Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars More Royal Performances from Prince
Here it is - more from the Purple Prince himself. This is the second disc in a three-disc box set. It is my favourite of the three. The first one is fabulous as well, it's called The Hits - Volume 1, but the third album was a disappointment. This album has my very favourites on it. Out of 18 songs, 11 are well-known chart toppers. It starts a little slow in that...
Published on 16 Nov 1999

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great.
This is a bit of a strange one. For the dedicated Prince fan there is very little new material here, and for the occasional listener, it may be a little bit of a let down. While tracks like "Purple Rain" and 1986's classic "Kiss" (which Tom Jones later had a hit with) will please those who enjoyed some of his bigger hits, tracks like "Do Me...
Published on 16 May 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars More Royal Performances from Prince, 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hits 2 (Audio CD)
Here it is - more from the Purple Prince himself. This is the second disc in a three-disc box set. It is my favourite of the three. The first one is fabulous as well, it's called The Hits - Volume 1, but the third album was a disappointment. This album has my very favourites on it. Out of 18 songs, 11 are well-known chart toppers. It starts a little slow in that the first five songs are not the most popular ones, but the saying "saving the best for last" applies here for sure. Starting with track six, you start in the eighties with "Delirious", " Little red corvette ", "I would die 4 U" and "Raspberry beret ". Next you move right into Prince's hits from the 90's such as; "Kiss" (the remake of a Tom Jones hit), "U got the look " (a duet with Sheena Easton), "Get off", "Cream" and my all time favourite, "Purple rain". This is one of my favourite albums and I feel sure it would be one of your favourites too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great., 16 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hits 2 (Audio CD)
This is a bit of a strange one. For the dedicated Prince fan there is very little new material here, and for the occasional listener, it may be a little bit of a let down. While tracks like "Purple Rain" and 1986's classic "Kiss" (which Tom Jones later had a hit with) will please those who enjoyed some of his bigger hits, tracks like "Do Me Baby" and "Delirious" may prove unpalatable. To such fans I would recommend that they buy the "Purple Rain" album and "The Hits Vol. 1" before embarking on other Prince purchases. However, as a big Prince fan myself, looking through purple-tinted glasses as I do, I would still say this album has some excellent material on it, tracks such as "Raspberry Beret" being among the best the quirky pocket dynamo has ever recorded. As such, it's a good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Play! Play! Play!, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hits 2 (Audio CD)
Mixed bag! It took a couple to get into this range of Prince numbers

However there's no doubt that Prince was a pioneer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prince Part 2, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hits 2 (Audio CD)
One of the most prolific artists around. At first it seemed a little strange that prince would release 2 albums as his hits... I mean does he really have that many... and the answer is yes. Admittedly there were a fair few that I had hadn't head before but it was definitely worth buying both CD's to get a good comprehensice Prince collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Darker Side of His Royal Badness, 12 Jun 2004
By 
Burjiz (Schaffhausen, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hits 2 (Audio CD)
Even though "The Hits 2" is just one-third of the set "The Hits/The B-Sides," this single disc compilation has enough brilliant material to stand entirely on its own. It's a freaky ride through the darker side of Prince's music during the Warner Brothers years, and at least half of these singles have "masterpiece" written all over them. Groundbreaking tracks like the eyebrow-raising "Head," the flawless "Kiss," and "Little Red Corvette" (one of the great American rock singles) show that Prince was one of the most vital musicians of the 1980s. Not only was he prolific (he released one album every calendar year), but he's the only artist in the 1980s to release FOUR classic albums in one decade: "Dirty Mind," "1999," "Purple Rain," and "Sign O the Times." Madonna couldn't do it. Neither could Bruce Springsteen. Michael Jackson came close, but still no cigar. Even Prince's "lesser" singles like "Sexy M.F." and "Cream" had more to offer than much of Top 40 radio. Of course, diehard fans are strongly recommended to get his 3 disc set that has a slew of his b-sides, but first-time listeners can't go wrong with picking this one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic album !, 9 Jan 2004
By 
Mr. Naveed H. Siddiqui (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hits 2 (Audio CD)
A greatest hits album in the true sense of phrase, this has a feel that a lot of current greatest hits collections releases can't match due to thier 'manufactured' nature.

Prince The Hits Vol.1 also a good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad song on this album, 14 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hits 2 (Audio CD)
Up until a few months ago, the only Prince songs i knew were 'Kiss', '1999', and 'The most beautiful girl in the world'. Then my dad played this cd during a long car journey, and i was hooked. Usually when i listento CDs, there are a few songs i skip because they just dont do it 4 me, but EVERY SINGLE SONG is fantastic. But the best of the best on this album are Little Red Corvette, Pope, Sexy MF, Delirious, and of course, the brilliant If i was your Girlfriend. If your not a Prince fan, this CD will definetly convert you! and if u r a fan, then buy this now! Howver, word of warning- prince has sex on the brain constantly, as this work of art shows! Buy and for goodness sake, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars prince 2, 10 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hits 2 (Audio CD)
prince hits volume 2 i boughtv prince hits vol i so decided to buy the other hits vol 2 what a great buy as usual prince is brilliant at what he does
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hits 2
The Hits 2 by Prince (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews