Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good live souvenir, 4 May 2003
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: You Can't Argue with a Sick Mind (Audio CD)
Not too used to seeing a six-track CD, are you?
Well, Joe could've certainly have found room for one or two more songs, but this album is from the age of the LP, after all, and three of these six songs are over seven minutes long.
The sound on this live album is very good, and Joe Walsh plays with energy and conviction. He is in good form vocally as well, and he lays down a great, bluesy solo on "Meadows" and plays searing slide guitar on "Rocky Mountain Way".
The songs flow smoothly, starting off with a powerful "Walk Away", and closing with a majestic, eight-minute rendition of the epic "Turn To Stone". And in between we find a fine lesser-known song, the rocking "Time Out.
This fine live recording has lots of feeling, great sound, great songs, and it is a worthy addition to any Joe Walsh-collection, even if you're not an ardent fan and perhaps only own a compilation or two, or maybe a couple of his solo albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality 70's live album, 8 Jun. 2007
By 
Mr Beery (The sunny south west) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You Can't Argue with a Sick Mind (Audio CD)
This is the Joe Walsh I play most often. The musicianship and songs are first rate. The atmosphere is unusual for an American gig, no wooping and hollering, everyone's just listening to the music. The last track Turn To Stone is the best. In the middle they go into this jazzy flutey inprovisation and the chord sequence by which they get back to the tune gets me every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yet another ridiculous JW album title!, 18 Mar. 2008
By 
P. B. Koeb (Aljezur, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can't Argue with a Sick Mind (Audio CD)
One of the first Joe Walsh albums i ever bought, round about some thirty years ago. Good golly.....that makes me feel old. "YCAWASM" is a really decent live document that was released shortly before Joe became an Eagle. It features a gynormous backing group which adds excellent support to Joe's stellar lead guitar.

Pretty much every track is a winner on this album, and i can remember my first LP copy seeing a fair bit of action. "Walk Away" gets things off to a cracking start, and the live version of "Meadows" is excellent. Then comes my favourite rendition of "Rocky Mountain Way", which is extended into a seven-plus minute work-out. "Time Out" is given a good treatment, before a super version of "Help Me Thru The Nite". The one track which disappoints, for me, is "Turn To Stone". It starts and ends very well, but what was Joe thinking by sticking that flute solo in the middle?! The other reviewers seemed to appreciate that, but not me! (Hence my rating drops a star.) Let's have some input from GG Saunders, our resident Joe Walsh expert.

Overall, a very decent live album. Shame that it couldn't be fleshed out with a few bonus tracks, as the running time can only be in the low thirty-plus minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kev, 1 Sept. 2009
By 
Guitar Man (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
This album has a really great live feel to it; Joe before he joined the Eagles, but with Eagles members making a guest appearance. Some great raunchy, rocky guitar playing, and Joes' distinctive vocals shown off to the full. A brilliant addition to anyone's Eagles back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You Can't Argue with a Sick Mind Walsh Joe, 19 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can't Argue with a Sick Mind (Audio CD)
the First live album i ever owned, so it occupies a particular place in my heart... it is excellent... it contains the best version of "ROCKY MOUNTAIN WAY" and the final track (TURN TO STONE) is fantastic... BUY IT!!!!! IT DOESN'T DISAPPOINT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barking??? but great., 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can't Argue with a Sick Mind (Audio CD)
Joe Walsh presents a barking mad image in his live work but in interviews he clearly is not. Long live the 'barking and brilliant' work of one of the world real Rockers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A King of Rock and Roll, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To anyone who loves The Eagles or Joe Walsh - add this to your collection and listen to the glory that is mad old, bad old Joe with a capital 'J'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good ole joe, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can't Argue with a Sick Mind (Audio CD)
had a battered vinyl copy for years so bought this at great price.good stuff-pure and simple.
steve sa s.wales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant cd all JW fans will enjoy this put this ..., 12 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can't Argue with a Sick Mind (Audio CD)
brilliant cd all JW fans will enjoy this put this in your collection It arrived early and in great nick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really great guitarist & showman, 8 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can't Argue with a Sick Mind (Audio CD)
A really outstanding live album by Joe Walsh. A really great guitarist & showman! :o) :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Can't Argue with a Sick Mind
You Can't Argue with a Sick Mind by Joe Walsh (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews