Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ..... It was a Stratocaster with a whammy bar .....
Well it might have been for Frank Zappa, much as I loved the guy, but BB King didn't need a whammy bar, he did it with his fingers! Man, he must have fingers as hard as a 10th dan karate expert! I had seen Eric Clapton going on about this album on the BBC 4 program "Can Blue Men Sing the Whites" and then I saw Peter Green going on about it on BBC 4's "Blues...
Published 16 months ago by Dr Asa Breed

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Good complication but not a great recording. Recommended by Eric Clapton if you want to get into BB King
Published 26 days ago by Mr. K. RJ Graham


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ..... It was a Stratocaster with a whammy bar ....., 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
Well it might have been for Frank Zappa, much as I loved the guy, but BB King didn't need a whammy bar, he did it with his fingers! Man, he must have fingers as hard as a 10th dan karate expert! I had seen Eric Clapton going on about this album on the BBC 4 program "Can Blue Men Sing the Whites" and then I saw Peter Green going on about it on BBC 4's "Blues America". BB King was on the same program saying he had "big, stupid fingers", and I mean, he has a hand like a bunch of bananas (you don't need to work out when you're playing blues!) then they showed him playing and illustrating his vibrato and the amount of power was just awesome, I mean I have never seen anybody else do that. I already had a couple of albums from later on, (because he's still playing), but if you buy this one, you will hear the fire in his belly, you will hear where the two English dudes got a lot of their ideas and technique and the playing is so good you will forget you are listening to a gig, until the audience holler and hoot and make their own contribution and show their appreciation, hell I was doing it in my living room. This is probably THE BB King album to own, unless a smarter, more knowledgeable contributer out there wants to put me straight, in fact it's probably THE blues album to own, I mean, wow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BB at his best, 18 Nov. 2001
By 
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
One of BB's best. Big, brassy, full of verve. His stardom shines through on this infectious ride through one of the best live blues perfomances of all times. Don't intellectualise over it, just listen. The, what would be a mainly black, audience are rapturous. BB showed the way and black consciousness learned. But let's share it. Blues belongs to everyone. Albums like this broke barriers. You just can't help but get on it when listening. A goodtime bounce through BB's favourites helped in no small portion by a rythm section as tight as Getty's wallet. This band honed to mutual perfection were as close to BB as you could get. Playing their home town Chicago obviously inspired them to greatness. They lived up to that inspiration and didn't let the home of the blues down.
A must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up, 6 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
I hadn't bought a BB King album before, and bought this on the strength of the reviews on this page. I am absolutely blown away by the musicianship on show here. BB King's voice is fantastic, and Lucille is really on top form too !
I'd definately recommend it. Buy it for rough and ready blues, delivered by one of the most evocative voices you're ever likely to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars? I'd prefer ten., 9 Jan. 2013
By 
Keith Randall (Isle of Man, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
This was a Christmas present - yes, bought from Amazon - to replace a copy I loaned to a friend who promptly mislaid it. It appears to have gone for good, into that place where odd socks and keys go...

I chose this particular issue - the MCA 1997 one, at random. I chose very well. The sound is fine, more like my treasured mono vinyl copy than any CD I've heard.

B.B.King is THE blues singer and THE Blues guitarist of the last century, what Neil Slaven would call 'doubly-blessed' (he was referring to Otis Rush) for his astounding abilty to deliver a seemingly effortless and perfect vocal like the incredible 'Worry, Worry' herewith and at other times produce an immaculate guitar solo. It must have been GOOD to have been B.B.King in the 1950s and 1960s!

Note that I refer to him as a singer first and foremost. That's because that's how it is, which is not to decry his wonderful guitar playing but to stress how King himself saw it and his original audience saw it. His eventual audience - mostly white - stressed the guitar playing, which really isn't it...Blues is a vocal art, first and foremost.

But this album...it's just so great. Yes, the follow-up 'live' album 'Blues Is King' has many fine moments (not all of them 'live' by any means) but this album is the one. Here it is, well-mastered, very well-presented, with - unlike other issues - the two spoken introductions intact - and no bonus tracks. They wouldn't work here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raucous and Rough Edged, 31 Oct. 2011
By 
Mr. C. W. Livett "colin Livett" (Hull Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
These 10 tracks recorded in 1964 have the reputation of being one of the greatest live blues concerts ever put on disc.They do not disappoint save from the shortness of the concert. Are there more tracks in the vaults ? or was the intensity of the 35 minutes enough for performer and audience?The guitar playing is searing and superb .The singing almost frightening in its intensity and emotion.Of course it has some of the noise from the audience which some may find distracting If so you really should not be listening to live recordings ,especially ones which have not been cleaned up ,toned down and killed with kindness. Here you hear it as it was much as on that great Rock and Roll Concert by Jerry Lee Lewis :Live at the Star Club, Hamburg .This is one of the few discs that really lives up to its reputation I can only express embarrassment that it has taken so long to be added to mine.Absolutely essential for lovers of blues in general and BB in particular

Colin Livett
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An awesome live performance., 10 Sept. 2000
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
This cd is an (unusual) live recording where it feels as if you are really seeing BB King playing his best in 1964. The songs are an impressive fusion of the well known voice and guitar with an energetic, funky band and the all-important interaction of the audience just adds so much feeling. Play it loud in your car and you could be there......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is that good, 5 Sept. 2006
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
I think this is one of the best live albums of any type, in the sense that you get the real feeling of the audience hysteria. In a similar way to James Brown "Live At The Apollo" it's not note perfect and there's been no tarting up in the studio.

"Sweet Little Angel" is a fabulous version with a great vocal and good audience involvement, alongside "How Blue Can You Get".

It's a long way from the polished studio albums released recently but essential nontheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riley at his best, 26 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Regal (MP3 Download)
This album has always been rated as one of the finest live blues albums ever recorded. It came out on vinyl in the mid-sixties so that is why you get two intros to the show (one for side A and one for the B side). It's good and worth getting but surely there must be more songs recorded at the time which could have extended the playing time and given the listener reasonable playing time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blues With A Feeling!, 14 July 2010
By 
J. HOLMES (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
This is the now legendary Live At The Regal album, at an incredible bargain price! Anything under £10 is a steal for an album of this quality.

This is BB as a relatively young man (around the age of 40)playing with plenty of fire and attitude, yet with that lightness of touch that is his trademark. I tend to think that the live atmosphere is slightly contrived (and possibly appears to be 2 from different sets, or maybe even 2 different nights). However, that should not detract from the music, which is still as relevant and vital today as it was nearly 50 years ago, when it was recorded.

If you like this album, check out Blues Is King. In my opinion it is the definitive BB King live album. Recorded in a sweaty Chicago night club on fireworks night in 1966, it just writes the book on how to play blues guitar! The old vinyl album is now available on cd, with a couple of extra live tracks. It should be the number 1 album purchase for all BB King fans, or anyone who just loves blues guitar playing at its pinnacle. Regal for me doesn't quite rate 5 stars, but Blues Is King gets top marks with ease!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live at The Regal, 29 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: Live At The Regal (MP3 Download)
Definitely still one of the best live albums available and a good example of BB King at,arguably, his peak. I would recommend it to any blues fan that hasn't got it in their collection yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At The Regal
Live At The Regal by B.B. King (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews