Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Green Day At Their Best!!
Wow!!
What an album!!
A sheer thrill to listen too.
In my opinion the real standout album of the band.
Being an old-timer, stuck with the band all my life,
This IS WHAT Green Day are about, pure punk, at its best
The songs, scream out the speakers at you, one HELL of a ride!!
Here are my favourite songs of the album:
86: Catchy, but...
Published on 13 Nov 2005 by to_me_to_you

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars nice album.
makes the ears ring like you would expect a green day record to but that je na sa qua just don't dingle ma dangle!
Published 8 months ago by tommy twin


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Green Day At Their Best!!, 13 Nov 2005
This review is from: Insomniac (Audio CD)
Wow!!
What an album!!
A sheer thrill to listen too.
In my opinion the real standout album of the band.
Being an old-timer, stuck with the band all my life,
This IS WHAT Green Day are about, pure punk, at its best
The songs, scream out the speakers at you, one HELL of a ride!!
Here are my favourite songs of the album:
86: Catchy, but repetitive...
No Pride: A song with just the right words...
Stuck With Me: Actually quite good, catchy, upbeat.
Westbound Sign: A sad tale, but nevertheless exciting!!
Stuart And The Avenue: PHENOMENAL!! PURE PUNK!! SONG ROCKS!!
Don't take my word for it, at this price, can you go wrong?
An album, slated by so many, but in the eyes of real fans, WOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With this album you wont be able to sleep!!, 14 Jun 2005
By 
This review is from: Insomniac (Audio CD)
ok this album was the 4th album i got that was Green Day i dont think that it is as well known as it should be! My favourite song on the album (if i had to choose) would be panic song i love the words to it you can tell how much effort and feeling went into that song and you can feel the hate which he sometimes feels for this world which we can all relate to.When your having one of those days you can relate to this album alot Insomniac is a wicked album and if you dont have it GO BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark, Punkier Side Of Green Day!, 23 April 2006
This review is from: Insomniac (Audio CD)
This album is great. I do actually think its better than Dookie but then thats just my opinion. I love 86 and Brain Stew and feel that this album was trying to send a message to the people who thought Green Day had sold out when they signed to a major label. Its one of my favourite Green Day albums. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The darker side of Green Day....., 22 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: Insomniac (Audio CD)
When "Insomniac" was released, Green Day revealed their darker side, a side that many people did'nt like. This is an extremely underated album only appreciated by true Green Day fans.
The album is so much darker than previous albums they have released as most songs on here are about depression, drugs and low self confidence. Green Day ditched the pop-punk that got them noticed in the first place and headed for dirty sounding guitars. I mean, if you listen carefully, you can hear elements of grunge (Brat, Stuck With Me, No Pride) and heavy metal (Brain Stew/Jaded, Tight Wad Hill, 86)
There were no Basket Cases or Longviews coming from this album. Although good singles came from here, people seem to forget them. Even Green Day try to ditch them when they play songs from International Superhits! live.
I love all the songs from this album but my favourites are:
Brat (Hilarious, listen to the lyrics!)
Stuck With Me (Catchy, stays in your head for ages)
Geek Stink Breath (Punk Rock at it's finest)
Stuart And The Avenue (I love Mike's bass solo at the beginning)
Brain Stew/Jaded (Brilliant song, they played this song live when I saw them at Milton Keynes)
Westbound Sign (A sweet but punky love song)
Walking Contradiction (A brilliant song to end an album with)
Green Day are a truly brilliant band and make wonderful music together. Billie Joe's guitar work is brilliant, Tre's drumming is phenomenal and Mike is a fantastic bassist (next to Flea from Red Hot Chili Peppers) who put in brilliant solos on "Insomniac"
Ignore the critics and people who say "Insomniac" is the "worst album ever" because they are wrong. "Insomniac" is the best piece of hard punk rock Green Day have ever put out. You can feel Billie Joe's anxiety and lack of self confidence throughout this album. "Insomniac" is not to be missed so go and buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars class, 15 Mar 2001
This review is from: Insomniac (Audio CD)
Everybody goes on about dookie and nimrod being the best. As i dedicated green day fan i agree they are good albums. But then people forget about the one in the middle.I feel music wise Insomniac is their best album. It captures green day at their very best. Songs like armatage shanks, no pride and walking contradiction make it the best. If your a green day fan and you haven't got this album my advice to you is get it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to remember Green Day? 'Insomniac'!, 20 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Insomniac (Audio CD)
This is Green Day's finest hour. 'Kerplunk' was good but there was something lacking, 'Dookie' was a big commercial success and had some of their most memorable songs on it but 'Insomniac' rips away the pop facade and gets down to the raw punk-powered noise that was always threatening to explode from Green Day but never did. It's just such a shame that they returned to the jaunty, Blink-182-inspiring, pop stylings in further albums 'Nimrod' and 'Warning'. This is how Green Day sound, or should do.
The first two tracks kick off at a blisteringly rapid pace, leaving the listener unaware of what to expect next. What you get is 'Stuck With Me', a slice of slower, more focussed yet unsettlingly unhinged pop. But pop with horrible, sharp, bloody teeth. The same goes for 'Geek Stink Breath' which was their single. A great choice and a finger thrust firmly in the air at those who believed Green Day had sold out with 'Dookie'. It is not single material. It is a grinding dirge with a hidden, almost unnoticeable hook that just keeps dragging you back for more. I don't think that there's a single on the whole album that would have done well in the charts, which is one of the reasons to buy it.
The little two-minute gems keep coming after that, with more vigour and aggression than you can shake a fist at. 'Babs Uvula Who?', '86', 'No Pride', 'Panic Song'. They are all variations on the same theme but inspired variations. This is the album that made Green Day truly great, not in the eyes of the world, but in the eyes of the fans. My utmost favourite is the pounding, rolling, driving tune 'Westbound Sign'. It goes at 100 miles an hour but is somehow beautiful. It reminds me of Bruce Springsteen's 'Bobby-Jean', don't ask me why, it just does.
'Insomniac' will definitely keep you up all night but you wont regret it. If you are going to buy one Green Day album, buy this one. It is, without any doubt, the best album they have made to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A smart move., 23 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Insomniac (Audio CD)
How do you follow up a million selling album? This is a question that many bands have to ask themselves once they make it big - Green Day had followed two independent albums with Dookie, a multi-platinum monster and a show-stealing appearance at Woodstock 1994. A lesser band would mess around for a few years, add an orchestra and release a bloated, rubbish follow-up.

Green Day went the opposite route - perhaps stinging from some hardcore fans' accusations of selling out, within a year of Dookie, the band recorded and released Insomniac, an altogether darker, nastier album. There were no 'Basket Cases' here, considerably less of the toilet humour - instead we have songs about being neurotic, drug use and alternative lifestyles. 'Geek Steek Breath' is about as catchy as the album gets, but even that's about 'blowing off steam' on speed; 'Panic Song' channels the spirit of Fugazi in its lengthy instrumental intro and 'Jaded' is a nod to hardcore.

An altogether harder album than its predecessor, whilst not as successful, Insomniac solidified Green Day as being more than gurning punks and much more than one-album wonders. Commerciall, it'd be diminishing returns from here on out, but their critical reputation was already cemented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greats, 23 Jan 2005
By 
D. Dickson "darr3n007" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Insomniac (Audio CD)
Already a fan of Green Day ? If not you may prefer to buy Dookie first as this would be the album to start on but if you already like Green Day then buy this and give it a listen. It's a very good album I would say it's more....Raw. You may have to listen to it a few times but when you do you'll be singing or humming 86 for weeks. An album that many may not have give them credit for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Punk LP, 23 Nov 2002
This review is from: Insomniac (Audio CD)
This is the Green Day album that everyone forgets about, however it is one of their best ever. The songs on here are a lot more hardcore than on Dookie and each songs theme is very dark, taking in issues like drug abuse. The song 86 also centres upon every punk bands greatest fear; selling out, however with this record they most certainly haven't. Green Day though have put beside these lyrics some great music and most of the songs are very catchy and have spawned some great singles.
The highlights of this album are Stuck With Me, 86, Panic Song and Brain Stew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brain Stew with a side order or hardcore!!, 5 Dec 2000
This review is from: Insomniac (Audio CD)
I bought this album simply in the basis of one song...Brain Stew, which is definitely the best song. This album sees Green Day take a less commercial approach as this is more hardcore punk...but definitely GOOD hardcore punk! Along with Brain Stew my highlights are, Bab's Uvula Who?,Stuck With me,No Pride and Walking Contradiction. Not quite as good as Nimrod or Dookie...it's different....but well worth having for any Green Day fan....and at this price WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Insomniac
Insomniac by Green Day (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews