Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars34
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2004
Even though "The Hits 2" is just one-third of the set "The Hits/The B-Sides," this single disc compilation has enough brilliant material to stand entirely on its own. It's a freaky ride through the darker side of Prince's music during the Warner Brothers years, and at least half of these singles have "masterpiece" written all over them. Groundbreaking tracks like the eyebrow-raising "Head," the flawless "Kiss," and "Little Red Corvette" (one of the great American rock singles) show that Prince was one of the most vital musicians of the 1980s. Not only was he prolific (he released one album every calendar year), but he's the only artist in the 1980s to release FOUR classic albums in one decade: "Dirty Mind," "1999," "Purple Rain," and "Sign O the Times." Madonna couldn't do it. Neither could Bruce Springsteen. Michael Jackson came close, but still no cigar. Even Prince's "lesser" singles like "Sexy M.F." and "Cream" had more to offer than much of Top 40 radio. Of course, diehard fans are strongly recommended to get his 3 disc set that has a slew of his b-sides, but first-time listeners can't go wrong with picking this one up.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
The funky and horny, if haphazardly arranged, The Hits 1 offered many reasons why this pint-sized pop star was so popular in the 1980s. This broadly chronological second installment is even better, living up to its title with the likes of: 'Little Red Corvette'; 'I Would Die 4 U'; 'Raspberry Beret'; 'Kiss'; 'U Got the Look', and the full-length, nearly 9 minute version, of 'Purple Rain'. Whilst the trio of 'Cream', 'Sexy M.F.' and 'Gett Off', remind this listener that this notoriously bad speller still had some real pulling power in the early part of the 1990s. However, the gimmicky 2 new tracks - 'Peach' and 'Pope' - that are at the rear of this highly-sexed 1993 compilation don't stand up at all well in such august company, and their inclusion is all the more baffling when successful singles such as 'Girls & Boys', 'My Name Is Prince', and 'Batdance', didn't make the running order.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2003
Up until a few months ago, the only Prince songs i knew were 'Kiss', '1999', and 'The most beautiful girl in the world'. Then my dad played this cd during a long car journey, and i was hooked. Usually when i listento CDs, there are a few songs i skip because they just dont do it 4 me, but EVERY SINGLE SONG is fantastic. But the best of the best on this album are Little Red Corvette, Pope, Sexy MF, Delirious, and of course, the brilliant If i was your Girlfriend. If your not a Prince fan, this CD will definetly convert you! and if u r a fan, then buy this now! Howver, word of warning- prince has sex on the brain constantly, as this work of art shows! Buy and for goodness sake, enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 1999
Here it is - more from the Purple Prince himself. This is the second disc in a three-disc box set. It is my favourite of the three. The first one is fabulous as well, it's called The Hits - Volume 1, but the third album was a disappointment. This album has my very favourites on it. Out of 18 songs, 11 are well-known chart toppers. It starts a little slow in that the first five songs are not the most popular ones, but the saying "saving the best for last" applies here for sure. Starting with track six, you start in the eighties with "Delirious", " Little red corvette ", "I would die 4 U" and "Raspberry beret ". Next you move right into Prince's hits from the 90's such as; "Kiss" (the remake of a Tom Jones hit), "U got the look " (a duet with Sheena Easton), "Get off", "Cream" and my all time favourite, "Purple rain". This is one of my favourite albums and I feel sure it would be one of your favourites too!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
One of the most prolific artists around. At first it seemed a little strange that prince would release 2 albums as his hits... I mean does he really have that many... and the answer is yes. Admittedly there were a fair few that I had hadn't head before but it was definitely worth buying both CD's to get a good comprehensice Prince collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
I'm going to miss him. I was really sad at the news of his passing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
CD arrived in very good condition and inline with my expectations
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
Better than the first one as I knew all of them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
A great collection from this legend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
Excellent. A must for any prince fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)