Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did he dream it up?
In November 2009 i went to see Fleetwood Mac thinking that i was a huge fan of the band. I came away realising that i was actually a huge fan of Lindsey Buckingham. The intensity with which he performed was the most moving thing that i have ever witnessed.

Collecting his solo works became of vital importance, and Go Insane is definitely the pick of the bunch...
Published on 7 April 2010 by Mr. M. J. Gregory

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Overblown ego - rubbish
This was chosen on his reputation with Fleetwood Mac. How wrong can you be. Risk you take buying on line and unheard.
Published 13 months ago by Mr. G. V. Davison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did he dream it up?, 7 April 2010
By 
Mr. M. J. Gregory (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Go Insane [Us Import] (Audio CD)
In November 2009 i went to see Fleetwood Mac thinking that i was a huge fan of the band. I came away realising that i was actually a huge fan of Lindsey Buckingham. The intensity with which he performed was the most moving thing that i have ever witnessed.

Collecting his solo works became of vital importance, and Go Insane is definitely the pick of the bunch. Brilliantly crafted slabs of pop music where Buckingham plays virtually every instrument abound.

The title track alone was worth the money that i payed for the whole album, but my absolute highlight are the two Play In The Rain tracks. To describe the sonic scope of these two mainly instrumental tracks is beyond the word power at my command. Needless to say, I have no idea how he dreamed it up.

All of which leads me to wonder, how do Fleetwood Mac albums sell in there millions while this work of genius barley touched the charts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insanity Is Not Buying This!, 31 Aug 2009
This review is from: Go Insane [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Lyndsey is a genius..period! I worked backwards to this album from Gift of Screws, (buying all his 5 solo albums as a result) which was because I love Fleetwood Mac and his contribution to their style and success. I didn't necessarily like all of them at the first outing....but I soon did...and that's something very unusual... to go backwards in time with an artist and love every minute of them.
Lyndsey possesses a vast array of musical styles but all of them delivering on the serious pop/blues front with finesse and raw emotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surreal Erotica, 15 Nov 2003
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Go Insane [Us Import] (Audio CD)
The 1980s saw Stevie Nicks emerge as a major recording star--and in the wake of her success Fleetwood Mac's Lindsey Buckingham and Christine McVie also released solo efforts. While McVie's self-titled effort was enjoyable and well executed, it broke no new ground; Lindsey Buckingham's GO INSANE, however, was unexpectedly memorable.
The album is very much of its time, relying heavily on synthesizer and drawing a great deal from both late 1970s "New Wave" idioms and the slick rock-pop-dance music that dominated the airwaves of the 1980s. But even so, and although it generated an unexpected number of hits, GO INSANE is hardly the sort of recording that one would expect to make the charts: glitchy, anxious, and deliberately surreal, it merges everything from random sound to Scottish melodies to flashes of Middle Eastern guitar and snatches of South African harmonies.
Buckingham is, I think, one of the most under-recognized guitar players out there, and now and then on GO INSANE one hears that increasingly intense guitar that made many of Fleetwood Mac's recordings so memorable. But this album is less about guitar than it is about production: in general, the recording uses layered sound (including vocals) in an extremely disorienting and disconcerting fashion, bits of music that sound as if they were played in reverse, and everything from the sound of breaking glass to the sound of pouring water.
The lyrics are covertly erotic, with virtually every cut dealing in some form or fashion with sexual desire, and Buckingham's edgy voice serves the material extremely well throughout. Indeed, it is almost impossible to single out any one cut for praise above the others, but I will note that I have always been particularly fond of the jumpy "I Want You" (opening with the sound of an alarm clock ringing), the Dada-ish "Play In The Rain" parts one and two, and the intense "Loving Cup." Whatever the case, it's all good and very unusual stuff, and while it won't necessarily please Fleetwood Mac fans it's certainly a reference point for those who wondered where all the strangeness of the earlier TUSK and the later SAY YOU WILL comes from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Overblown ego - rubbish, 30 May 2013
By 
Mr. G. V. Davison "sound eng" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go Insane [Us Import] (Audio CD)
This was chosen on his reputation with Fleetwood Mac. How wrong can you be. Risk you take buying on line and unheard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go Insane [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Fantastic service from supplier. Arrived really quickly. I bought this on the basis of the live version of Go Insane but the cd version is completely different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one!, 19 Jun 2001
This review is from: Go Insane [Us Import] (Audio CD)
On first listen this is a wierd album, but one that rewards bigtime on repeated plays. The guitar solo on 'I want you' is amazing and every track that follows has a distinctive hook. One wishes he would produce more solo albums. Here's hoping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Go Insane [Us Import]
Go Insane [Us Import] by Lindsey Buckingham (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews