Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars11
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2008
I own a lot of John Lee Hooker's CD's. Having listened to his live performance on Live at Cafe au GoGo in the late 80's, i was looking for that disc, but found that it's also available as a bundle with some tracks taken from Soledad Prison. So this is more a "2 for 1" deal. Some prefer John Lee Hooker with band, others prefer to listen him solo. I like his songs best with a band, just like on this CD.

The audio captured on this CD will make you be there with the crowd. You can hear how small the venue is, which gives it that extra live vibe. If you like the blues, you must own a CD of John Lee Hooker. I personally think that this CD, together with his CD called "The Cream" is a must have.

You will not be disappointed.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
This was my first John Lee on vinyl (Live at the Cafe au Go-Go) bought in New Zealand in 1972. Not long after this the man toured and played a university cafe gig on his own and still sounded like he had the whole band. One guitar (fretboard used like a drum or thrum), one wooden box boom bass and the biggest, stomping foot up close to a floor placed mike. So many of these tracks are familiar and live you get the atmosphere. Now on this CD set having Otis Spann on ivories and backing guitar from Muddy Waters on 8 tracks is a plus. These are a good selection of songs showcasing the growling, gravel of the man's heart-all sweat and blood. "I'm Bad Like Jesse James" opens the throttle and the boogie of "One Bourbon, One Scotch and One Beer" that still rattles the glasses, are standouts. Blues, boogie and soul live! It is a gem. Old school and genius in blues style!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
This is indeed some of the best John Lee Hooker live material. However, I am disappointed that the Live at Soledad Prison doesn't include John Lee Hooker Jr.'s set. Also, the mix isn't a patch on the LP version (the bass is too quiet here). Other than that, very nice to have these selections on the one disc. If you started with his early solo cuts and the occasional Chess side or two as I did, the step forward into late band recordings such as this should be taken with this disc.

But get the LP is you can!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2009
The first track really sets a scene for the whole cd. In it's chilling sincerity, I'm Bad, Like Jesse James, really shows you that the man means what he sings from track 1 to the boom boom finale...met with rather polite applause from a bunch of cons!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
After giving this a good listen, I would have to say Soledad prison is a better listen than Cafe au go go, but they come on the same disc you have to take the rough with the smooth, ideally if you Can get live at soldad in it's entirety it would be a much better buy, as on this disc you only get half the full show, there's only a couple of tracks on Cafe au go go that will get your feet tapping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
2 albums some good tracks soledad prison is a bit more lively
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
another good one, dont hesitate
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2015
I count myself a Hooker fan, but I found this disc stupefyingly boring. People new to Hooker should get The Healer, Mr Lucky and Chill Out. If they want more, then get The Real Folk Blues on Chess (Vols. 1 and 2). Round this out with any greatest hits collection which has Dimples, Boom Boom and Boogie Chillun and you've got it cracked!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.88

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)