Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A listening experience
Broken Arrow is one of my favourite Neil Young records. It's dark and brooding, yet is an illuminating and rewarding listening experience. The first three songs all end on hypnotic one chord jams, full of the sloppyness that makes Crazy Horse for me so appealing. Final song 'Baby What You Want Me To Do' was recorded live with just one mic and... I dunno... it just...
Published on 22 Feb 2004 by J. Wire

versus
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Standard latter-day Crazy Horse fare
While 1996's "Broken Arrow" was greeted with open arms by some in Young's fan fraternity, it has to be said that there's more than a slight feel that Young is coasting on this album. Yes, the originals are uniformly good (though only occasionally excellent), but the lengthy soloing fans have come to associate with Young's Crazy Horse work seems uninspired and...
Published on 11 Nov 2001 by thomasbirch2


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A listening experience, 22 Feb 2004
By 
J. Wire "jamiewire" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Broken Arrow (Audio CD)
Broken Arrow is one of my favourite Neil Young records. It's dark and brooding, yet is an illuminating and rewarding listening experience. The first three songs all end on hypnotic one chord jams, full of the sloppyness that makes Crazy Horse for me so appealing. Final song 'Baby What You Want Me To Do' was recorded live with just one mic and... I dunno... it just captures something that a standard soundboard recording would have missed. I felt I was at the show it was taped at, I felt I was there.
Broken Arrow is perhaps not the most accessible Neil record but any fan of Cortez and the like might be interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Before Neil took the Pill, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Arrow (Audio CD)
If you like Neil's latest recording and his current tour with Crazy Horse, you should love this album. It has long, deep, in the groove songs with Crazy Horse like Slip Away, a great road trip song that is one of his best (Big Time) and some more mellow classics like Scattered and Music Arcade. Like many of Neil's minor classic albums, afew tracks are perhaps fillers or below his best, but overall, a great and under-rated album essential for hardcore NY fans. It's a little bit high and a little big low....but epic and uplifting overall.Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful, 11 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Broken Arrow (Audio CD)
Although I am not a serious Neil Young collector (I only own three albums), and can not be said to be a great authority on the field, I find the sound and "spirit" of this album to be simply overwhelming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What the 'Ragged Glory' fans have been waiting for..., 16 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Broken Arrow (Audio CD)
This albumn starts, in my mind, along the same lines as 'Ragged Glory'. Back by Neil's side are Crazy Horse (for the whole albumn) to bring us another classic rock epic.
The first three songs are the best as Neil and the band really get into their stride. Each are full length rockers with lengthy guitar solos and the deep groove that we have come to expect from Neil and Crazy Horse's collaborations.
After that, the albumn tends to get progressively more mellow (although never quite achieving that) until it is drawn to a close by a live blues track that he preportedly performed anonymously at a suprise gig.
All in all, a very good albumn that is only slightly let down by one or two of the later songs that don't quite make the grade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh how wrong they are, 21 Jun 2012
By 
Oostrijck (Rotterdam) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Broken Arrow (Audio CD)
I read on the internet and in the serious magazines that this is one of Young`s worst albums. It`s been called a lacklustre disaster, a train wreck. That is all very well, it`s a democracy after all. But me, I love this record. It`s as dear to me as any record he released. Nice crazy horse guitar songs and lovely ballads. I never get tired listening to it. I guess you should decide for yourself whether this is horrible or just great guitar music. I say it`s great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lesser known masterpiece, 9 Nov 2007
This review is from: Broken Arrow (Audio CD)
I love this album. Slip Away and Scattered are two of the best songs Neil Young has ever done. The whole thing is grungy and chugging, but the melodies are still there, underpinning it all. If you like Silver and Gold, it might not be for you, but for anyone who loved Everybody Knows this is Nowhere, this natural successor is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 20 Sep 2012
By 
Savin N. Cristian (Lugoj, Romania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Arrow (Audio CD)
This album is one of my favorites from Neil Young's discography. For a long time I owned only the music cassette of it. Yeah could you imagine :-) ! A very nice surprise, the CD is a HDCD one !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Standard latter-day Crazy Horse fare, 11 Nov 2001
This review is from: Broken Arrow (Audio CD)
While 1996's "Broken Arrow" was greeted with open arms by some in Young's fan fraternity, it has to be said that there's more than a slight feel that Young is coasting on this album. Yes, the originals are uniformly good (though only occasionally excellent), but the lengthy soloing fans have come to associate with Young's Crazy Horse work seems uninspired and drawn-out on certain tracks, such as "Loose Change." The poorly recorded cover version of "Baby What You Want Me to Do" also smacks of filler. The album is redeemed, however, by three cuts: "Slip Away," a haunting, widescreen song which finds Neil and the Horse in "epic" mode; the opening "Big Time," an anthemic rocker where Crazy Horse don't sound as if they're on autopilot; and the spooky "Music Arcade," which finds Young alone with an acoustic guitar, whispering his cracked vocal into the microphone. A good album which should have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a must have, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Arrow (Audio CD)
It's not a bad album but it is by no means vintage Neil Young. There is enough on here to make it worth having but it's not one for your desert island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing to a hardcore fan like me, 25 May 2004
By 
Mjcleverly "michael c" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Broken Arrow (Audio CD)
I bought this album the day it came out. Not long before I had seen Neil in concert, he did not play a single song from this album and I now can see why. It is one of his weakest albums, we have to forgive him for these sort of albums as consistency is perhaps not his best suit. Overall the album is quite bland and many of the songs are not very different from each other.
For every Ragged Glory or Harvest Moon there is a Trans or Broken Arrow. If you intend to collect every album then buy this one, but if you want the best, then wait for a better offering than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broken Arrow
Broken Arrow by Neil Young (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews