Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film score
Michael Kamen's score for Licence to Kill is very different from the sweeping melodies of John Barry. The title song, a very lengthy ballad, has the right sense of drama to it and is very suitable for the film. The other songs with the possible exception of "If You Asked Me To" are disappointing. My favourite track on the CD however is Licence Revoked, which...
Published on 26 April 2001

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Licence To Kill
Michael Kmaen's shot at scoring a bond movie is far from disappointing. The only annoying thing is that (like many of his albums) there are many pieces missing. The majority of the highlights are included and mixed together as lengthy suites, especially track 9 which is ten minutes of action music which featured throughout the film. The pieces presented here are in that...
Published on 16 July 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Licence To Kill, 16 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Licence to Kill (Audio CD)
Michael Kmaen's shot at scoring a bond movie is far from disappointing. The only annoying thing is that (like many of his albums) there are many pieces missing. The majority of the highlights are included and mixed together as lengthy suites, especially track 9 which is ten minutes of action music which featured throughout the film. The pieces presented here are in that typical Kamen action style, (Die Hard / Lethal Weapon)with guitar, orchestra and horns. Some pieces are quite beautiful and unusual for a bond score, like 'Pam' and the end parts to 'Ninja', what with the sounds of harps and spannish guitar. But sadly this album is a little too short for my liking and will sadly dissappoint the majority of listeners as it all ends a little too quick, just as it was getting good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film score, 26 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Licence to Kill (Audio CD)
Michael Kamen's score for Licence to Kill is very different from the sweeping melodies of John Barry. The title song, a very lengthy ballad, has the right sense of drama to it and is very suitable for the film. The other songs with the possible exception of "If You Asked Me To" are disappointing. My favourite track on the CD however is Licence Revoked, which contains nine minutes of great action music. Whilst it is unlikely that you'll be singing along to Kamen's incidental music it is very effective in conveying an air of menace and excitement. This CD may disappoint fans of John Barry but it is still an excellent musical score in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly Bond, 3 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Licence to Kill (Audio CD)
Kamen's attempts at a Bond score suffered much criticism and although it's far from a Bond soundtrack, a viewing of the film will help you realise that the change of style is not Kamen's idea. He was hired to make the film sound like exactly what the producers wanted: Lethal Weapon. This CD is yet another example of the mess Kamen's scores become when released as soundtracks. It's all over the place and barely has enough music in it to warrant as a promo, let alone a soundtrack. There are some exciting action cues here and there, lush moments with strings and Spanish guitars and the Bond theme is always great to hear but some moments are tough on the ears, which is not what I expect from an accomplished orchestrator as Kamen. Curiously, this is the only Bond soundtrack that hasn't been given the remastered treatment and since it contains barely a third of the film's score, it's in much need of one. That thought, however, doesn't exactly excite me, so skip this and stick with the Barry stuff instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One of the weakest Bond sondtracks., 9 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Licence to Kill (Audio CD)
The problem with Michael Kamen's score is it's over reliance on the James Bond theme. It becomes overblown and repetative. We've heard it all before from Kamen on Lethal Weapon and Die Hard. The CD is worth it though for the title track and Patti Labelle's contibution which is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Licence to Kill (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Licence to Kill and a Licence to Thrill!, 17 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Licence to Kill (Audio CD)
This CD has some of the BEST Bond music I have ever heard. This CD is the best type of that CD because it is an origional from the film (because it is from 1989 - the same year the film came out).
I would say that it is a good CD and I think more copies should be bought and more reviews written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Licence to Kill and a Licence to Thrill!, 17 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Licence to Kill (Audio CD)
This CD has some of the BEST Bond music I have ever heard. This CD is the best type of that CD because it is an origional from the film (because it is from 1989 - the same year the film came out).
I would say that it is a good CD and I think more copies should be bought and more reviews written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Licence to Kill
Licence to Kill by National Philharmonic Orchestra (Audio CD - 2002)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews