Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrifyingly Good
Awwwww you gotta love the Chillis, from the Godawful "Mummy, where's Daddy" from their first album, to Mr. Keidis looking like Princess Leiah (yes I know I probably spelt it wrong) in the video to "Breaking the Girl". Blood Sugar Sex Magik was the album that made the Chillis look all grown up and professional, and the follow up, One Hot Minute, is a...
Published on 31 May 2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The mad, the sad and the bad!
This album bridges the gap between the mental funk of the chili peppers early albums and the great songwriting of their newer stuff. There is no spirit of punk shining through here, instead we get psychadelic melancholy pop(if that makes any sense to those that have heard it!??) an intriguing idea indeed! There are some great songs here (Warped, Aeroplane, Coffee Shop,...
Published on 24 Jan 2011 by theone&only


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrifyingly Good, 31 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: One Hot Minute [U.S. Version] (Audio CD)
Awwwww you gotta love the Chillis, from the Godawful "Mummy, where's Daddy" from their first album, to Mr. Keidis looking like Princess Leiah (yes I know I probably spelt it wrong) in the video to "Breaking the Girl". Blood Sugar Sex Magik was the album that made the Chillis look all grown up and professional, and the follow up, One Hot Minute, is a masterpiece. I don't care who was playing guitar, who was singing what or writing whatever, from first to last track this is a damn fine album. It starts with Warped, a song that kicks the idea of time signatures firmly in the you-know-where, and incredibly it gets better from there. Aeroplane (despite it's disturbing video) shows what can be done with a bass guitar, My Friends shows off how well the Chillis have matured since their 80's roots, and probably the best song on the album, nay, of all time, Shallow be Thy Game, is an anthem, simple as that. Probably the best thing about this album is that it makes you feel happy. The music isn't necessarily all feel good stuff, but it leaves you feeling as though you have spent your time wisely listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This IS the Red Hot Chili Peppers. ONE HOT MINUTE., 13 Nov 2005
This review is from: One Hot Minute [U.S. Version] (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of the Chili Peppers since I was just 6 years old, and this is my favorite album by them, and I know thats true- I have them all.
This is their album that was released after Blood Sugar Sex Magic, when their guitarist was suffering from drug addiction. Dave Navaro (the guitarist from Janes Addiction)does the guitar on this album- he is a much more vibrant and solid guitarist in my opinion, and you can tell this from his many cool riffs.
The first song on this album, Warped, is amazing, it is heavy yet darker than anything the chilis have done before. The lyrics on this song, like most of the album, are incredible. Other cool songs on this album are Deep Kick, a mini snippet of the history of the Chilis- Ive always thought that this song defined the band.
This album is WAY better than Blood Sugar Sex Magic, which is by far their most well known album.
I especially recomend this album if you like grunge and metal bands like Smashing Pumpkins, Pearl Jam or Faith No More. If you dont know those bands check them out.
Also this album has many influences from the Butthole Surfers, who are an incredible band and if you like the chilis it is only right to check them out.
THE ALBUM IN 3 WORDS- DEEP. HEAVY. COMPLETE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The mad, the sad and the bad!, 24 Jan 2011
By 
theone&only (March, Cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Hot Minute [U.S. Version] (Audio CD)
This album bridges the gap between the mental funk of the chili peppers early albums and the great songwriting of their newer stuff. There is no spirit of punk shining through here, instead we get psychadelic melancholy pop(if that makes any sense to those that have heard it!??) an intriguing idea indeed! There are some great songs here (Warped, Aeroplane, Coffee Shop, Falling Into Grace), crossed with some not so great ones (Deep Kick, One Big Mob, One Hot Minute). As we know now, the Chili Peppers were up in the air during the recording of this; with missing guitarists and nasty drug habits running amok. It shows. This album is not focussed but who cares? Theres still a load of good quality songs, erratic sounding ones; but as a snapshot of where RHCP were at the time, this serves as a nice look back at the mad days of the band's growing up in public during the 90's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Hot Record, 18 July 2005
This review is from: One Hot Minute [U.S. Version] (Audio CD)
As you all know, this is the album with the loss of John and with Dave Navarro taking his place.
Upon first listening you can tell its a lot heavier, obviously Navarro has influenced the band in some way. One thing I love about the chili peppers is that every album is different to the last. They never repeat themselves. This album is very different and is probably the album where they branch out the most.
For most this is a downpoint in their career, however I wish they would have written a few more albums with Navarro. The whole record flows well, with a great opening track - Warped - this song starts off slow and quiet, then suddendly BAM! the whole thing kicks off into a high-energy funk rock song. Becomes very furious near the end until the song suddenly changes completely (style, instrumentation, I think it even changes key) - an excellent, unexpected end. Sets the scene for the rest of the album really in the fact that its quite experimental (for the chilis) and is quite unpredictable. But brilliant nonetheless.
The following tracks are a blend of funk, rock, heavy rock and some nice acoustic work. Stand out tracks for me are Coffee Shop (great guitar work, chorus and bass solo), One Big Mob (Very funky in the opening passage, changes completely into a spacious breakdown which slowly builds up to kick off to the first part again), Walkabout (Extremely light, funky track. Starts out with some great drumming from Chad and a great riff, nice guitars also) and Transcending (Very slow throughout most of the song, you think it'll be a wind down track being the last but kicks off near the end and absolutely rocks out, a strange but decent close the album). It also includes Pea, just Flea and his bass guitar, singing and playing. Although it seems a bit "filler" at first (since its pretty short), its a nice break from all the heavier stuff.
Also included are the two singles Aeroplane and My Friends which are both excellent songs. The rest of the album is also worth the money, the flow of quality never dips from start to finish and can I just say that the production is spot on. Also I love the cover art, how twisted and strange.. but compelling.
If your after simple Intro-Verse-Chorus-Repeat songs then this isn't the album for you. However if you want to try something a bit different from the ordinary rock then give it a listen, let it grow on you and I'm sure you'll enjoy it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Hot Minute, 4 Oct 2003
By 
Mary (Leeds, W. Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Hot Minute [U.S. Version] (Audio CD)
Though not as popular as albums like Blood Sugar and Mother's Milk, I enjoyed this album. This record is one you have to grow into and listen to it a few times to really appreciate it. People say it's much more heavier because of the presence of Dave Navarro and I suppose it is but don't let that put you off.
The opening song, Warped, has a great guitar riff but at first I didn't like this track. Maybe the blurry lyrics or the noise put me off but once I had listened to it, it turned into one of my favourite tracks. Then Aeroplane came and you can't help but love this tracks with the superb lyrics and chorus, it's truly sublime.
The song Deep Kick isn't one of my favourites; Kiedis speaks the words for the first minute and half then it bursts into life. It turns into a good song but it perhaps it goes on for too long (over 6 minutes).Then comes one of the ballads which link up the whole album. My Friends and Tearjerker are the best slow tracks.
The fifth track has to be one of RHCP's best songs, Coffee Shop.It has fantastic guitar and brillant lyrics like 'searching for the unknown crumb, the crumb' and 'dance like Iggy Pop'. After this superb track is Pea. There's nothing wrong with this song; it's got a good beat and a good time to recover from dancing to the Coffee Shop.
One Big Mob is a good track with the chant 'One big mob aw yeah aw yeah'. After there is Walkabout. This is a great funky track and is cool and simple.
The title track One Hot Minute also took time to grow on me but it's fantastic especially the line 'Sitting in the fi-eerrr'.
Then there is Falling into Grace also a great funky song. It's one of my favourites and the chanting in the background adds to it's greatnss.
Then there comes one of the best tracks; Shallow Be Thy Game. You love this tarch straight away with the guitar intro and the build up to the superb lyrics. The chorus 'You'll never burn me' is exceptional. I've seen it described as the true rock anthem and you can't argue. The final track, Transcending, is a beautiful song to end the album with the second half having a heavier edge.
I can see why some might not like this album but give it a chance. It's not my favourite RHCP album, the fave being Blood Sugar but I wouldn't be without it. It would be in my top three and is worth only ten pounds. A superb album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hidden gem..., 1 Jan 2007
This review is from: One Hot Minute [U.S. Version] (Audio CD)
Typically, people will take this album, have a listen and discard it. Upon first listen, a relative new comer to the Chili Peppers will find it difficult to accept the new sound. Veteran Chili fans will notice the darkness that has seemingly taken in the remaining band members - Anthony, Flea & Chad.

With the departure of John Frusciante, the Red Hot Chili Peppers took on Dave Navarro [of Janes Addiction] and went into a new musical direction. One Hot Minute is an album that takes some getting used to. It has a much heavier feel, probably due to Daves heavy-rock sound and to the general vibe within the Chili Pepper camp. There's a distinct feeling of confusion, loneliness and paranoia in the lyrics. The music is heavier than usual. Anthony's voice often merging into a barrage of sound. Chad's drumming is cited as some of his best ever and Flea's basslines just as excellant.

If you're new to the Chili Peppers, I would avoid buying this album until you've come to appreciate just what they're about and what they've been through.

Musically though, it's extremely strong with little in the way of weak songs. An album for the special occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Jane's Addiction Fan Explains, 30 Sep 2005
This review is from: One Hot Minute [U.S. Version] (Audio CD)
Most of the people who review this album are RHCP fans, normally ones who only discovered them after Californication was released. When I was about 15, I loved Blood Sugar Sex Magik by RHCP, and still think it's a fine record. A more musically mature listener would have to admit though that Ritual De Lo Habitual, by Jane's Addiction, an album I discovered when I was 17 is a much stronger and more artistically worthy work. So the meeting of these two 80's LA bands was always going to be interesting. A lot of the reason this album fails is that the Chilli Peppers couldn't follow up Blood Sugar Sex Magik without descending into cliche (like on Californication where they settled into the seat of elder statesmen of radio friendly soft rock). Any fans of RHCP really ought to ask themselves if they are true fan if they consider Californication a 'return to form'. At least on One Hot Minute the band attempted to take advantage of their new lineup and try a new direction. To be fair, Navarro doesn't fully fit in, in the same way Flea didn't fit it into the Jane's Addiction reunion, because RHCP weren't really an alternative rock band at any point, and Dave Navarro tends to spoil the commercial edge of the RHCP's music. Still, it's miles better than Californication, which completely failed to deliver a proper funk song (Aeroplane and Walkabout make a mockery of Get On Top and Around The World). Now go and listen to Ritual De Lo Habitual by Jane's Addiction if you haven't yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm..., 4 Nov 2002
This review is from: One Hot Minute [U.S. Version] (Audio CD)
What we have here is a classic example of an album that is destined to divide opinion for all eternity, even amongst the group's most loyal fans (other examples of this type of album could include Metallica's Load & Reload and Miles Davis' Get Up With It). In some ways, it's certainly more progressive than BSSM, combining mid-song time signature changes, psychedelia and bizzaro lyrics with Dave Navarro's uninspired-yet-prodigious guitar shredding, which pushes the album in a more metallic direction; yet, in other ways, it retains many of the Chilli's signature sounds (indeed, the ballads, such as My Friends, could be interpreted as blatant attempts to retain the audience the band gained with the success of Under the Bridge). For an album that was apparently such a downer to make, the overall mood is decidedly up, and there are numerous high points, many of which allow Flea to demonstrate his mastery of the bass (Aeroplane and Coffee Shop being too such examples). However, Dave Navarro (despite being a fantastic guitarist) never quite seems to gel with the rest of the group, giving one the impression that the album would have turned out largely more favourable had John Frusciante not been away in the pits of heroin addiction at the time.
This is really an album you need to listen to before making your mind up; there's not much I can write here that would be of much use, except that if you are a more recent Chilis convert (i.e. you only own Californicaiton and/or By The Way and you're looking to pick up their back catalogue), you may find the slightly more prog-metallic sound of this album jars considerably with their more melodic approach of recent times. This album does lean quite heavily on the Chili's signature funk-punk-metal sound, so if you were never really a fan of this, it's probably best to steer clear. My advice would be - try before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Hot Minute, 20 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: One Hot Minute [U.S. Version] (Audio CD)
Too many people decry this album for breaking the renowned Chili's lineup of John Frusciante, Anthony Kiedis, Chad Smith and Flea. For this album (1995) Dave Navarro formerly of Jane's Addiction took John's place and the Chili's sound did change a little for it. The funk so evident in albums like Blood Sugar Sex Magik and Freakey Styley takes a back seat here to make way for a heavier guitar part and more hard-rock sound. It's a testament to the Chilis that they don't lose their individuality and are still relatively recognisable as the Uplift Mofo Party Band when they could easily have become Jane's Addiction MKII. The starting track 'Warped' is fantastic and one of the highlights of the album (also it featured the most wacky & daring of RHCP videos to date when it was released as a single)the intro and the vocal delivery are refreshingly wild. The strangest track award goes to 'Deep Kick' which has a spoken-word intro and great lyrics about crazy living. It's a good song although people have claimed (possibly with good reason) that it's a sign of the Chili's heroin addled mentality. It's a good indicator of many of the songs on One Hot Minute though as it changes throughout, appearing to have been broken into skillfully moulded sections by the creators. The most moving song in my opinion is 'Tearjerker', widely regarded as a tribute to the Chili's fallen friend Kurt Cobain. Other standout tracks are 'Shallow be thy Game' which blasts organised religion and 'Coffee Shop' which was released as a fantastic single. Pea is good too so long as you don't have any issues with unneccesary swearing whereas My Friends seems too much like a half-hearted follow-up to Under The Bridge (single release 1993 off of Blood Sugar Sex Magik 1991) for my liking. Not the Chili's best and a bit of an odditity this album is the sign of a band who were and still are willing to push and challenge their own constraints and imaginations rather than allowing themselves to become bogged down in genres and precidents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's John gone?, 21 July 2004
This review is from: One Hot Minute [U.S. Version] (Audio CD)
This album is great, and Dave Navarro is a cool guitarist, but you can really hear the difference between this and the albums featuring John Frusciante. The tracks are
1.WARPED:- At first I hated this song, but it really grows on you and is now one of my favourites! Chad shows his real talents on drums in this track.
2.AEROPLANE:- This song is definately thee best track on the album! Flea's bass line is so funky throughout, but especially just before the kids start to sing towards the end. amazing! Probably one of the best chili's songs ever!
3.DEEP KICK:- This song starts off with Anthony Kiedis just talking about rubbish for ages with a myserious tune in the background but then suddenly dives into a frenzy of crazy funky rock! I like it!
4.MY FRIENDS:- Very nice acoustic guitar and hauntingish lyrics. weird video though. Overall, i like the song, but not as much as some of the other ones.
5.COFFEE SHOP:- Brilliant! Absurd lyrics, catchy tune, wild drums, flea-style bass, what more can I say?
6.PEA:- Just flea singing with the bass and. A cute little song against homophobes. Don't play it too loud while your parents are around!
7.ONE BIG MOB:- ("Aw yea aw yea!") Such a cool song! Starts off big and noisy and then fades away into a really soft thing with A baby crying for some of it which is really annoying, but then you can hear the drums in the distance and it slowly builds up back to big and noisy again! Yay!
8.WALKABOUT:- This is such a groovy little song! It's great for chiling! Anthony's voice sends shivers up your spine - in a good way though!
9.TEARJERKER:- This song is OK, but a little too...Dramatized?
10.ONE HOT MINUTE:- The title track of the album isn't the best and the guitar part thet just keeps going on and on and on at the end is annoying, but other than that it's good! I like the lyrics!
11.FALLING INTO GRACE:- This track is certainly different than anything they have done before, but then isn't everything? This song is funky though. Kristen Vigard (Who does the backing vocals on this song) does a lot for "Mothers Milk" aswell.
12.SHALLOW BE THY NAME:- This song is powerful! Especially the part when it says "You'll never burn me". Really cool.
13.TRANSCENDING:- The last track of the album is really good. Towards the end, it sounds really pained. If your in a really really bad mood with everyone, Play this full volume and jump everywhere and scream! - it makes you feel better! - Honestly it does!
So as you can see, There isn't one bad review up there so Buy this album and see for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Hot Minute [U.S. Version]
One Hot Minute [U.S. Version] by Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews