Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best
This, along with Angel Dust, is the pinacle of FNM's output. It includes a wide variety of styles (wide, even for *this* band) and contains both FNM's most melodic and heaviest tracks. I think many people who slate this album assume it must be second-rate as Jim Martin isn't on it. Pah! The guitar playing throughout is incredible--in fact, the best of any of their...
Published on 14 April 2001 by Keefaz

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mr. bungle meets faith no more
FNM were a very transient band at this stage and Mike Patton's influence, which had always been strong, took over completely. Mr. Bungle and FNM had never been good bedfellows and the whole album seems to be a mishmash of both. Unfortunately, it doesn't quite work as the album stagnates in a fuzzy halfway house which doesn't capture the brilliance of either. Having...
Published on 8 Aug 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 14 April 2001
This, along with Angel Dust, is the pinacle of FNM's output. It includes a wide variety of styles (wide, even for *this* band) and contains both FNM's most melodic and heaviest tracks. I think many people who slate this album assume it must be second-rate as Jim Martin isn't on it. Pah! The guitar playing throughout is incredible--in fact, the best of any of their LP's. 'Last To Know' is one the most majestic songs ever sung by the superb Mike Patton, and there are loads more really excellent tunes here.
If you like Angel Dust, you *must* get this album, it's as simple as that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Untouchable Statement, 6 Feb 2009
By 
A truly incredible album. One of those records that completely reorientates your musical landscape, which instructs you in new ways of sonic pleasure, which conditions your way of thinking about music forever.

Expunging the last remnants of 'funk' in their repertoire, this album marks Faith No More's colonisation and reconstruction of metal, hard rock, and lounge music. There is no better exemplar of rolling aggression than 'The Gentle Art Of Making Enemies', no more satisfying screaming that on 'Ugly In The Morning' and few superior blasts of punk energy than 'Digging The Grave'. Mike Patton's unique lyrical skills infuse 'Caralho Voador' and 'What A Day'. The sheer diversity of genre and tempo, which also bears his stamp, confound expectations with wit and panache.

But the joy of 'King For A Day...' is that it exceeds all these specific moments of brilliance. It is a manifesto on rock-metal, a statement of what is possible that noone will ever really touch. The bands who claim to be inspired by Faith No More are all pale shadows, farcical attempts at mimicry.

Once you know 'King For A Day...' it will not be hard to understand why. Faith No More themselves could never remake this sound. They had to do something else, something equally brilliant. No, this is a truly unique album, born of a moment that can never be reclaimed. That is what makes it perfect on its own terms. Accept it, live it, love it.

Essential cuts: 'Ricochet', 'Evidence', 'The Gentle Art Of Making Enemies', 'Caralho Voador', 'Digging The Grave', 'King For A Day', 'What A Day' and 'Just A Man'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best.. Album.. Ever... Almost., 23 Dec 2004
You would think that after giving The Real Thing and Angel Dust to the world that the quality of FNM's output would start to slip... well think again. This album stands out from it's predecessors due to the stellar guitar stylings of Mike Patton's, Mr Bungle cohort Trey Spruance. He gives the band's sound a fantastic makeover and it was a pity that he didn't produce more music with FNM.
From the fantastic chugging guitar-fuelled vengeance anthem "the Gentle Art Of Making Enemies" to the lifting, gospel based "Just A Man" via the sordidness incarnate "Evidence" there is not one bad track on this album, much like The Real Thing and Angel Dust. Albums don't come much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still great, 11 Mar 2001
I understand what some reviewers are saying when they dislike the album becuase it is a bit of 'Faith no more' mixed in with 'Mr Bungle, but is that such a problem? Mr Bungle is classic music as well. Its true that Mike Patton does scream alot and some of the lyrics are very strange eg. during 'ugly in the morning' Patton screams out 'Dont look at me, im ugly in the morning' about 10 times in a row. But he does it so well that you cant help but get drawn in by it. The album has so many absolutely mind blowing songs. It starts off with 'Get out' which is full of energy and i love the drumming on it. 'Richochet' is just a beutiful song, and so is 'Evidence. There are Many hard and agressive songs such as 'The gentle art of Making enemies', 'Cuckoo For Caca', 'Ugly In The Morning', 'Digging The Grave', and 'What A Day', all of which are fantastic and really make we want to just jump around. One of my favourites is 'King for a day' its just truely amazing, it builds up slowly and beautifully into an amazing climax then gradually dies down. It all ends with the wonderful song 'Just A Man' which is a nice calming note to end on. Lets just say your getting your moneys worth here. People say this was Faith's worst album, it just goes to show how much was expected from this tallented band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars in my top 5 albums ever....., 19 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This is A MAGNIFICENT ALBUM.
If anyone compares this or ever considers comparing this as a soundalike to Mr.Bungle don't trust them ever again. I also am a fan of Mr. Bungle and they don't sound like FNM one little bit (except for Patton's vocals).
This is by far their best work and it shows with tunes like Evidence and King For A Day.
Some compositions are beautiful, melodic, some eerie and create certain emotions and some just pound the crap out of your brain. Every one likes a good dose of aural brain-pounding!
Heres a track by track review:
1.Get Out;A rocker, fast and incredably catchy.
2.Ricochet;Damn good tune, mid paced, catchy, and amazing vocals.
3.Evidence;my favourite FNM tune, just magnificent. a slow jazzy number which justsucks you in.
4.Gentle Art Of Making Enemies;slightly mental, damn good song, speedy.
5.Star A.D;slow jazzy song with a sax solo.
6.Cookoo For Caca;hmmmm...do you with to heara more mental song(if one exists! maybe Mr.Bungle)
7.Carlaho Vohador;slow sleazy ballad,soft on the ears and a good song none the less.
8.Ugly In The Morning;starts off normal........ends with Mike Patton sounding like he's choking on his own phlegm......don't let that put you off though, its a good song!
9.Digging The Grave;the immediate single, catchy, punchy rock song.
10.Take This Bottle;another slow soft one, brilliant chorus, brilliant vocals, brilliant song.
11.King For A Day;like a depressing downward spiral, creates strong feelings. starts with "this is the best party i've been to.." ends with "don't let me die with that silly look in my eyes". Amazing song and atmsophere.
12.What A Day;Short,sweet,heavy and a damn fine, catchy song.
13.The Last To Know;probably the least memorable song on the album but good none the less.
14.Just A Man;one of my fav FNM songs, a soaring ballad that erupts into a crunchy chorus and keeps climbing and climbing until it fades out. The BEST album closer ever made(on a par with Whitewater by Kyuss).
So this album should appeal to you if you like brilliant songwriting, amazing vocal ranges, a mix of rock and ballads and music that was completely ahead of it's time(thats why FNM weren't famous), no-one was ready for them, no-ones brains had evolved to understand this masterpiece in rock(and any sort of..) music!!!
A BRILLIANT SOUL INSPIRING ALBUM!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heresy?, 28 May 2003
This review is from: King for a Day Fool for a Life (Audio CD)
ok so this may seem like heresy to most Faith fans out there but i honestly think that this is not only the band's best album but also one of the best albums by anyone ever. of the uhndreds of cds i own this is one i have played since it came out 8 years ago. It is probably the most diverse album i have ever heard, as it ranges from the screeching metal of 'cuckoo for caca' to the gospel of 'just a man'. i must mention also that possibly the greatest song ever written by anyone is on this album in the form of 'evidence'. This song has never failed to make me stop whatever i was thinking of at the time upon hearing it. It is absolutely perfect. anyway its time to stop reading this and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER MASTERPIECE, 3 May 2001
By A Customer
Forget all the reviews you here about this album which are accusing it of being a mix between FNM and Mr Bungle. Just because FNM have dared to be different again, people instantly criticise them. It would great to see Korn or Limp Bizkit produce something so different and unique, but that just wouldn't happen. King For A Day... is an album which contains no duff songs and a great range in musical styles from the sheer heaviness of Cuckoo for Caca and What a Day to the mellowness of Evidence and Caralho Voador, this album has it all. In my eyes it is the peak of an illustrious career from the rock godfathers of them all. Anyone expecting 14 songs written to the same format should look elsewhere but if you've got half a brain or any common sense you will know that something special was produced in this record. Any FNM fans without it are missing the pinnacle of every album they made. It contains the good aspects of all the others, and don't get me wrong, I love every FNM album. Instead of releasing the Greatest Hits album, they should just have re-released this. Ricochet is the best piece of music ever written by anyone or anything. A real rock classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a concept album, allegedly..., 17 April 2006
By 
Mr. J. P. Young (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Any of youse folks heard this theory before?: "King For A Day..." has a loose storyline running throughout it about a guy who commits a few petty crimes, ends up in jail (being America, the sentence is way harsher and longer than is necessary), has a seriously bad time while inside; getting sexually assaulted and so forth, and eventually commits suicide. Cheerful stuff, huh? Look at the artwork, consider the album and song titles, read some of the lyrics ('Cuckoo For Caca' suddenly becomes even sicker and more evil than before, doesn't it?) and I think you'll find this is pretty much true.

Which brings me to my point about how this album, while sparser sounding, has actually had every bit as much thought and creative effort put into it as "Angel Dust", despite what the dumbass haters say (whom I seemed to recall whined that "Angel Dust" wasn't enough like "The Real Thing" and have now changed their tune and started whining that this album isn't enough like "Angel Dust"...duuuhh!).

In any case, any album that can sound like Michael Jackson one moment, then Leonard Cohen, then Isaac Hayes, then Jane's Addiction, then Therapy?, and then the Boredoms, has GOT to be worth all the time and money in the world. What was Britain churning out at the time of this album's release? Sleeper, Shed Seven, 'Wake Up, Boo!'...case closed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars King for a lifetime, 27 Jan 2008
By 
After what is widely regarded as their masterpiece, Angel Dust, Faith No More had a tall order following it up. Angel Dust had taken the wacky experimentation more or less to its limit; as an album, it's brilliant, but slightly dated, its synths and production very much of its time. In many ways, then, King For A Day, Fool For A Lifetime is the first modern Faith No More album.

While it would be impossible to better or maybe even equal Angel Dust, King For A Day... has certainly aged a lot better than its predecessors, despite the loss of guitarist Bick Sick Ugly Jim Martin. Mike Patton, settled in to his role as frontman and linchpin of the band, whilst still eclectic, no longer seeks to push boundaries as far as he once did. This means that King For A Day... hangs together well, its consistent, if slightly flat, production style complimenting the varied music contained within. The band are heavier than ever before here, approaching punk on opener 'Get Out' or the visceral 'Digging The Grave'.

However, whilst not as mixed as Angel Dust, the album contains a lot of diversions into alternative genres, and it's a testament to the band, but particularly Mike Patton, that they can so easily turn from one genre to the next. They swing from 'Take This Bottle,' a country ballad, to the wah-pedal funk of 'Evidence,' to the seven-minute, prog-rock epic of 'King For A Day,' to the beautiful album closer, the gospel chorus of 'Just A Man.' Lyrically, Patton is sharp as ever too, both witty and funny, at one point declaring that 'it's always funny until someone gets hurt/and then it's just hilarious.'

All in all, a much more complete album than Angel Dust; not as head-wreckingly brilliant, not as eclectic, but certainly an able follow-up to a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this!, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Takes me back to my teenage years!! This is a brilliant album - would really recommend it. What else can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King for a Day Fool for a Life
King for a Day Fool for a Life by Faith No More (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews