Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the equally amazing, darker follow up to adrenaline
the deftones second outing gave us a darker and more original look at nu metal. both albums are equal, but those who prefer a diverse, haunting collage of heavy tracks (like me) will prefer this short and sweet gem. The best tracks are the two singles and dai the flu. my own summer is the best song to be played at full volume, an incredibly catchy and amazing guitar riff,...
Published on 17 Mar. 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Great Album...
Published 4 months ago by Goadie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album changed my life(shove it), 6 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Around The Fur (Audio CD)
I bought the deftones album through depression and illness, and I was atomaticly lifted for ditch to bridge this album introduced me to nu metal and other band like Korn and Limp bizkit, it also introduced me to the old school such as Rage Against the Machine and Nine inch nails. I am now stuck in a happy space were i can be free to listern to White pony, Infest Hybrid theory, Renegades, The fragile and My favourite Around the fur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing album by Deftones!, 9 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Around The Fur (Audio CD)
Around the fur is incredible! Some song's are heavy while other's are soft. Either way all the song's are amazing and so are the deftones! My favourite tracks wouldnt have to be shove it, far away, mx, mascara, lotion and mx. All the tracka are amazing though! My personal favourtie deftones album is adreneline, but dont get me wrong i still think there all great! Yes this album should be in everyone's collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 28 Nov. 2012
By 
JEREMY MARSH (Bristol, South Gloucetershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The Fur (Audio CD)
This is of course the deftones at their very best. This Album changed my life. Each track is a belter.

Remember though: Play it loud, on a good system or in your car or dont play it at all.
It is not a back ground album, show some respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deftones were unstoppable even before White Pony., 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The Fur (Audio CD)
Around the Fur was released during Deftones' nu metal days before they delivered their avant-garde opus White Pony and were still sinking their feet into the alternative metal scene. This album may not be their best but it's still an all around fantastic album with intense guitar melodies and raw production. Chino Moreno's vocals are some of the best in metal, ranging from eerie whispers to tortured melodic singing to head splitting screaming. As soon as the drums and the guitars burst through on 'My Own Summer', this album just grips you and excites you with ten tracks of nu metal brilliance. A powerful record from one of the best metal bands ever and a must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genius, 16 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Around The Fur (Audio CD)
although i don't own the back to school mini-album, i do own all other releases by deftones and I have to say that none of the others come close to around the fur. although this came out at around the same time as the whole nu-metal (eurgh) thing was happening, deftones always had a litle something extra about them, a little something special, and this is demonstrated to great effect on this album. be quiet and drive is possibly one of my favourite songs of all time, however there are so many spine-tingling moments on this album, from the slow beauty of mascara to the unexpected (albeit long-tome-coming) explosion of the hidden end track....really it is an exceptional album, one for anyone who is a fan of modern heavy(ish) music. and not only that but the lyrics are akin to poetry, which I love....they really connected with me anyway..! definitely recommended...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just awesome, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The Fur (Audio CD)
Already heard the album a thousand times, just fancied having it on CD for the authentic feel as some may appreciate, if you're looking up the band chances are you're already a fan, so you don't need me to tell you how great it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one giant leap for deftones..., 19 Dec. 2006
By 
This review is from: Around The Fur (Audio CD)
The jump between the styles of Adrenaline to this release is akin to Metallica's jump from Kill 'em All to Ride the Lightning. The fairly flat production and blatant nu-metal rapping/riffing is replaced by what would become the true sound of an individual band, although in a slightly more simplistic, rocky form. Songs like Dai the Flu, Be Quiet And Drive, Headup and My Own Summer show the atmospheric intensity and cinematic scope that laid the perfect foundation for what was to follow. I guess the band are defensive about Adrenaline, but this is where I feel they truly started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SHOVE IT!!, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The Fur (Audio CD)
Amazing album from the times of my favourite music when i was only like 6
NU METAL!
be quiet and drive is amazing as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chino brillino, 19 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Around The Fur (Audio CD)
After the success of their debut album 'Adrenaline' the Sacramento nu-metallers have returned with a mind-blowing attack on the sences. This album outdoes their first by a long way. Vocalist Chino Moreno boasts the greatest rock vocals of his time with the ability to combine primal screams and melodical singing in a sensational manner. The band do not dissapoint on any tracks, although those that stand out are 'Around the Fur' and 'Lotion'. This album is 'classical anyways, how cool is it i'll always remember.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just cos u can't grow Chino's beard., 27 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Around The Fur (Audio CD)
woahhhhhhhhh!!!! the best album ive ever heard. You like korn?, well they don't compare to this amazing Sacramento group. Chino's voice is like real, unlike a cetain Mr Davis's. My Own Summer is amazing, MX is haunting beauty and well all the rest are brilliant. Just buy it, you wont regret it!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Around The Fur
Around The Fur by Deftones (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews