Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Putting Out Fire With Gasoline
The artistry of composer Giorgio Moroder aside, this CD is the only place you can find the original David Bowie vocal for "Theme from Cat People," perhaps better known as "Putting Out Fire With Gasoline." And that alone makes this CD a must-have: a piece of music that begins with primative-sounding percussion, introduces Bowie at his sultry, sexy best, and then suddenly...
Published on 7 Mar 2003 by Gary F. Taylor

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Forgettable
The hit title song is the only track with proper vocals on this album, with lyrics written and sung by David Bowie. The Autopsy is a short interlude, Irena's Theme is a long, slow piece, Night Rabbit is an atmospheric excursion with eerie feel and Leopard Tree Dream is a mid tempo number. The pace picks up for Paul's Theme (Jogging Chase), where Giorgio Moroder's...
Published on 11 Jan 2005 by Pieter Uys


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Putting Out Fire With Gasoline, 7 Mar 2003
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cat People (Audio CD)
The artistry of composer Giorgio Moroder aside, this CD is the only place you can find the original David Bowie vocal for "Theme from Cat People," perhaps better known as "Putting Out Fire With Gasoline." And that alone makes this CD a must-have: a piece of music that begins with primative-sounding percussion, introduces Bowie at his sultry, sexy best, and then suddenly explodes into one of the most chills-down-your-spine bits of music that you will ever encounter, the personification of hunger, desire, and a touch of kink. Moroder and Bowie make a remarkable combination--it is a great pity they did not do more together--and the recording here is far, far superior to the version of the song included on Bowie's LET'S DANCE.
That said, the rest of the soundtrack is a mixed bag. There are moments of beauty, particularly those that repeat the opening theme--"Irena's Theme," "Leopard Tree Dream," and "Myth," the latter of which features Bowie's dusky, languid humming of the main theme. But other selections are so specifically tied to the film that they do not stand well alone. This is particularly true of selections like "Autopsy" and "Night Rabbit," which are essentially created as background music for the movie's "shocker" scenes, short bits of music that suddenly pop to increase the horror of the graphic violence occurring on the screen. While interesting to fans of the film, they aren't greatly interesting beyond the context of the film itself.
The instruments here are a mix of synthetics and live, a typical Moroder concept that creates an interesting tension--a sort of strange mix of detachment and human involvement, if you will. And then there is that haunting, hungry, erotic Bowie vocal to some of the most sensuous lyrics ever written for any song: "See these eyes so green... I could stare for a thousand years... colder than the moon..." Intense stuff, this single cut alone worth the cost of the CD... and you may want to borrow cuts from the recording to add to your home-made background "event" music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giorgio Moroder and David Bowie, 24 Dec 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cat People (Audio CD)
My original purpose for buying this album was from seeing the movie. I wanted something to remind me of it. Later I found that I like to listen to the music for its own merit.
The bulk of the Album is music of Giorgio Moroder I has sort of a new age feel. And he has produced music for several movies, even Metropolis (1984 Re-release Of 1924 Film).
However the real purpose for my purchase of and the repeat listening is Cat People (Putting Out Fire) - David Bowie.
It is not that I am enamored of either Giorgio Moroder or David Bowie. But this combination produces something unique that speaks to you. Listen to the sample.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More memorable than the movie..., 1 Mar 2003
By 
J. S. Chin (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cat People (Audio CD)
When I first saw the re-make of Cat People in 1982, I was impressed by the striking visuals (most notably the desert scenes) but disappointed by the messy plot. However, if there was one aspect that stood out - fur on end - it was the soundtrack by Giorgio Moroder and of course the title song by David Bowie. Tracks that I clearly remember from the movie, such as Irena's Theme (re-used in To The Bridge), the Leopard Tree Dream (slightly different from the screen version), Night Rabbit, The Myth, and the menacing/haunting Paul's Theme aka Jogging Chase, are all on here. I would agree with the other reviewer that some of these tracks do stay in your mind for a long while. Fans of early Eighties soundtracks or electro-disco icon Moroder in search of a different angle to his work should at least try listening to this. This soundtrack album has something of an atmosphere to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The music that made the movie, 20 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cat People (Audio CD)
Whilst the actual movie "Cat People" might be classed a a poor cousin to it's original incarnation, the same cannot be said for the music. It's the music on this CD that made the movie at least enjoyable. The two best tracks in my opinion are the title song sung with fanastic vocals by David Bowie and "Paul's Theme (Jogging Chase)". Both are used extensivley through out the film and the film is better for it. The haunting melodies are such that the will stay with you for days in your head ensuring many repeat plays of this disc. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cat People (Audio CD)
Love it! Never heard it before but its very atmospheric music. WIll put it on my ipod and use to run to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cat people cd, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cat People (Audio CD)
I brought this for my brother he has been looking for it in the shop i found it on amazon he is very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Update on the vinyl., 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cat People (Audio CD)
Exactly as described.Arrived swiftly,well packaged.Ordered to play as it will preserve my original vinyl copy.Love this soundtrack,takes you back in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Keeping the Fire Burning!, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recently saw the excellent film 'Inglourious Basterds', which includes the sublime version of 'Cat People' with spoken intro found only on this soundtrack version, this puts the 'Lets Dance' version to relative shame.
Stupidly I purchased the CD version as well soon after which sounds flat with no soul, it doesn't even come close to the vinyl version that I purchased from Amazon, so seek out vinyl, which always sounds better, especially if album is a little older 70's/80's period.
A great album and only 4 stars because of a couple of typical 80's synthey musak tracks which doesn't really spoil the party and after all it isn't a Bowie album after all - oh and the front cover looks great in one of those LP frames.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Forgettable, 11 Jan 2005
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cat People (Audio CD)
The hit title song is the only track with proper vocals on this album, with lyrics written and sung by David Bowie. The Autopsy is a short interlude, Irena's Theme is a long, slow piece, Night Rabbit is an atmospheric excursion with eerie feel and Leopard Tree Dream is a mid tempo number. The pace picks up for Paul's Theme (Jogging Chase), where Giorgio Moroder's characteristic electrobeat first surfaces on this album. The Myth is slow and evocative with a bit of humming by Bowie, whilst To The Bridge is another slow interlude. Transformation Seduction is a fairly interesting uptempo piece and the album concludes with Bring The Prod, a short moody track leading up to a crescendo. Fans of Giorgio Moroder beware! Cat People is nothing like his amazing disco albums From Here To Eternity or E = MC2. It might work well as a soundtrack but offers little in the way of listening pleasure and is in fact quite forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cat People
Cat People by Giorgio Moroder (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews