Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lost Classic
Superstar Carwash is GENIUS!! Incredibly it wasn't a commercial success, bad record company promotion being a probable reason. I have owned this album for many years now (I'm a diehard Goos fan) and I know every single lyric sung on every song off by heart, because they are so well thought out and meaningful. All the songs are fantastic and are creatively diverse, yet...
Published on 23 Dec. 2003

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
RUBBISH
Published 4 months ago by colin p


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lost Classic, 23 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Superstar Car Wash (Audio CD)
Superstar Carwash is GENIUS!! Incredibly it wasn't a commercial success, bad record company promotion being a probable reason. I have owned this album for many years now (I'm a diehard Goos fan) and I know every single lyric sung on every song off by heart, because they are so well thought out and meaningful. All the songs are fantastic and are creatively diverse, yet they manage to work seamlessly together like a timeless novel. You have the melodic pop-rock tracks such as 'Fallin Down', 'Cuz You're Gone' and 'Girl Right Next to Me', mixed with Robby Takac's punkier material (he shines on this album with the magnificent 'Lucky Star' especially). The whole recording is a highlight, I cannot pick out individual tracks because the quality is consistant. Production sounds typically early 90's (VERY epic and glossy), but somehow it suits the songs and gives them power. The drum sound is superb and cuts through the mix like a knife, guitars are powerful and stadium-sized....a clear improvement over the production of their previous albums that came before this. And the first album where John and Robby's songwriting skills shine through with an air of maturity and class.
Superstar Carwash is my personal favourite album by the Goo Goo Dolls as it combines their raw early sound with their later commercial sound to brilliant effect. But they certainly haven't disappointed me with the follow-ups to this; I love 'A Boy Named Goo', 'Dizzy Up the Girl' and 'Gutterflower'. Each album has a different meaning for me.
If you are a lover of GOOD MUSIC then buy Superstar Carwash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is just great.., 26 Nov. 2002
By 
J. Osborne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Superstar Car Wash (Audio CD)
i own a lot of albums, more than i should have for my age anyway. but of everything this is possibly one of the best, if not the best one i own. and no i dont have a poor cd collection.
after originally buying dizzy up the girl, it took me a while to get anything else by the goos. "a boy named goo" was on extortionate pricing at the time as it was only available on import, so i found "superstar carwash", didnt like the look of the cover but the shop owner said it was good so i gave it a go.
after later purchasing "a boy named goo" im so glad i got this one first. it is an epic album, EVERY track has outstanding, meaningful lyrics. and as well as that it has the punk edge they had built on with the previous two albums at its best.
Each song has its special quality from the blazing opener "Fallin' Down" right through to the ending "So Far Away". A review cant tell you much and a lot of people would read and ignore, but if you read this and are thinking about buying this album, you should. It has ups and downs, not in the song sense but the sense of how you feel. Theres the punk and then theres the songs with the powerful lyrics and humming rhythm guitar. It makes you look at things differently in my opinion.
if you see it, buy it, you wont be disappointed. as the other reviewers have said, this should have been a lot more popular..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album by the Goo Goo Dolls (In my opinion), 8 Dec. 2000
This review is from: Superstarcarwash (Audio CD)
I own all six Goo Goo Dolls albums, and in my opinion this is by far the strongest. Originally released in 1993, it was their fourth album (following 'Goo Goo Dolls' 1987, 'Jed' 1989 and 'Hold Me Up' 1991.) I love this album, every song is individual, featuring lead vocals by both Johnny and Robby. I feel that the top fove songs, in no particular order, would be... 'We Are The Normal', 'On The Lie', 'Lucky Star', 'Girl Right Next To Me' and 'Domino'. [NB - I do not know if it is a misprint on the site or correct (as the CD is a re-release) but track 6 is 'Domino' on the original, and 'Dissconnected' is on 'A Boy Named Goo']
This is a phenomenal album, which did not have much commercial success at the time. Here is an example of the 'amazingness' (hmm) of the album in the song 'Lucky Star'...
'If I had an hourglass, I'd save the grains of time I spent with you'
If you like 'Dizzy Up The Girl' (I name this album, as it is the only one people in the UK appear to know!) you will love 'SuperstarCarwash'. I mean, you will also love the other albums, but BUY THIS ONE NOW!!! It ROCKS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 19 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Superstarcarwash (Audio CD)
From the churning guitar riff opening first track Fallin' Down, you know you're in for a great album. Each of the 14 tracks offers excellent vocals, guitar solos and the catchiest lushest choruses ever!! My favourite songs here would be Girl Right Next to Me with its bouncy beat and SUPERB guitar solo near the end. John sounds great as ever. I love Domino, a track which starts off quite hard rocky and then breaks into the chorus, with Robby on main vocals and John providing backing harmony. They sound really good together, and its a delight to listen to them do what they do best. Sorry to go on about guitars, but John's playing really is something on almost every track here. We Are the Normal is probably one of my fave songs ever, it begins with gentle strings and strumming and is absolutely beautiful. Then John's voice breaks through 'its a beautiful day i heard everybody say....' and it is just breathtaking. He sings 'WE ARE THE NORMAL' in the soaring chorus with real conviction. This is one of the most gorgeously emotional songs you will ever hear. Stop the World, Cuz You're Gone and Another Second Time Around are also highlights. I would advise anyone to get this album, it is proper life affirming pop. If you loved Boy Named Goo, you will adore this album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An unpolished diamond., 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superstar Car Wash (Audio CD)
Before finding fame in the mid-90's, Goo Goo Dolls were a more punkier, pop-rock band and Superstar Car Wash is a decent example of their early sound and also shows the depth of song writing and skill of penning a good tune which would reap massive rewards later on down the line. The album starts strongly with Fallin' Down, with its punk rock riffing and catchy chorus setting the tone for the rest of the album, the first four/five songs in particular being a strong set of tunes and We Are The Normal showing that they're not afraid to use strings at this early stage in their career although this probably caused division amongst the bands so called "hardcore" early fan base, it showed Goo Goo Dolls are more than about bashing out three and a half minute pop-punk songs.
Although the production isn't great and the drums sound a bit dodgy sometimes, plus, at fourteen songs, its a couple of songs to long, Superstar Car Wash showed the Goo Goo Dolls as a promising, upcoming band. A little rough around the edges but capable of writing a few decent tunes which is something they would excel at a few years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars is this album really 9 years old???, 14 Jan. 2002
By 
altheplasterer@hotmail.com (barnsley,south yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Superstarcarwash (Audio CD)
from the power binding riffs(fallin'down,cuz you're gone,stop the world)to the haunting well written(we are the normal,girl right next to me)this album is a must in every aspiring rock star wannabe's collection.superstar carwash is almost annoyingly faboulas! johnny rips out the solo's to complete perfection while robbie's base sounds fresh with his raw voice adding a different aspect to a band set to rule the world! must be played very loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Goo Goo Dolls Album!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 25 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. G. T. Blackmore "Gizmo1981" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Superstar Car Wash (Audio CD)
This is the Goo Goo Dolls at thier best, before they went too poppy and comercial, this still rocks, still has punk roots and every song on here is killer. This is thier No: 1 Album!!!.. A must buy.!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album in the world ever!, 6 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Superstarcarwash (Audio CD)
This album is, in my opinion, the Goo Goo Doll's strongest yet with catchy and rocking songs all the way through. It's my most played CD, I can't get enough of the irresistable power pop present here, with songs like 'Fallin' Down', 'Lucky Star', 'Cuz You're Gone', 'Girl Right Next to Me' and 'On The Lie'. It's even hard to pick out favourite tracks because they are all so good. I can't believe it didn't get the commercial success it needed; it must have been a lack of promotion because there's no way this album should have been so hidden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go goo goo.., 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superstarcarwash (Audio CD)
Another great album from the Goo Goo Dolls and at a great price too. I was a late fan but am glad I found them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excelent, 7 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Superstarcarwash (Audio CD)
this album is an excelent album. songs like fallin down, stop the world, domino, and we are the normal is the stuff of what every compilation tape should contain! buy this album, especially if you are a goo goo dolls fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Superstar Car Wash
Superstar Car Wash by Goo Goo Dolls (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews