Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars X-File fan or not, this is a great CD
Songs in the Key of X cannot really be called a soundtrack; it consists not of songs necessarily from The X-Files but songs inspired by and worthy of inclusion in the show. It's quite an eclectic mix, featuring many dark songs that sparkle with the horrid electricity one associates with The X-Files. The premiere track has to be Red Right Hand by Nick Cave and the Bad...
Published on 8 April 2003 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lucrative
In the 1990s The X Files was a dark but hugely popular American science fiction drama TV series featuring David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson as FBI special agents Fox Mulder and Dana Scully, investigators of marginalized, unsolved cases involving paranormal phenomena. It had a long run spanning nine years, nine seasons, and 202 episodes. It also proved to be a lucrative...
Published on 1 Nov 2012 by S Bailey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars X-File fan or not, this is a great CD, 8 April 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs in the Key of X: The X Files (Audio CD)
Songs in the Key of X cannot really be called a soundtrack; it consists not of songs necessarily from The X-Files but songs inspired by and worthy of inclusion in the show. It's quite an eclectic mix, featuring many dark songs that sparkle with the horrid electricity one associates with The X-Files. The premiere track has to be Red Right Hand by Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds. This song is itself part of the lore and mythology of the show; any X-Files fanatic can tell you the story of how Chris Carter heard this song driving home from work one night and fell in love with it. Besides highlighting the road trip of abductee Duane Barry in Season Two, the song has also been featured prominently in the Scream movies, so this one will be familiar to many. Clearly, most of these songs are in the same dark, forceful vein - e.g., Danzig's Deep, Screamin' Jay Hawkins' Frenzy, and Hands of Death (Burn Baby Burn) from the powerhouse duo of Rob Zombie and Alice Cooper. Soul Coughing's contribution Unmarked Helicopters may best fit the milieu of The X-Files and is an excellent song to boot. The Foo Fighters, a band that has never really captured my attention, makes a nice addition with Down in the Park. Frank Black's Man of Steel was a pleasant surprise to me, having only heard a much different kind of performance from him on Gordon Gano's Hitting the Ground.
The great variety of songs here means two things: there is something for everyone here, but every individual will also undoubtedly have a few tracks he/she doesn't particularly care for. Sheryl Crow's On the Outside is a perfectly good song, but it doesn't seem to fit here in my opinion. Elvis Costello's My Dark Life has potential but never succeeds in grabbing my attention. Star Me Kitten from William S. Burroughs & R.E.M. is just strange and almost unexplainable (it also is the primary reason for the Explicit Lyrics sticker on the cover). The big mystery here for me, though, is P.M. Dawn. Not only does their song If You Never Say Goodbye seem out of place, their remix of Mark Snow's excellent X-Files Theme is quite unnecessary given the greatness of Mark Snow's original version that starts this CD off with a bang.
You don't have to be an X-Files fan to enjoy this CD, but fans will have much more appreciation of the ingenuity and creative track selection that went into this album. The liner notes feature some perfectly odd artist drawings of X-Files characters and scenes as well as statements about the album from X-Files bigwigs Chris Carter and David Was. One should not think this album was released just to make money off of the hot X-Files name; there is a lot of quality music here that one might not ever have the chance to discover on one's own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! Shame only one of my Cd players can get TRACK 0!, 15 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Songs in the Key of X: The X Files (Audio CD)
This is the music selection of Chris Carter - gets him in the mood for working with the series. Watchers of the X-Files might recognise some of this music - often hidden away in one or other episode. The hidden gem on the CD is a track by Nick Cave and the Dirty Three - which I can only access by reviewing track one some seven minutes before the start. Needless to say, all my new CD players can't do this - so find one that will. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real stunner, 14 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Songs in the Key of X: The X Files (Audio CD)
I actually bought this believing it to be the soundtrack to the series, but when I listened I wasn't disappointed. From the haunting 'on the outside' by sheryl crow to the brutal 'in the hands of death' by Rob Zombie AND Alice Cooper. Personal highlights must be Filter's 'Thanks Bro' and Nick Cave's 'Red right hand' (a true classic)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lucrative, 1 Nov 2012
This review is from: Songs in the Key of X: The X Files (Audio CD)
In the 1990s The X Files was a dark but hugely popular American science fiction drama TV series featuring David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson as FBI special agents Fox Mulder and Dana Scully, investigators of marginalized, unsolved cases involving paranormal phenomena. It had a long run spanning nine years, nine seasons, and 202 episodes. It also proved to be a lucrative financial proposition as well - its franchising created a seemingly endless sea of swag stamped with the eponymous X, including films, toys, books, video games, comic books and TV spin-offs. This 1996 release of music from and inspired by the series is another example of that slightly tenuous process.

Whilst the vast majority of its 15 credited songs certainly match with the show's moods, the quality of the selections - chosen by the show's creators David Was and Chris Carter - proves variable. A couple of tracks manage to send a shiver up my backbone, including the familiar strains of the show's unsettling ethereal theme music - composed by Mark Snow - that opens proceedings here. The delightfully divisive collaboration 'Star Me Kitten' featuring the late author William Burroughs croaking profanities over REM's understated, pedestrian-paced string-laden Automatic For The People backing track, works surprisingly well. Its unsettling ambience creates a creepy atmosphere that is successfully exploited by Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds on the haunting 'Red Right Hand', which twinkles with the twisted mystery that its ghoulish bass-line, Hammer Horror organ, and devilishly comic lyrical imagery provide.

But the rest of this hour-long compilation veers between the competent and unappealing, in a somewhat dismal fashion. The unlikely but promising-sounding collaboration between rock stalwart Elvis Costello and pop music conceptualist Brian Eno on the 6 minute ballad 'My Dark Life' doesn't quite manage to deliver: it feels like an opportunity missed. So do lacklustre efforts from ex-Pixies front-man Frank Black's and Kurt Cobain favourites' Meat Puppets. They offer evidence to their critics who were suggesting in the mid-1990s that their best work was behind them. Dramatic blues artist Screamin' Jay Hawkins' frenetic 1957 single 'Frenzy', provides a welcome contrast to ephemeral material from stadium rock act Sheryl Crow, and US alt- and grunge-rock acts Soul Coughing and Filter. Rather inexplicably, the unappealing mainstream hip-hop ensemble PM Dawn are afforded two tracks. Both their remix of the theme music and 'If You Never Say Goodbye' feel somewhat incongruous here, whilst the cheerlessly blunt trio of hard-rocking tracks from Danzig, Foo Fighters, and Rob Zombie and Alice Cooper don't really show contemporary heavy metal in the brightest of lights.

Inaccessible hidden tracks by Nick Cave and the Dirty Three, that can only be found by manually rewinding the first track nine minutes - which are hidden gems, apparently - only heightened my disgruntlement about this occasionally interesting television tie-in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs in the Key of X: The X Files (Audio CD)
Excellent set of songs here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album to match a great show, 20 Sep 2001
By 
Gwrandawr (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Songs in the Key of X: The X Files (Audio CD)
I loved this album, not only because I am possibly a biased X-Files fan, but also for the music! My highlights would have to be Elvis Costello's "My Dark Life", PM Dawn's "If you never say Goodbye", filter's "Thanks Bro" and Sheryl Crow's "Outside". The mood of the music certainly matches the show, but anyone can enjoy the album. I'm not sure how many copies this album origianlly sold, but I'm sure it could sell a lot more if they took away X-Files from the title (which is a shame). Just by looking at the big names connected, it's no surprise that this is a top class collection of moody and meaningful music. This is music that can be enjoyed by anyone, not just by us die hard fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs in the Key of X: The X Files (Audio CD)
NICE CD!!! RECOMMENDS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good soundtrack!, 25 Jun 2003
By 
Jari Laakso (Finland, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs in the Key of X: The X Files (Audio CD)
Songs in the of X presents total of 15 chapters, 2 of which are TXF themes. The first track is Mark Snow's longer version of the theme and it's absolutely great! Though this is a soundtrack for The X-Files, all songs in the disc haven't appeared in the show. Nonetheless this includes very good songs, my personal favourites are Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds' Red Right Hand, Soul Coughings Unmarked Helicopters, Sheryl Crows On The Outside, Foo Fighters' Down In The Park and Filters Thanks Bro. The real stinker is Star Me Kitten, I wonder why this song has been included to this CD. All others are quite good. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs in the Key of X: The X Files
Songs in the Key of X: The X Files by The X-Files (Related Recordings) (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews