed to fill the void. Long time fans of the band will be familiar with Wright's more jazz inflected songwriting style and melancholy vocals and Wet Dream serves up both. This is an elegant LP, which while not likely to set the world on fire makes a fine - dare I say - easy listening record. The production and arrangement is beautiful and Wright's tasteful keyboards match the languid nature of the songs. An important balance to the more strident approach of Waters, and Gilmour's occasional lapses into all out rock 'n' roll. Shame about the terrible title!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A languid cruise on a lazy day, 20 Oct 2005
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wet Dream (Audio CD)
Don't expect a Pink Floyd soundalike album if you buy this. I don't know anyone else who likes "Wet Dream", but as only Floyd fans are probably aware of it, that's not surprising. I remember buying it on its original release and being disappointed with the first listen. Wright's clipped, deliberate vocal style took a little getting used to, while the opening track, "Mediterranean C", is a sluggish instrumental.
The rest of the album hardly whips up a storm either, but for me it was simply a case of becoming acclimatised. It's a mood album, one of a hot summer's day lying on a yacht or beside a pool, as depicted on the sleeve. I disagree with the reviewer who finds Snowy White's guitar uninspired. I've yet to hear anything he's done that I dislike. Mel Collins' sax provides a soothing thread on "Cat Cruise" which does get out of first gear, while "Waves" is a wonderfully evocative instrumental.
Maybe I'm easily pleased but I like the whole album. There are no gimmicks, no shouting just to be heard, just a tidy and relaxing collection of recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album, 14 Nov 2006
By 
P. Corner (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wet Dream (Audio CD)
I loved this album when it first came out. It is a step or two away from the usual Floyd material and is good for it. Much of the music is gentle mood music mixed with the odd 'funky' number but all enjoyable. Best listened to with the lights out and nothing to distract you so that you can just sink into it. Well done Rick.....he should have always had a bigger influence on Floyd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile addition to Floyd Collection, 10 Sep 2011
By 
Peter Stubbs (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wet Dream (Audio CD)
Certainly not as good as 'Broken China' - Rick Wright's last CD before he died - but 'Wet Dream' is still an enjoyable and worthwhile collectors piece for all those who recognised his under-valued contribution to Pink Floyd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For diehard PF fans only, 16 Jan 2003
This review is from: Wet Dream (Audio CD)
I often felt that Richard's musical contributions to PF were among the best moments on their albums, so Wet Dream was ultimately a bit disappointing. I would agree with the preceeding review - its very easy listening - to the point of being rather forgetable. The lyrics are often very trite such as 'this song has no end/too many words fill my head', and sadly the music is often of the same calibre. What saves it at points is the awesome sax work of Mel Collins, and Richards vocal tracks ( less than half of the album ) do have some charm. It just doesn't sound like there was any chemistry going on with Richard and his musicians; the guitarist's solos are uninspiring to say the least and the drummer and bassist do the minimum. So regretfully I must give this album 2 stars and say buy only if you love PF and must have more in the same vein, if not the same quality. Richard's second solo album was an improvement; Dave Gilmour's solo albums are probably slight better, but they can't quite match the creativity of Roger Waters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chill Factor, 3 Dec 2007
By 
J. D. Miller "BB Kingsmill" (Leigh, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wet Dream (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album. It's much better than 'Broken China', his later release. It has a totally chilled out groove all the way through, and is pleasing to the ear throughout. Wright has a pleasant enough voice, and sometimes sounds very similar to fellow Floydian, David Gilmour. Who would have imagined the following year, 1979, we we would get 'The Wall' and Wright's subsequent exit from the band. The calm before the storm!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pink who?, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wet Dream (Audio CD)
I had heard that this was the most PF of all the solo albums. Well who ever wrote that clearly had no understanding of where Mr Wright was coming from or going to. There are PF characteristics on the album, but this really is a solo album of a man frustrated by the creativity of others within PF. Some of the lyrics are beautifully crafted, however some of Snowy Whites riffs are too coarse for some of the melodies that Richard wrote. Having said that I would not be without this in my collection, not as good as 'Broken China' but an excellent way to pass the evening listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'turn around and see what you have found', 16 Oct 2009
By 
Deven Gadula (san francisco, ca, united states) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wet Dream (Audio CD)
When this came out back in 1978 I was a 15 year old complete Pink Floyd music freak, like so many of us Polish, German, Dutch, Hungarian, Spanish, Italian, British or American (although it seems like in general to a lesser extent than European) were those days. I used to sell albums on a black market back then (that was the only way for Eastern Europeans to get Western rock music) and this was a popular album. However, a few years later this album was extremely hard to find anywhere. In America it was almost completely unknown. Luckily, these days we have the Internet and Amazon.com. so we don't have to deal with what I went through some 18 years ago. I travelled across 5 European nations before I finally found Wet Dream on a CD in London. It is a great album which will put you in a great peaceful mood which is what makes it different from most of Pink Floyd's albums. The lyrics are phenomenal, the songs are beautiful and one of its striking elements as far as musical strength is the spectacular saxophone throughout the album. My favorite songs are Summer Elegy, Against All Odds, Pink's Song, Holiday, which are pretty much all songs with lyrics; the instrumental pieces are very good as well. Richard Wright left us a couple of years ago; I hope he is having a great journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous album from teh past, 12 July 2011
By 
K. A. Worthington (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wet Dream (Audio CD)
Not listened to this since I bought it on vinyl all those years ago. It still sounds fresh and involving. Under-rated member of Floyd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wet Dream
Wet Dream by Richard Wright (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews