Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 January 2012
Etta was arguably at her best when she she was hollerin' out the blues.
This 1963 live record spotlights her doing exactly that.

This is a very good sound recording from a small venue with Etta doing what she did best in her prime.Just listen to the raw vocals in the outstanding first track ('Somethin's got a hold on me') and you'd think this a babtist church not a blues concert.

The songs were recorded over 2 nights at little The New Era Club in Nashville with a tight jazz quintet (inc Vonzell Cooper on organ and Garvell Cooper on tenor sax).

Etta died this week, and for anyone wanting to know what all the fuss was about, this thrilling concert is a cracking place to start to understand the loss that music has incurred as a result.

R.I.P. Etta (25th Jan 1938 - 20 Jan 2012)
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2009
Fantastic live performance. It's in a different league from her later recordings, it's less produced and there are no soft strings. It's not pretty but it is loaded with real emotion and energy. You can hear that she is enjoying herself - feeding off the audience, improvising, singing a duet with the saxophone, growling, mewing, laughing. "You can dance if you want to" she tells the audience. If you've never heard Etta this is the one to get. The best live blues/soul album ever.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
CONTENT:

“Etta James Rocks the House”, released by MCA in 1992, contains 8 live recordings, taped at The New Era Club, Nashville, Tennessee, on September 27 and 28, 1963, plus 3 bonus tracks (previously unreleased on CD at that time). I have compiled a song listing (with the song’s original label & number, chart position & debut date)(BB200=Billboard Album Chart; BB Pop=Billboard Hot 100; BB R&B=Billboard Rhythm & Blues Chart; CB Pop=Cash Box Singles Chart; RW Pop=Record World Singles Chart):

LP “ETTA JAMES ROCKS THE HOUSE” (Argo LP-4032)(BB200 96/1964):
01 Something’s Got A Hold On Me (Argo 5409)(a-side)(BB Pop 37/1962; BB R&B 4/1962; CB Pop 20/1962; RW Pop 25/1962)(January 1962)
02 Baby What You Want Me To Do (Argo 5459)(a-side)(BB Pop 82/1964; BB R&B 35/1964; CB Pop 101/1964; RW Pop 93/1964)(December 1963)
03 What’d I Say (Argo 5459)(b-side, December 1963)(RW Pop 96/1964)*double sided hit.
04 Money (That’s What I Want)
05 Seven Day Fool (Argo 5402)(b-side, October 1961)(BB Pop 95/1961; CB Pop 75/1961; RW Pop 61/1961)*double sided hit.
06 Sweet Little Angel
07 Ooh Poo Pah Doo
08 Woke Up This Morning
BONUS TRACKS:
09 Ain’t That Lovin’ You Baby
10 All I Could Do Is Cry (Argo 5359)(a-side)(BB Pop 33/1960; BB R&B 2(1)/1960; CB Pop 23/1960; RW Pop 30/1960)(March 1960)
11 I Just Want To Make Love To You (Argo 5380)(b-side, December 1960)

POSITIVE POINTS:

1 This is a wonderful album, recorded live at The New Era Club, Nashville, Tennessee, on September 27 and 28, 1963. It really captured the emotion, excitement, drama and spontaneity of Etta James in action. The location was carefully chosen by Etta herself, with the correct atmosphere, receptive audiences, and good acoustics. This album is a pot of gold. The three bonus tracks, although readily available in 2015, were making CD debut in 1964, and I consider this icing on the cake.
2 The sound is very well remastered, capturing all the details and spontaneity of the live performance.
3 There is an 8-page booklet, with an informative essay by Don Snowden, and also the original LP liner notes by Ralph Bass. Here, we get more insight into the making of this live album. A beautiful coloured picture of Etta James in action was nicely done.

NEGATIVE POINT:

None.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Etta James was born Jamesetta Hawkins on January 25, 1938 in Los Angeles, California. She was nicknamed “Miss Peaches.” She has a long illustrious career. Her singing style spanned a variety of music genres including blues, R&B, soul, rock and roll, jazz and gospel. She has frequent bouts of heroin addiction, but finally cured in the late 1970s. In 1996, her album “Mystery Lady: Songs of Billie Holiday” won Best Jazz Vocal Performance Grammy. She was diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease in 2008. She died of leukemia on January 20, 2012 (age 74). Her mighty, moving voice is sorely missed.

After collecting all her 123 songs (as singles, except one song “Bring It on Home to Me” her duet with Tony Orlando), I am in the process of collecting all her domestic albums. “Etta James Rocks The House” is her 8th album release. The entire album really rocks the house, and is totally enjoyable, and will be treasured. Naturally this set is highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
I hadn't listened to a great deal of Etta James before buying a couple of cd's recently. This album comes highly recommended and it's not hard to see why. Great atmosphere and punchy singing. Sound could do with a polish though. And I'd prefer to have Etta's voice coming through the middle of the stereo sound.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
A good example of Etta James live in her early years. Recording includes audience noise which is a bit distracting but overall a good CD
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Read the sleeve note review.................its true!!!!! that's all I wanted to say, but I'll say it as many times as you want.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
A very enjoyable live set, which lives up to its title.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
I'm so glad I found this - it doesn't seem to be available on the streaming services I use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
Versatile singer and there are lots of fabulous tracks on this CD.I just love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
Out of this world what a voice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)