Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly beautiful music
Ever since seeing the film Somewhere in Time with Christopher Reeve and Jane Seymour, I have tried in vain to find the soundtrack, but now I have it.... oh happy day, I am ecstatic! It is hard to pick a favourite from the 9 tracks, as John Barrys theme of Somewhere in Time, performed by Roger Williams, is equally as moving as Rhapsody on a Theme by Paganini. This cd is...
Published on 22 Nov 2000 by ruth@offroad.demon.co.uk

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Bad choice for me
Published 28 days ago by Faye Norfolk


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly beautiful music, 22 Nov 2000
Ever since seeing the film Somewhere in Time with Christopher Reeve and Jane Seymour, I have tried in vain to find the soundtrack, but now I have it.... oh happy day, I am ecstatic! It is hard to pick a favourite from the 9 tracks, as John Barrys theme of Somewhere in Time, performed by Roger Williams, is equally as moving as Rhapsody on a Theme by Paganini. This cd is a 'must have' for anyones collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere Inside, 24 April 2007
By 
A. Roberton "Alan Roberton" (Hinckley, Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
There are many soundtracks that seem to be lost when listened to away from the film, however, this is NOT one of them. The haunting melody that runs through the film seems to reach deep inside, touching deep recesses that generate emotions. Listen to it in the car and you will relax, listen late at night and you will be calmed - it's that sort of music, touching so much and giving far more than expected.

I loved this from the first time I heard it, indeed immediately after seeing the film I hunted down the record; now I have the CD and even after many years of listening to it, it still draws deep feelings to the surface - wonderful.

It is one of those pieces of music that, when you close your eyes, conjures up images of love and happiness and yet can be so very sad at the same time. Indeed John Barry must have a touch of genius in order to switch deep emotions on after just a few bars.

In short if you are a romantic, buy it, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Mar 2007
By 
Mrs. A. M. Chadwick (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I first saw this movie back on TV during the late 1980's when they showed it for the first time. It's a story that says love is timeless. It's a great story starring the late Christopher Reeves, and the lovely Jane Seymour.

I had been hunting for this soundtrack ever since I saw the movie on TV. I didn't come across the soundtrack till I was in America in 1998, so I bought it whilst I was over there.

Personally John Barry is my favourite film score composer; he's done some fantastic original score, this being one of them. This has some lovely themes running throughout which are easy to remember and you'll find yourself humming them too.

I have a huge collection of all the original movie scores that John Barry has composed.

It's one of my all time favourites which I love to listen to. :-)

Have a look at my review on the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Soundtrack!, 24 May 2001
By A Customer
If you loved the film, then you won't be able to resist the soundtrack to it. The main theme is just beautiful, especially Roger Williams version of it - which is included here. Quite a few of the tracks here are simply variations of the main theme, but they still drip with quality. Parts of one track - "A day together" - sound similar to parts of the "Dances with Wolves" soundtrack, which John Barry also composed (although some 10 years later). My only criticism of the CD, is that's it's a little short, with a total playing time of 31:55, but what is on offer here is so good you'l soon overlook that fact. As soon as you listen to this CD, you'll want to watch the film again, and whenever you watch the film again...you'll want to listen to the CD!, so you won't regret buying it!. In fact, even if you haven't seen the film, if you're a fan of soundtracks it's still worth checking out anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical!, 2 Dec 2007
By 
P. Orr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This has to be the most beautiful piece of music i've ever heard, and every time i listen it never fails to reduce me to tears! As the previous reviewer states, parts of it are taken from the great Rachmaninov's Paganini Rhapsody, and it truly touches your soul. There's nothing better than putting it in the old CD player, sitting on the sofa on a cold sunday afternoon with a blanket, a nice glass (or two) of wine, some chocolate and a box of tissues....turn the volume up and just lose yourself in its haunting melody. Utterly priceless. Enjoy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Film Score, 26 Oct 2003
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is probably one of John Barry's finest works. A wonderful romantic film enhanced by this fine music, it gives the film that extra dimension which could never fail to move the viewer. Good to hear Rachmaninov's Rhapsody on a Theme by Pagannini on this because it was one of the highlights of the film anyway. Although the CD compilation sounds a little repetitive, it doesnt drag on too long, so the length is about right. If you saw the Jane Seymour/Christopher Reeve film, then I am sure you will buy this anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere in Time Soundtrack, 31 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful haunting melody played in various formats. piano, violins etc., and a credit to the great talent of John Barry. We play this DVD over and over when we are driving in the car, and we never tire of listening to the music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sublime, 15 Aug 2007
dunno what the reviewer below, mr hopkins, is listening to. perhaps he should clear his hearing aid out. this is beautiful, life-affirming music from a composer who stands on par with all the great classical men from days of yore. mixed in with snatches from rachmaninov, this is so harrowingly beautiful and poignant at times that its difficult to sit through without having your heart and soul terrorized! sentimental? perhaps it is at times? but its sentimental without being cheesy. in fact its the sentimentality of it that makes it so hard for me to listen to nowadays, now that im old,bitter and on the way down! i dont wanna be reminded of the past these days. i dont wanna remember lost loves,lost lives and the fleeting moment of youth thank you. so thats why i dont play this anymore. its too painfull! for those of you a little less disturbed than me, you'll find this a wonderful experience. take the phone off the hook, put the headphones on, and this will take you into another world. and while youre at it - go and buy the dvd and it'll make even more sense. surely the most under-rated and criminally overlooked films of all time. never has a composer written a score thats so in tune with a movies storyline than here. simply wonderfull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Somewhere In Time" by John Barry - Gorgeous 1994 Remaster Now Reissued In 2013..., 23 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jeannot Szwarc's "Somewhere In Time" has been both a filmic and musical cult since its release in 1980 - and a mere twenty seconds into the opening theme and it doesn't take a rocket scientist to understand why. The film is gushingly romantic in a way that might be called 'soppy' these days (starring Christopher Reeves, Jane Seymour and Christopher Plummer) and John Barry's score is simply sublime - beautiful icing on an already very tasty cake.

Remastered by Beat Goes On from the original tapes and released July 1994 on BGOCD222 (use Barcode 5017261202222 in the Amazon Search Bar) - it's been reissued at last in September 2013 using the same version as before (31:53 minutes). Disappointingly the gatefold slip of paper that is laughably referred to as 'restored original artwork' on the silver sticker that accompanies these reissues is technically right. But it offers up nothing - and it's a shame that Beat Goes On (BGO) didn't take this reissue opportunity to spread the wings a bit and fit the insert out with some proper celebratory liner notes (especially given Christopher Reeves sad demise).

Still what matters is the music - and it sounds gorgeous - lush - quiet when it needs to be - full of presence and warmth - and not ratcheted up for the sake of volume. With most soundtracks the 'theme' or 'refrain' is repeated in varying guises throughout - and its no different hear. It's just that the main theme is so haunting that any amount of variations is welcome. A rather nice deviation is "Rhapsody On A Theme" by Paganini with a Piano Solo by Chet Swiatkowski. And it all ends on Track 9 with a final performance of the `theme' by Roger Williams.

I've been a lifelong Barry fan (and its not just because of the surname) and at one time had over 30 of his original soundtrack albums. But even by his lofty "Out Of Africa" and "Diamonds Are Forever" masterpiece standards - "Somewhere In Time" is exceptional in its entirety.

Get this solid gold star in your reasonably priced car as soon as possible. And it's a lifetime regret that I never saw the Maestro live (my brother did and talks about it today). Oh well - gotta settle for the next best thing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 10 Nov 2011
By 
Kevin A. Lazenby (Madeley, Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The music by John Barry, and Rachmanioff stands up on several accounts. The Music can either be listened too on it's own merit as it's well written, it is a tribute to John Barry's work, it's also a good introduction to the work of Rachmaninoff, and it is also a great soundtrack to be used in the film of the same name.

A good all-rounder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Somewhere In Time
Somewhere In Time by John Barry (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews