Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
A superb collection of songs and one of those very rare occasions where I can genuinely say that there is not one bad song on this album.

A masterpiece.
Published on 7 Jan. 2011 by Kborom

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
its ok
Published 5 months ago by D. Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Jan. 2011
By 
Kborom (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Full Moon Fever (MP3 Download)
A superb collection of songs and one of those very rare occasions where I can genuinely say that there is not one bad song on this album.

A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TP joins the list of legends, 23 Jan. 2001
By 
Mr. R. Verma (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PETTY TOM-FULL MOON FEVER (Audio CD)
Released in 1989, this record ensured that Petty would be ranked alongside his inspirations - Dylan,Mcguinn and Harrison.
FMF contains the same feel as many of the best Byrds albums, updated to sound relevant and meaningful. It also spawned two of Petty's biggest hits - I Won't Back Down and the magical Free Fallin' - my personal favourite track ever !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full Moon Fever = Full Marks, 15 Sept. 2009
By 
F. M. Deighton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Full Moon Fever (Audio CD)
Tom Petty at his absolute best. Every song is a classic in its own right.
Best enjoyed in an open top car, cruising in the middle of nowhere on a beautiful day!!! (see "Runnin' down a dream")
A timeless CD which will be just as enjoyed in 50 years time as it has been in the past 20.
Punchy, poignant and classy. Few albums will ever surpass this.
Free fallin - all the way to the "most played" in your CD collection.
Pure Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a Top 5 Desert Island Record, 2 Nov. 2007
By 
J. M. Salinas (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PETTY TOM-FULL MOON FEVER (Audio CD)
and you know why? because there is not a single filler in this record.

Kickin off with Free Fallin' and I Won't Back Down, this is Dylan for the late eighties, fantastically played with simple yet effective guitar.

Face in the Crowd is a highly evocative piece for which any singer/songwriter worth their bread and butter would have sold their mothers for.

Runnin' Down a Dream is the closest thing to an old fashioned rocker and you'll find it impossible not to tap your feet along the chorus line simmilar to Mind With a Heart of Its Own.

I could go on and on about each song in the record, but, suffice to say, Full Moon Fever is one of those albums you can just play on repeat time and again, the music is not complicated, it's just... good. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars full moon fever, 31 May 2011
This review is from: PETTY TOM-FULL MOON FEVER (Audio CD)
Whether you have heard of Tom Petty or not , this album will become your all time favourite, regardless of your age or taste in music. It`s fab to drive to, the kids love to sing along to it and it really makes you feel good no matter how crap your day has been. Give this as a gift to someone you love and they`ll be delighted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full Moon struck, 24 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Full Moon Fever (Audio CD)
TopTOP album...love all the tracks, have done since I first heard it back in the day. Well worth a listen if you are a Petty fan or as an introduction the the MAN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full Moon Fever, 13 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Full Moon Fever (Audio CD)
I loved this album in the 80's and it is just as good so many years later. Every song on this is good. A great buy and not sure why it took me so long to buy it on CD, however glad that I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you have never heard this guy start here, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Full Moon Fever (Audio CD)
A chance comment by a family member who loved a version of Free Falling inspired me to revisit this fabulous album. They didn't know anything about Tom Petty or even that he'd written the track. I played them the original and they loved it. This was the sound track to a wonderful summer and it all came flooding back when I heard it again. Running down a dream, with its rolling riff remains the best driving track I know.
Petty is a total original and if you've never heard him start here, you wont be sorry.

Around the same time as this was released he teamed up with Jeff Lynne, George Harrison, Bob Dylan, and Roy Orbison to create the Travelling Wilburys. The album was released just before Roy Orbison passed away. Each member bought their own particular genius to bear but the total is greater than its parts. The album is like no other collaborative project I've heard and each participant is allowed to shine without eclipsing anyone else. The songs are beautifully crafted and its a great way to introduce yourself to each artist if you haven't been there before. Its a joyous collaboration and its song memorable and infectious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full Moon Fervour, 19 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Full Moon Fever (Audio CD)
Finally, I replace the cassette tape with the CD and the freshness of the sound rolls out of the speakers, reinvigorating and reconnecting, belying its age. Petty, always at his best on this album, articluates out his chords and imagery with the expertise and economy which places him amongst the best of several generations of American musicians. Simply superb stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full Moon Fever, 29 Dec. 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Full Moon Fever (Audio CD)
I grew up on this album and it is the place where I heard Tom Petty first. This album is light and fun and will have you hooked from the word go. Jeff Lynne's production and co-writing abilities compliment Tom's style perfectly and the album they crafted has become a classic. This has such wonderful tracks as 'Free fallin', I won't back Down', 'Runnin' Down A Dream' and many more. In fact I'd go so far as to say that there isn't a dud track on this album. The slowest track on the CD is 'Face in The crowd' and for sheer melancholy and feeling it can't be beaten. This album may be short but every second is perfectly crafted and you'll never want it to end. You can't go far wrong when buying this CD, you may be bitten by the Petty bug, but boy is that first bite delicious!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PETTY TOM-FULL MOON FEVER
PETTY TOM-FULL MOON FEVER by Tom Petty (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews