Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sound of myth and imagery, 24 Nov 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Into The Great Wide Open (Audio CD)
American mythology is the overriding theme on this album: those vast limitless horizons, the highway, gunslingers, the wild West. Petty is a myth maker on a par with Springsteen, with an equal talent for imagery and metaphor. His nasal whine was made for producer Jeff Lynne's expert application of soaring, soothing and chugging guitars, while the melodies are mesmerising throughout. Most compelling tracks are the title one, Learning To fly, king's Highway, All The Wrong Reasons and Built To Last with its resonant echoing boom. A richly textured album that opens up more and more sonic delights with every listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Into The Great Wide Open, 30 Dec 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Into The Great Wide Open (Audio CD)
'Into The Great Wide Open' is another Jeff Lynne produced album, but after the solo 'Full Moon Fever' this album features all the Heartbreakers. They didn't all record this album live in the studio as they had done previously, Lynne prefers to layer his music tracks and some of the Heartbreakers didn't get on with his style especially well. Saying that, this album is still excellent and has that distinctive Heartbreaker sound coupled with Lynnes particular polished production style. This album has some superb tracks, from the well known 'Learning To Fly' and title track, to my favourites on this album 'Two Gunslingers' and 'Kings Highway'. If you like 'Full Moon Fever' I'd say it is a safe bet that you'll like this album and if you're a fan of Petty then this is wonderfully familiar territory. Well worth a listen.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My discovery of a great band, and great storyteller, 30 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Great Wide Open (Audio CD)
This was the first Tom Petty album I ever bought. At the time it was pretty difficult to ignore, the singles were all over Virgin Radio (the radio 2 renaissance hadn't yet arrived) and the newly minted Mojo magazine gave it a glowing review.
I was however aware of Petty long before this, my image of him informed by the rather odd video (sitting on a tree stump in a wizard hat, wasn't it?) for Don't Come Around Here No More.
The images painted, and stories told by these songs are wonderful, expansive, and so very American. My favourite track is Too Good To Be True. It's what the band doesn't play that I marvel at. A beautiful song, with glorious slide guitar.
I guess the thing that almost knocks a star off for me is Jeff Lynne's intrusive, ubiquitous production. At the time he was coming to the end of 10 years of golden touch producing, but his drum sound just wrecks everything he works on. It ruined The (3) Beatles' reunion, and turned George Harrison into an ELO extra. On Into The Great Wide Open the drum sound is the only thing that drags the weaker songs down. Listen to Wildflowers, or Damn The Torpedos, it's a different drummer only it's not. It's a shame.
This album has a place in my heart for introducing me to the joy of Tom Petty and Heartbreakers, and is like an old friend to go back to, a well read book or comfortable shoes. Simply perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing comes close, 19 Sep 2005
By 
T. J. Styles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into The Great Wide Open (Audio CD)
If you've never heard Tom Petty before, then you've missed out. This particular Album like much of his ealier work is exceptionally good. It plays well in any setting, but especially in the car on long journeys. Once you've learned the basic lyrics you'll be singing along with great ease and wondering what life was like before the Tomster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this album - it's fantastic!, 14 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Into The Great Wide Open (Audio CD)
I bought this CD as it was recommeded to me by a friend and I am now a confirmed Tom Petty fan. What an awesome songwriter and performer. I absolutely love Learning To Fly - it's very moving, uplifting and makes you feel really inspired. I also like Two Gunslingers as the lyrics tell a really good story and the song is just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Great Wide Open (Audio CD)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Great Wide Open (Audio CD)
I loved this album. Big fan of Tompetty, and this album is one I come back to a lot. Thoroughly recommend .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD at great value., 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Great Wide Open (Audio CD)
A wonderful album at a very fair price. Tom Petty is one of the true rock greats. The quality of the CD is excellent and delivery was quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Great Wide Open (Audio CD)
My wife and I are slowly building up a collection of albums by this wonderful and talented band, as well as Tom Petty's solo albums.
There's a few songs on this album we hadn't heard before and, as always with TP&TH, we weren't disappointed.

A classic, musically-colourful, rockin' album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great artist and band, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Great Wide Open (Audio CD)
got this for my coll
i was happy with the album well put together
and i tell other people about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into The Great Wide Open
Into The Great Wide Open by Tom Petty (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews