Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome set that is NOT boring!
A lot of reviewers knock this album for being boring, but if you like the sound of Neil and the Horse putting the foot down for an hour and twenty minutes then you'll like this frankly awesome set. OK, it's no Weld, but how could anything match that monster? Year of the Horse is a solid rocker from start to finish, which is just what I want from Neil Young and Crazy...
Published on 19 July 2012 by Twenty Benson

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unnecessary
This live album is pretty good but I've never seen the point of it. It was too soon after the excellent Weld & immediately following the below par Broken Arrow.
A curio, nothing more
Published on 8 April 2012 by Quizzimodo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome set that is NOT boring!, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year Of The Horse (Audio CD)
A lot of reviewers knock this album for being boring, but if you like the sound of Neil and the Horse putting the foot down for an hour and twenty minutes then you'll like this frankly awesome set. OK, it's no Weld, but how could anything match that monster? Year of the Horse is a solid rocker from start to finish, which is just what I want from Neil Young and Crazy Horse. It's cheap and it delivers in spades. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT ALBUM FROM NY, 11 Oct 2012
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year Of The Horse (Audio CD)
Many of the reviewers have queried the need for this album, given other live releases at the time, but to me, it is utterly justified.

The album has a different feel and 'vibe' to other live releases. The track listing is interesting and all the songs are delivered with the consummate professionalism you would expect from Young and Crazy Horse.

Sonically, it is a good recording and as a double album package, represents great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars in anticipation, 25 Jan 2008
By 
roy mansfield "volvoman" (london,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Year Of The Horse (Audio CD)
With tickets for Shakeys forthcoming London concerts in my possession these live recordings fill me full of incredible anticipation.I can honestly say that some of his greatest songs come over better live than recorded.The electric version of Pocahontas is superb and sets the tone for a great record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real Music - NY & Crazy Horse Live In 96, 23 Jan 2001
By 
Mr. R. Verma (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Year Of The Horse (Audio CD)
Stirring live album recorded around Europe, summer 1996. The band plays at the normal high standard, and the variety of songs is impressive, spanning Young`s whole career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finest of Young's live albums IMO, 7 Nov 2013
This review is from: Year Of The Horse (Audio CD)
Many would say 'Live Rust' or 'Weld', but for me this is easily my favourite of Neil's live albums. I was never too keen on the production of the Rust albums, and Weld was pretty much a live greatest hits (even though I love them both). I always liked Neil's lesser known songs best and this album includes superb versions of rarer tracks such as, Dangerbird, When Your Lonely Heart Breaks & Human Highway. For anyone tired of hearing live renditions of Cinnamon Girl & Like A Hurricane, this is a must. A shame an acoustic version of 'Sample and Hold' wasn't included (like the one cut from Unplugged), or perhaps a Crazy Horse version of 'Pressure'...or even better 'Interstate' - the best song he never properly released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Album, 21 May 2014
By 
R. Bastable "R,A,Bastable" (Sidcup,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year Of The Horse (Audio CD)
Neil Young is always very good to listen to any time. A must for any Neil young fan. Good Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Year Of The Horse, 17 July 2014
By 
RK (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year Of The Horse (Audio CD)
Excellent live album with some lesser played live tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unnecessary, 8 April 2012
This review is from: Year Of The Horse (Audio CD)
This live album is pretty good but I've never seen the point of it. It was too soon after the excellent Weld & immediately following the below par Broken Arrow.
A curio, nothing more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Year Of The Horse
Year Of The Horse by Neil Young (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews