Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BB at his best
One of BB's best. Big, brassy, full of verve. His stardom shines through on this infectious ride through one of the best live blues perfomances of all times. Don't intellectualise over it, just listen. The, what would be a mainly black, audience are rapturous. BB showed the way and black consciousness learned. But let's share it. Blues belongs to everyone. Albums like...
Published on 18 Nov 2001 by Brian Willimson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars BB King Live at the Regal
Not the definitve live performance that you are lead to believe in the press, its OK but I've heard BB much better than this!
Published 4 months ago by Steve Wood


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BB at his best, 18 Nov 2001
By 
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
One of BB's best. Big, brassy, full of verve. His stardom shines through on this infectious ride through one of the best live blues perfomances of all times. Don't intellectualise over it, just listen. The, what would be a mainly black, audience are rapturous. BB showed the way and black consciousness learned. But let's share it. Blues belongs to everyone. Albums like this broke barriers. You just can't help but get on it when listening. A goodtime bounce through BB's favourites helped in no small portion by a rythm section as tight as Getty's wallet. This band honed to mutual perfection were as close to BB as you could get. Playing their home town Chicago obviously inspired them to greatness. They lived up to that inspiration and didn't let the home of the blues down.
A must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up, 6 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
I hadn't bought a BB King album before, and bought this on the strength of the reviews on this page. I am absolutely blown away by the musicianship on show here. BB King's voice is fantastic, and Lucille is really on top form too !
I'd definately recommend it. Buy it for rough and ready blues, delivered by one of the most evocative voices you're ever likely to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An awesome live performance., 10 Sep 2000
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
This cd is an (unusual) live recording where it feels as if you are really seeing BB King playing his best in 1964. The songs are an impressive fusion of the well known voice and guitar with an energetic, funky band and the all-important interaction of the audience just adds so much feeling. Play it loud in your car and you could be there......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is that good, 5 Sep 2006
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
I think this is one of the best live albums of any type, in the sense that you get the real feeling of the audience hysteria. In a similar way to James Brown "Live At The Apollo" it's not note perfect and there's been no tarting up in the studio.

"Sweet Little Angel" is a fabulous version with a great vocal and good audience involvement, alongside "How Blue Can You Get".

It's a long way from the polished studio albums released recently but essential nontheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good - too short, 1 Dec 2010
By 
Adam Stacey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
I know it was originally on vinyl but couldn't they have made it a double album. the music is pretty amazing but it only lasts about 40 minuites and I wish it was longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King of the Blues, 5 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
This albums just shows how great BB is live. His singing is epic and his lead guitar perfect. As a guitarist myself i can say that this is nowhere near as natural and easy as BB makes it sound. His tone compares well with any of the more flash blues players. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blues With A Feeling!, 14 July 2010
By 
J. HOLMES (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
This is the now legendary Live At The Regal album, at an incredible bargain price! Anything under 10 is a steal for an album of this quality.

This is BB as a relatively young man (around the age of 40)playing with plenty of fire and attitude, yet with that lightness of touch that is his trademark. I tend to think that the live atmosphere is slightly contrived (and possibly appears to be 2 from different sets, or maybe even 2 different nights). However, that should not detract from the music, which is still as relevant and vital today as it was nearly 50 years ago, when it was recorded.

If you like this album, check out Blues Is King. In my opinion it is the definitive BB King live album. Recorded in a sweaty Chicago night club on fireworks night in 1966, it just writes the book on how to play blues guitar! The old vinyl album is now available on cd, with a couple of extra live tracks. It should be the number 1 album purchase for all BB King fans, or anyone who just loves blues guitar playing at its pinnacle. Regal for me doesn't quite rate 5 stars, but Blues Is King gets top marks with ease!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As it was, 21 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. Stephen Edwards "se1955" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
This is the real thing. One of the great live recordings in any genre, it really is "live" with all the imperfections and crowd intrusions of the gig as it happened. BB King was always at the soul end of the blues styles, and this concert was recorded at the time that soul music was really taking off in BBs heartland. That fact is reflected in the performance - brash, noisy and above all entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electric Blues Milestone Recording, 5 April 2011
By 
C. Phillips (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
I first bought 'BB King - Live at the Regal' in 1965. Before that, blues in the UK was really just 'high heel sneekers' R&B and this catalyst album changed everything. Until then, nobody had heard guitar phrasing like this and it created a new format for most 60s blues bands, including my own. It was `jaw-dropping' stuff and still is. BB's bell like voice, those economical, ringing, quintessentially Gibson solos and the easy, walking bass lines make this the finest, most atmospheric and balanced electric blues ever recorded. Unsurprisingly, BB himself doesn't rate it very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad!, 18 Nov 2009
By 
John Collis "collisbollis" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At The Regal (Audio CD)
If you like B.B.King, you will like this.
As a live album you really get a bluezy feel and the tracks also contain some clasic B.B.King solos and riffs. The croud and song intros do get a little bit irratating after a while, but its worth it.
And for price its definately worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At The Regal
Live At The Regal by B.B. King (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews