Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 27 May 2011
As much as Body count get labelled as a Metal or Rock band I hear a sound not so far removed from the Modern day Exploited or a better produced Black Flag...this CD owes more in tempo and rage to Hardcore Punk than much of the Grunge or Thrash bands that were around at the time.
It's a great CD of fine social comment and sheer's one I hadn't played in a while but on doing so I realised it should get an airing more often from the witty social comment of KKK bitch through to the Punk murder ballad Mama's gonna die tonight.
It's the album that keyed me more into Hip Hop than other contemparies such as Public Enemy...this isn't Hip Hop but as that's Ice T's day job the lyrical flair and delivery on this made me check out that side of his work too..the vocal however isn't really in the rap arena and as such this sounds more Rollins Band than RATM..a fine debut..successive CD's by the band have been strong but in many ways this is their standalone one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 27 September 2008
For those who've never heard BC before, imagine 1980's style thrash metal and Punk rock, combined with vocals from rapper Ice-T. Although the real star of the show here in my opinion is guitarist Ernie-C, as there are so many memorable riffs on this album, you'll probably get a sense of deja-vu.

Apparently very controversial when first released, the music itself still sounds timeless. If you're a fan of rap metal, this is the album that pre-ceeded it all, the original, and it's an absolute classic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 2 December 2000
Body Count
This album is a great example of "freedom of speech". The music has a unique angle that has only in recent years been acknowledged through new artists. I don't think any tracks from this particular album would appear on commercial radio. The album is a cross between rock & rap, with its heavy raucous baselines and moody explicit lyrics; the raw feel that this album produces takes you immediately to air guitar city central. Most of the tracks on this album tell their stories with attitude. The Body Count style could be compared to bands such as Clawfinger or Limp Biscuit, a sort of Anthrax/Rainbow meets Ice T.
Body Count is a brilliant album if you are not easily offended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2011
Good old Body Count. This was the real stuff. Forget about NWA, Cyprus Hill and Dr. Dre-Dre T-Man Honk Da Dodo (OK, I just made him up, but you do get the point). Body Count sounded as if they actually meant it!

Communism had just fallen, the Gulf War had ended in an American victory, the New World Order was in the making, world history was coming to a glorious end...and absolutely nothing had changed in the United Snakes of Amerika. (Dan Quayle was vice-president.) A month after the release of this album, the LA Riots erupted.

I readily admit that I loved every minute of this album in my younger, radical and more anarchistic days. This album is hard core in more ways than one. We're talking STO, RCYB, Love & Rage, Slingshot, The Shadow.... This was their kind of music, and revolution was in the air. Not the airy, hippie "revolution" of flower power, but the real, raw stuff. Amerika's finest were finally going to get what was coming to them. The New World Order was going down.

It didn't, of course. Instead we got...Bill Clinton! Still, I admit a certain nostalgia when listening to Ice T and his Black (!) trash metal band Body Count. Apparently, "Cop Killer" is still a no-no in the United Snakes, but the rest of the songs seem to be included on this "official" version of the eponymous debut album. For a time, another song created quite some stir as well, "Momma's gotta die tonight". Actually, the song is a protest against *reverse* racism, but it can be difficult to get, especially if you don't listen carefully to the lyrics...

Being a (reasonably) White boy, it was this anti-racist, colour-blind angle that got me hooked on Body Count. I never been much of a fan of the Nation of Islam or the African United People Kwanzaa Uhuru Swahili Party. Most such groups are on the CIA payroll anyway.


OK, you may interpret this review any way you see fit. Incidentally, I liked "New Jack City", too!

And now, sports...
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2012
This album is very Explicit, but in a good way first listen to people that are not fans or just a first listen you'd think that they're a racist group but actually listen properly they're against racism and they tell us to stop being racist in a funny way [listen to Momma's Gotta Die Tonight] you'll see what i mean, KKK Bitch is another great song of theirs as well as Freedom Of Speech [the lyrics are true] in today's world. ICE -T is definatley suited for Thrash Metal this album is superb if you like Body Count and this album then get their other albums!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 7 July 2006
You have to admire Ice-T's balls for releasing this album. At the time he was one of the most respected Artists in the industry.... and he was signed to 'Warner'!

The aftermath of this record was death threats, blame for the LA Riots, even the White House quoting it and of course being dropped by Warner when Ice-T wouldn't back down. Although Cop Killer is now missing from the album (as it was quickly dropped after all the media hype by Warner) it still doesn't lack any of the punch and still hasn't dated over ten years after it's initial release.

Body Count changed Metal, lead the way for bands like Limp Biscuit and RATM, and thankfully have a new album out tis summer! Long may they continue!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2011
This cd is one that I have been after for a while, so it was great to find a copy advertised. It arrived quickly and in very secure packaging-that I was impressed with-and on playing it for the first time, found that it was in as good a condition as advertised. It is definitely a seller that I would use again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Had this when it first appeared, lost my copy, now got it back. I was trying for vinyl format but its collectable at £200. The songs on this CD are so powerfull that I forgot all about the petit problems that seem to be in the news at the moment.
A total must have for any rock/metal fan out there.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
Now here is an album that depicts its time, anger and hostility. I remember seeing the riots on TV. Early 90's was still a time of fight the system and ICE T and others had the soundtrack. Together with RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE it was a massive F U to all politicians.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
I have finally found a copy of this rare and deleted album, I have been searching for a very long time to find the original release of this Body Count album that was banned and deleted due to the song Cop Killer.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Manslaughter by Body Count (Audio CD - 2014)

Born Dead
Born Dead by Body Count (Audio CD - 1994)

O.G. Original Gangster
O.G. Original Gangster by Ice T (Audio CD - 1991)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.