Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dave Mason's best solo album.
This 1970 gem is past due for current cd re-master and re-release. It contains eight of Dave Mason's best post-Traffic songs, simply arranged and solidly performed by Mason and friends, including Delaney and Bonnie and Traffic drummer co-founder Jim Capaldi.
Only You Know and I Know and Waitin' On You rock hard, energized by the female back-up chorus employed by...
Published on 8 Mar 2005

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not special.
There were some truly great rock albums from 69 and 70, but this is not up there with them. It is very pleasant, but rather bland and samey. By mid way through the final track, I was bored and just wanted it to end.
Published on 30 April 2012 by Hengist


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dave Mason's best solo album., 8 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Alone Together (Audio CD)
This 1970 gem is past due for current cd re-master and re-release. It contains eight of Dave Mason's best post-Traffic songs, simply arranged and solidly performed by Mason and friends, including Delaney and Bonnie and Traffic drummer co-founder Jim Capaldi.
Only You Know and I Know and Waitin' On You rock hard, energized by the female back-up chorus employed by Joe Cocker and Eric Clapton at the time, and by some nice guitar work by Mason. Other songs, Sad and Deep as You, Eyes That Tell a Story, are quieter- piano and acoustic guitar based love songs in autumnal minor keys.
There is no Hole in My Shoe psychedelia here at all, but there is a subtle post acid (or post 1960's, if you prefer) metaphysical slant to the lyrics.
Worth seeking, especially if you like Traffic's second album and want more. Look for the 1993 Mobile Fidelity 1993 remaster first, until a better one comes along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Treasure!, 19 Jun 2012
By 
Stephen Bieth (Mississauga/ Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alone Together (Audio CD)
In Toronto there use to be a great store on Queen Street that has long since gone. I use to go there because the staff was great at bring people's attention to a record like this. They saw I was picking up some Traffic and told me I would like this record. I loved it. I originally picked it up on Gold CD and glad I spent the money. There is not a dud on this album. I have listened to some of his other solo material but I found nothing that he put out that is on Par with this.
Every time this CD finishes I can not believe it's already over. In my world it almost speeds up time. If you like music of that era (late 1960's) check it out I think you might like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music!, 29 Nov 2013
This review is from: Alone Together (Audio CD)
A classic album from an under appreciated artist. The songwriting still sounds fresh and the playing is sweet and never overly flashy for the sake of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mason at his best., 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alone Together (Audio CD)
Replacement for much loved but lost vinyl LP. A truly special album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alone Together (Audio CD)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not special., 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alone Together (Audio CD)
There were some truly great rock albums from 69 and 70, but this is not up there with them. It is very pleasant, but rather bland and samey. By mid way through the final track, I was bored and just wanted it to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alone Together
Alone Together by Dave Mason (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews