Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS WHAT IS MISSING FROM YOUR LIFE!!!
This is surely one of Prince's best efforts, to be ranked along side Purple Rain, Diamonds and Pearls, Sign 'O' the Times and Emancipation. Although the film was not a commersial success, the album clearly demonstrates the diversity of Prince's talent. Reading the album notes, one realises than nearly all the instruments are played by the man himself. The performances by...
Published on 21 Sep 2001

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfairly maligned
Before taking the plunge, be aware that this is not a "proper" Prince album, in that of the 16 tracks only 9 or so feature lead vocals by the man himself, yet all of the tracks were written (or co-written) and produced by him.

The "other" tracks first...

"Round and Round" is sung by the squeaky-voiced (well, he was young) Tevin Campbell, and is a...
Published on 26 Feb 2009 by Peter Lee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfairly maligned, 26 Feb 2009
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Graffiti Bridge: Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Before taking the plunge, be aware that this is not a "proper" Prince album, in that of the 16 tracks only 9 or so feature lead vocals by the man himself, yet all of the tracks were written (or co-written) and produced by him.

The "other" tracks first...

"Round and Round" is sung by the squeaky-voiced (well, he was young) Tevin Campbell, and is a pleasant enough bit of throwaway pop fluff. "Melody Cool" is a good soul / R&B track by the vocal powerhouse that is Mavis Staples, and isn't bad at all. "Graffiti Bridge" is the much-derided ensemble piece which plays over the end credits of the (frankly dire) film, and whereas most Prince fans hated this track I've always quite liked it! Sure, it sounds like something from a sickly-sweet musical, but it is well done and - like me - if it comes on in the car you'll probably find yourself singing along despite yourself. "Release It", "Shake!", "Love Machine" and "The Latest Fashion" are all performed by The Time, one of Prince's funkier associated acts, and of these "Love Machine" and "The Latest Fashion" are probably the best (interestingly, "The Latest Fashion" reappeared on The Time's "Pandemonium" album but with a different lyric, and was retitled "My Summertime Thang".) So far, the album is a very mixed affair.

So what of the Prince tracks?

"Can't Stop This Feeling I Got" is a pop / rock song which gallops along and is enjoyable enough, if a little throwaway. "New Power Generation" is a chuggy, bass and synth-driven track which appears in two versions, the second of which is just a coda to the album and offers nothing new. "The Question Of U" is one of his better ballads, an interesting percussion loop and distorted keyboards giving the track a slightly unnerving edge. "Tick Tick Bang" is an atonal burst of noise, similar to "Tambourine" from "Around The World In A Day" and isn't particularly great. "Thieves In The Temple" is great, doffing its cap to "When Doves Cry" but isn't in the same league as that classic. "Elephants and Flowers" is an uptempo track with a nonsense lyric but sounds curiously optimistic. Finally, "Still Would Stand All Time" is initially a dirge but after a piano interlude strings join the mix, a choir step into the light, and the song rises to the heavens.

The two remaining tracks are simply brilliant. "We Can Funk" is absolutely outstanding, a dark, funky duet with the legendary George Clinton, Prince and George growling at one another as the track rumbles on, until the song breaks down and Prince changes register. At this point the backing also changes, the tune lifts, and a choir join in. It took me a while to "get" this track but when it clicks it works so well and is easily my second favourite track on the album, and one of my favourite Prince tracks of all time.

Best of all is "Joy In Repetition". A spoken interlude over a sparse bass opens the track before Prince's moaned vocal begins. The hypnotic arrangement is just superb, and when Prince picks up his guitar and launches into one of his greatest ever solos it takes your breath away.

So yes, "Graffiti Bridge" is a real mixed bag of an album, but it doesn't deserve the hatred it has received over the years. At least two of the tracks are amongst the best stuff Prince has ever released, and as a whole the collection works fairly well. Well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mess and nowhere near his best but there are a couple of stand-out tracks, 7 Oct 2009
This review is from: Graffiti Bridge: Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Speaking as a huge admirer of Prince as a recording artist and performer, I am sorry to say that "Graffiti Bridge" is a relatively mediocre offering (although not as bad as the film it soundtracks, which is a real shocker although perversely I enjoyed it more than "Purple Rain"!). It is a hodge-podge consisting mainly of reworked material from the vaults (eg. "Tick Tick Bang" is a re-recording of a 1981 demo and "Can't Stop This Feeling I've Got" is a re-recording of a 1986 demo) with only a handful of tracks ("Thieves in the Temple" for one) composed and recorded especially for the project.

Some reviewers have rightly singled out the album's one true standout track, "Joy In Repetition", with its explosive guitar solo - listeners familiar with Prince's classic 1980's output will note that the background club ambience on the intro is identical to that found at the end of "Eye No" on "Lovesexy" and that the production is redolent of "Sign 'O' The Times"-period Prince.

So it should come as no surprise that this absolutely incredible track was originally slated for inclusion on the three disc "Crystal Ball" set (not to be confused with the 1998 outtakes collection of the same name) and was shelved when the project was whittled down to a two disc set at Warners' behest to form the classic Sign 'O' the Times we all know (and love!). Oh, and for the record, the aforementioned "Eye No" itself is a radically reworked version of a track called "The Ball" which immediately preceded "Joy In Repetition" on the original "Crystal Ball" triple album. Hope that clears a few things up!

But I digress. Aside from "Joy In Repetition", the only other decent tracks are "The Question of U" (which itself is an outtake dating from around 1985/86 but what the heck, it's a lovely little song with a nice guitar solo and I'm glad the Purple One saw fit to finally release it), "Release It" (a funk workout credited to The Time but basically consisting of Morris Day rapping over a pretty funktasmic drum loop with occasional splurges of some pretty tasty slap bass guitar!) and "We Can Funk" (although the original stripped down 1986/87 demo version recorded with Miko Weaver from the Revolution on blues guitar is absolutely smoking and vastly superior to this re-recording with George Clinton and members of his band guesting).

The lead-off single "Thieves In The Temple", whilst an obvious attempt at another "When Doves Cry" is decent enough but I think the full length 12" version makes a lot more sense musically and should have been included on the album rather than the 7" single edit.

As for the rest, well...whilst never less than pleasant and listenable (the irritating "Round & Round" and howler of a title track aside), none of it is anything like approaching Prince at his peak and is mostly pretty anodyne, even bland, with none of the danger, experimental flair or drive we'd become accustomed to. I've always thought that after purging his demons with The Black Album (catharsis) and the making his grand statement with his masterpiece, Lovesexy (resolution), Prince kind of ran out of steam. After replenishing the coffers with the Batman: Original Soundtrack (Prince) [SOUNDTRACK] soundtrack project, he didn't really know where to go next and "Graffiti Bridge" - a bit of a mess (like the film) to be fair - is the confused result.

Prince did subsequently rally and get together an excellent backing band in the form of the New Power Generation to record Diamonds and Pearls, The Love Symbol Album and Gold Experience, which are all much stronger albums than this (although even they lack that magical "it" quality of his mid-late '80's work and were more akin to a return to his straightforward funk and soul early '80's roots right down to the live instrumentation) so "Graffiti Bridge" is best regarded as a transitional work.

You could say it is worth the price of admission for "Joy In Repetition" alone but if I were building a Prince collection, I'd leave this one until after I'd got all the albums mentioned above, plus other mid-to-late '80s peak works Around the World in a Day and Parade: Original Soundtrack - Under the Cherry Moon with the The Hits/The B-Sides compilation for a good overview of his pre-"Purple Rain" era earliest material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS WHAT IS MISSING FROM YOUR LIFE!!!, 21 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Graffiti Bridge: Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This is surely one of Prince's best efforts, to be ranked along side Purple Rain, Diamonds and Pearls, Sign 'O' the Times and Emancipation. Although the film was not a commersial success, the album clearly demonstrates the diversity of Prince's talent. Reading the album notes, one realises than nearly all the instruments are played by the man himself. The performances by the Time and Mavis Staples are great too. The songs are all good, but the ones most worthy of note are 'Can't Stop This Feeling I Got', 'The Question of U', 'We Can Funk', 'Thieves in the Temple', and, of course, 'Graffiti Bridge'. My personal favourite is 'The Question of U'. Composed and structured in a similar way as 'Under The Cherry Moon', if features an amazing guitar solo. I would fully reccomend this album to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Melody Cool, 10 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Graffiti Bridge: Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This album is full of great tracks and as always with Prince theres alot of styles and musical ideas in there. Many of the tracks on the album were old songs taken from the infamous Princely Vault and either recorded or given a little polish. The inclusion of other artists adds to the follow of the album. The standout tacks are TheQuestion of U, Joy in repititon, Thieves in the Temple, Melody Cool and still would stand all time. A wonderful album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Joy in repetition - is it only me?, 9 Aug 2005
By 
Jane (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Graffiti Bridge: Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I think this is a very mixed album, but some of the tracks are great - Melody Cool, Love Machine and most of all Joy in Repetition. This track has my favourite ever guitar solo - IT IS BRILLIANT! Am I the only one who think this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Graffiti Bridge, 10 April 2006
By 
Ted Maul "Ted Maul" (Cowsick) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Graffiti Bridge: Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Although the film is absolutely dreadful,the soundtrack to Graffiti Bridge is a actually pretty good-elephants & Flowers,Question Of U,We Can Funk,Can't Stop This Feeling I Got,New Power Generation and The Time's Release It are all great,and if the other tracks aren't as good half a good Prince album is better than what most other people can achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Essential, 4 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Graffiti Bridge: Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This is Prince in his element as a bad boy of rock. Many of the songs are sung with the Time and this actually adds to the album. From the nostalgic/mysterious Question of U to the fun of Shake! to the majorly spiritual and mature Still Would Stand All Time. I'd recommend it although I agree that it doesn't cater for all tastes. Often a topic of debate, buy it and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic follow-up to Purple Rain, 6 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Graffiti Bridge: Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I think that this album is brilliant. To say that he uses 2nd rate musicians like "The Time" I feel is unfair. This is a fantastic follow-on of the film Purple Rain, so the use of "The Time" is very appropriate. This is one of my favourite Prince albums and being a Prince Fan I would say it is a definate must for the record collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jane is completely right, 22 April 2006
By 
This review is from: Graffiti Bridge: Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I agree completely with Jane's review, specially regarding the "Joy in Repetition" track. It's amazing. Really, if you know someone who owns this CD, listen to it.

Overall the CD is a bit of a letdown, although for me these two or three outstanding songs make for the rest no so good ones. What I really think is that "Joy in Repetition" should be included in a future Prince compilation CD... along with some other tracks in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Dip in Form - but Still has Some Good Stuff, 22 Jun 2014
This review is from: Graffiti Bridge: Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Prince was very busy with films and soundtracks in this period. After Purple Rain, Parade and Batman we now get Graffiti Bridge. In all cases I would say the music is better than the films, and here you get the weakest film and the weakest album. This not to say though that here at least, you should turn away.

The Bad: There is very little material uniquely written for this project. Most of it is old material which has been updated (largely), though having said that the Prince sound is starting to become a bit dated. The final third of the album is somewhat of a struggle for me really, like even Prince is getting a bit tired.

The Good: Joy in Repetition is probably the best track here and it is a joy, great guitar and a real rapturous feel to the song. New Power Generation has a stomping crispness With We Can Funk hitting similar highs. Tick Tick Bang mixes Prince synths with hip hop beats, a real cross over track towards his 90's sound to come, even though it is the oldest track here. Most of the Time tracks are good too, the highlights probably Love Machine and Shake, the latter with a real Little Richard Rock and Roll feel - well wasn't Morris Day Little Richard in disguise, or not in disguise as the case may be.

So this album does not hit the heights of his 1980's work and by his standards must be viewed as a disappointment. Mind you I can't think of many of Prince's albums that were consistently brilliant. It's the nature of the man to experiment, trying new things. This one does not work quite so well but there is a lot to entertain here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Graffiti Bridge: Original Soundtrack
Graffiti Bridge: Original Soundtrack by Prince (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews