Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some very fine music here, 19 Jun 2008
This is a wonderful album and has a lot to recommend it. It's a builder, and the more you hear it, the more you realise is there. I would just suggest you get a copy, you won't be disappointed. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lemmie howl for ya!, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Barry McGloin "Baz" (Canberra, Australia) - See all my reviews
I'd just like to add my opinion that this is definitely no half baked project which shouldn't have happened. In truth it should stand proud in any Wolf collection and in fact some of these versions are arguably better than the originals, when you take into consideration the advanced technology, the excellent production, the fine band and added musical palette - horns, keyboards and guitar in post production. Ok, Wolf's voice is not as intense as in some earlier versions, for example in Who's Been Talking where the original key of Dm is dropped to Am in order to accommodate his range perhaps, but it still has that authority, it still has gravitas, and the band musicianship compensates.

Of course, with such a stellar band supporting their hero it had to work - the Stones' engine room plus the sixth Stone, Scotsman Ian Stewart on piano for 4 numbers (and 5 alternate takes), Clapton on guitar with Wolf's Hubert Sumlin on 2nd guitar and rhythm, and Steve Winwood and Layfayette Leake added keyboards later, according to the notes. A young Chicago harmonica player called Jeff Carp who had played with Muddy, Earl and John Lee Hooker was brought over to fill in for Wolf. The notes say that he was killed in a bizarre boat accident not long after this recording. A sad loss.

The second Cd in the deluxe set is certainly not superfluous, although why they chose the tentative rehearsal of Worried About My Babe to open is curious. At least three tracks are the equal of, if not superior to, the issued tracks - the first What A Woman aka Commit A Crime (there are two versions on Cd2), The Red Rooster, Worried About My Babe (the alt version - not the rehearsal), also Who's Been Talkin after the dialogue ends rocks nicely. The extended alternate take of Do The Do is a hypnotic boogie with Charlie's beat up front for almost 6 minutes while Wolf sounds his way forward. Poor Boy and the alternate Rockin' Daddy are both good.

Of the three bonus tracks on side 1, Goin' Down Slow is one of those deep blues with great guitar - Hubert Sumlin perhaps, and superb harp from maestro Jeff Carp, and Wolf is living his vocal, painting his inimitable picture. His vocal on the self penned I Want To Have A Word With You is raw and passionate. Killin' Floor, by comparison to the original is, for my taste, tepid.

This deluxe edition is a handsome product, the remastering is great, the booklet is informative and well written by Bill Dahl plus photos (including a couple of Jagger with Wolf) and session details. It would complement your Memphis and Chicago Wolf recordings, and while not having the visceral intensity of prime Wolf, it does provide another rockin' side to the man with it's fine band, added horns and keyboards, Jeff Carp's harp fills and top production. It is a testament to producer Norman Dayron that he had the vision, and was able to bring a sometimes testy Wolf together with these young dudes and make music worthy of the legend. As the Wolf is moved to say near the end of Wang Wang Doodle ''Lemmie howl for ya!''
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this record, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Howlin' Wolf Sessions (Audio CD)
great to hear it again. Had record (LP) year ago and mssed it . great stuff
great to hear the dialogue between Eric Clapton and Howlin' wolf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The leftovers, but what leftovers they are., 21 Feb 2013
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an album that has been designed/compiled for folk who already have the main album in remastered form. It contains alternate versions of tracks that are already on the main straight release, some extra dialogue and three songs that failed to make the final cut.

The playing throughout is of the highest order and listening to Howlin Wolf trying to teach Eric Clapton etc...is entertaining.

Stellar cast - Howlin Wolf, Hubert Sumlin, Eric Clapton, Ringo Starr, Charlie Watts(boy can he drum, superb!), Bill Wyman(again superb playing), Ian Stewart and Steve Winwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Howlin' Wolf Sessions (Audio CD)
Great CD covering all the bases. They just just don't make music like this anymore. X Factor eat your heart out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An oustanding Deluxe Blues reissue in all ways, 3 Mar 2004
By 
Siriam (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
The original LP when it came out in the early 1970s made it largely on the back of the various UK superstars who particpiated (Clapton, Watts, Wyman, and an uncredited Starr together with Wolf and his long time guitarist Hubert Sumlin - Winwood per the notes having been added later and not very succesfully it seems).
This reissue with a full CD of out-takes none of which are filler, an outstanding sound remix and thoughtful notes by the original producer Norman Dayron epitomises just what excellence a special edition CD can achieve where the basic material is so good. The vocals by Howlin' Wolf, given he was not in the best of health at this age in his life and was it seems initially uncomfortable in the different London recording environment to the one he knew at Chess in Chicago, show his true prowess as a blues legend.
While Dayron's extensive notes are very honest in telling how he had to add keyboards esp. by Chess stalwart session man Lafayette Leake in getting to the final release mix, also underline that this was a very rare opportunity for certain British blues superstars to pay true homage to one of their main heroes by providing such stalwart support on these recordings.
Compared with the lacklustre recordings other US bluesmen made with UK musicians around this time(Sonny Boy Williamson with the Animals, John Lee Hooker with the Groundhogs, Muddy Waters in London and the original Fleetwood Mac sessions recorded at Chess in Chicago) this is the true masterpiece that will beat them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A PIECE OF REAL BLUES HISTORY, 7 Feb 2014
By 
E. Kelly "keypad" (Didcot,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have had this album on vinyl.cassette tape, c.d and download since it first was released. It is such an important recording of the mighty blues legend,Howlin' Wolf, meeting up with a band made up of the British Blues/rock elite at the time, Eric Clapton,Steve Winwood, Bill Wyman etc. Basically he is showing them ( his devoted British musician fans ) how to do his songs to his satisfaction. He died not too long after this was recorded. What a wonderful album. I am not too sure about the, addition of the 'second take' releases on this album as the original album is wonderful enough for any Wolf lovers. I suppose that the 'anoraks' will appreciate the extra detail and value that they bring though.

Eamonn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the original vinyl, 7 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really useful review from Docendo Discimus. I can't add much to that. However, I've had the original vinyl version of this album for many years but I'm really glad that I've bought this version with the bonus tracks. Disc 2 has a lot to offer with some excellent alternative versions. A great album from a great performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Howlin' at the moon, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Howlin' Wolf Sessions (Audio CD)
I already have most of these tracks covered by other artists, so it was good to hear them being performed by Howlin Wolf, albeit with some of the fore mentioned musicians. The modern recording equipment helps bring the material more up to date, something the purists might take issue with, but it works just fine for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't like this the blues is not for you., 25 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. D. B. Jackson (Hull) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first heard this many years ago on the vinyl, and it started off my lifelong interest in the blues. It is expertly recorded and performed and a great example of electric Chicago blues that is easy to listen too. Having bought the cd version And putting it in the player It was like hearing an old friend, it is still as good as it was all those years ago. The additional tracks and info in the sleeve notes (some of the musicians were under contract to other labels when it was recorded and were not acknowledged on the vinyl) only improve what is one of the most important CDs in my collection. Brilliant, thank you everyone involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa637d1b0)

This product

The London Howlin' Wolf Sessions
The London Howlin' Wolf Sessions by Howlin' Wolf (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews