Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, his best record since RNS
I really can't believe that there has only been one review previous to this, and that it gave the album a measly four. This record really is the best thing we've heard from Neil since the amazing Rust Never Sleeps, and I can see arguments for it toppling even that's might. I would go as far as to say if I were to own only 3 NY albums, I would have to choose Harvest...
Published on 29 Oct 2001 by wobbob

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars underrated
Sleeps with Angels is a competent album but not an inspired one. Don't get me wrong, I actually quite like the album and the title track is a triumph of noise but it certainly lacks the spark of work such as Everybody Knows or Tonights The Night. However, once the dreadful first track (My Heart) is out of the way it is well worth persevering for a surprisingly emotional...
Published on 7 Oct 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, his best record since RNS, 29 Oct 2001
This review is from: Sleeps With Angels (Audio CD)
I really can't believe that there has only been one review previous to this, and that it gave the album a measly four. This record really is the best thing we've heard from Neil since the amazing Rust Never Sleeps, and I can see arguments for it toppling even that's might. I would go as far as to say if I were to own only 3 NY albums, I would have to choose Harvest (sorry, but it's undeniable), RNS and THIS. It displays so much, says so much, contains so much incredible diversity. Let me demonstrate the first track is a beautiful solo-Neil harpsichord-thing song, wonderful, lovely. The next is a full band grove, the first few times seemingly a dull guitar number that goes nowhere, but really a great song, trust me, with unusual for Neil subtle dynamic variation. Next is the depressing dirgy "Driveby", Neil rasping and heartfelt, the chance of it all. Next the short feedback-layered dark-metal (practically) of the title track, all about poor Kurt's death (we are led to believe, I remain sceptic). All of these four songs, so diverse and containing inexplicable beauty, standing so well next to each other, yet apart.
The rest of the album is better in places to, The stunning 16 minute "Change your mind" beats "Down By The River" in my opinion, even if it never touches "Cowgirl...". The six-minute outro "Blue Eden" isn't bad either. The other main highlight is "safeway cart", with it's slide-bass riff and spooky chord progression, a new wonderful direction for Neil. Oh, and I literally love "Piece of Crap", hilarious, trust me, political (shallow, I admit) too. The album ends with another harpsichord number, this time with the rest of the band though, not amazing, but a fitting end. There's so much I haven't mentioned. Perhaps the worst track(s) is/are "western hero"/"train of love" (they share the same vocal track, just contain different guitar feedback solos and vocal tracks), so its disappointing they show up twice, but they are strong lyrically and add a less dark element. This is truly a great record. Oh, by the way, don't base your view of this on a few listens, at first the only thing I liked was "piece ofd crap" (!) but as with all of Neil's best, with a bit of effort the reward is priceless. This really is an essential purchase alongside Harvest and RNS for a music fan, and for a NY music fan alongside ragged glory, goldrush EKTIN, TTN and lucky 13(and maybe more... silver and gold, freedom, on the beach, comes a time anyone?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why this album IS a classic, 7 Nov 2003
By 
B. Orr "flycreeper" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleeps With Angels (Audio CD)
Sleeps With Angels may stand as Neil Young's last great work. The hit and miss, and general misadventures of Young's work after this album (Broken Arrow, Silver and Gold, the utterly throwaway Are You Passionate?, and the good, but not brilliant Greendale) just highlight the importance of this album in Young's already great catalogue.
This album covers similar ground to the dark Tonight's the Night and the the heavier parts of Rust Never Sleeps. But what makes this album so strong is the consistent songwriting: reminsicent of these two landmark albums, and even topping them in places.
Starting with the light tac piano melody of My Heart, Young seems to probe darkness and loss without ever being consumed by it. Prime of Life's wonderful flute/ guitar interplay makes this song a highlight. Driveby follows with a wonderful acoustic intro, merging with stark electric guitar later in the song. This leads into the title track, a likely tribute to Kurt Cobain and Courtney Love, and another highlight. Reflecting grunge in it's muddy mix and dramatic guitar play, it's a fitting tribute to Nirvana's master.
Western Hero is more optimistic, with a piano and acoustic guitar lifting the spirit, and remembering the dead (Train of Love, later in the album intriguingly visits the same tune, but with different lyrics looking at the theme of love. But it looks at love, reassuringly, with no slushly feeling whatsoever).
Change Your Mind is one of Young's great guitar epics - 15 minutes in scope, with another muddy mix. This song just has to be heard in full to be fully appreciated. Blue Eden is a guitar type jam with Young and Crazy Horse, leading into Safeway Cart, with an addictive bassline hook that pulls the listener in, and breathy vocals from Young.
After the previously mentioned Train of Love, comes Trans Am - another highlight. A deadpan vocal delivery from Young, mixed with Crazy Horse backing vocals, and minimal instrumentation.
Piece of Crap is the only full on rock out from Young on this album, and it's a minor delight - an irreverent, thinly veiled swipe on consumer life and corporate life, with insane guitar. If only the likes of some grunge/punk bands presently could write such quality throwaway material.
The album closes with it's final highlight - A Dream That Can Last. In some ways, this song revisits My Heart, and reaffirms the positive after the cycle of the negative that much of this album encloses. A rolling piano melody, and delicate harmonies from Young and Crazy Horse beautifully close the album.
Fans of Young in general should be delighted with this album, and even casual listeners should find much to enjoy here. While this album isn't instantly accessible, and has a mournful feel, it represents Young at his very best. Repeat listens of this album with yield ample rewards over time. So do yourself a favour, and buy this album. If you've got open ears, and an open mind, the misery, mourning and optimism in this album will lift you for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of neils greatest albums, 13 Jan 2012
This review is from: Sleeps With Angels (Audio CD)
no question at times I've thought of this as perhaps neils greatest ever album.No doubt it is certainly his best of the last 30 plus years and easily as equal to his 7o,<s classics...MORE IN MOROSE STYLE TO TONIGHTS THE NIGHT THAN ANY OF HIS OTHER ALBUMS,THO WOTHOUT THE STONED DRUNKARD FEEL OF THAT MASTERPIECE...Bookended by two of his most hauntingly beautiful song MY HEART and A DREAM THAT CAN LAST..and the incredible CHANGE YOUR MIND contains one of his best ever long crazy horse jams..BLUE EDEN sounds like zztop on tranquillisers..piece of crap is just a rust never sleeps type rave up..the rest of the album is sombre,dark,and beautiful..just buy this record
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Older, Darker, Richer, 31 Aug 2000
By 
Joe (Portsmouth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sleeps With Angels (Audio CD)
After the rather mundane Harvest Moon, it took Kurt Cobain's suicide to evoke in Neil the darker side we had not seen him in him for years. In many ways a sister album to Tonights The Night (written in the wake of colleague Danny Whitten's death 20 years earlier), this album sees Neil reuniting with Crazy Horse and letting his distorted guitar do the speaking. Prime of Life and the title track are riddled with the angst he must have felt at being quoted in Cobain's suicide note, but elsewhere the sinister Safeway Cart and Drive By keep the hairs up on the back of the neck. The lengthy guitar number Change Your Mind is one of his best in years and even Piece of Crap (the now-obligatory 'comedy' number) is fast and furious. The album is not without its lighter moments, however, and My Heart and Western Hero are Neil & Crazy Horse in unusually melodic mode. In all, Sleeps With Angels was a real return to form but perhaps best heard after absorbing a few earlier Neil classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Broad Ranged and Riveting, 3 Aug 2008
By 
L. Cooper "My Name Is Nobody!" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleeps With Angels (Audio CD)
I was turned onto Neil Young early on in my life through this album specifically. I 'rediscovered' it in my mid-teens, a perfect time. After reading other reviews, I have to say, the whole album with possibly the exception of 'Piece of Crap' induces a beautiful tension that one can't quite put your finger on. It begins with 'My Heart', uplifting from a very deep place indeed. The album ends with 'A Dream That Can Last', and it is here that you will be able to feel a tension with every note of Young's voice, not because of the actual song itself, which is beautifully written, but because of listening through the whole album. Let this album into your mind and heart and if you listen to it from start to finish a few times, you will realise its full qualities. An exceptional album, I have never came across anything like this. Best listened to whilst quietly relaxing and reflecting with friends - for the most part, as the song 'Piece of Crap' has power chords and tone that sounds brilliant a little bit louder. It used to go on whilst me and my friends played card games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for sure, 16 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sleeps With Angels (Audio CD)
Definitely 5 stars. Up there with Decade and EKTIN. The title track, too, is up there with the best electric work too, Like A Hurricane (any version) and Cowgirl. I know it's short, over before ya know it. But I think it is as evocative as either, and as enjoyable. The feedback, the way it opens - this is the sort of stuff I expect every rock band aspires to. I can play this song over and over.
Other stuff impressive, Trans Am, Driveby. Change Your Mind is great in places, but something about the chorus doesn't seem to fit. But I aint complaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil Young's heart of gold, 9 Dec 2009
By 
Deven Gadula (san francisco, ca, united states) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleeps With Angels (Audio CD)
Sleeps With Angels is my favorite album by Neil Young and I do understand it may be very surprising to many lovers of this prolific artist. The album was released in 1994 and I grabbed on to it and started listening for a few days and with every next listen I liked it more and more. It is much more of a rock album than many of his other work but to me it still retains and transcends a perfect amount of Neil's superb folk ballad tone. Sleeps With Angels is a lot about love and it contains more songs, spectacular to me, than any other album of Neil Young.

My Heart makes a perfect beginning of this album. It is about human will and optimism and the power of love or something for us to rely on. Love is the best chance we have, that is for sure, and Neil Young one of the greatest examples for us to follow. Prime Of Life is a song about graceful aging. You can find your comfort in older age and on your death bed, but yes, it does depend on the relationship you have established with your own conscience, which by now can be your best friend or worst enemy, I guess. Musically the following song Drive By might be exceeding the preceding one. The title song Sleeps With Angels was written after the death of Kurt Cobain, and it addresses him. Western Hero is a beautiful song mourning the death of the cowboy. And that was before the arrival of George Bush junior that big spender boy. I guess Neil feels even worse now about our good old straight shooting values... Since the structure and sound of this song is so similar to the music of Train Of Love, I choose that later one. Change Your Mind is another gorgeous song with beautifully flowing music and lyrics as always coming straight from the heart. Once again, the topic of love comes back to us, throughout this album. Perhaps that is my attraction to it, because this world could be a better place if we all loved ourselves a tiny bit less and directed that energy towards the ones around us. Blue Eden is musically harder and it really feels like it is directed towards someone real, but I have no details. Try listening to Safeway Cart on repeat a few times. Even this song brings on a special mood. And the repeating line `baby looks so bad with her tv eyes' I can relate to completely and I am glad someone is talking about it, because from the outside, to me, the situation seems fairly obvious but hardly anybody seems to notice the damage. Train Of Love is simply spectacular, on the spiritual level and I love it musically as well. All of the misfortunes in Neil Young's life were turned by him to his advantage. His heart of gold is out in the open for the world to see. Trans Am is another excellent song putting me in almost a trance like mood when I am inside of it for a while. What a trip this song is, lyrically. Neil Young could turn reading vacuum cleaner manufacturer's operating instructions into a beautiful song. Well Neil, I guess they don't call you the grandfather of grunge for nothing, but I don't care that much for your Piece Of Crap. I do agree the commercialism is killing us; traveling abroad is becoming such a bore and the whole commercial world starts looking more and more like a huge wal-mart. Nothing we can do about it, Neil. A Dream That Can Last is a perfect ending song of an intriguing beginning and lyrics full of charm and mystery. And here are my favorite songs of this beautiful artist: Train Of Love, Razor Love, Pardon My Heart, My Heart, Sugar Mountain, Comes A Time, I Am A Child, After The Gold Rush, Natural Beauty, Old Man, Change Your Mind, Such A Woman, Cortez The Killer, Without Rings, Harvest, Trans Am, It's A Dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Neil, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeps With Angels (Audio CD)
Perfect album particularly Change Your Mind & Blue Eden which have the extended guitar pieces that Neil does so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeps With Angels (Audio CD)
Neil Young and Crazy Horse, what else is there to say, not his best efforts, however very good and worth a listen or two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I SOOO LOVE IT , LOVE IT , LOVE IT!!!, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeps With Angels (Audio CD)
Soulful, sensual, sexy, smooth, rough, melodic, tender, wrenching, stretching, sinuous-y.
Beautiful guitar and vocals.
This album is made up of songs where Neil Young reaches into my very being and wrenches out my innards!!
I should have bought it years ago!
But then don't take my word for it...if you like Neil Young with Crazy Horse, I'm sure you'll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sleeps With Angels
Sleeps With Angels by Neil Young (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews