Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant - as far as it goes ...
Now, by that I mean this. On a world-wide scale, things broke with Eliminator. Yet for 15 or so years before that they had been releasing good solid blues/rock albums. Selling loads in US and not much elsewhere.
This album - with a couple of exceptions - ignores the early/earleir years, and concentrates on 1984 onwards. SO alothough it's a fine compilation, I can...
Published on 25 Sep 2003 by David Cranson

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From greatness to decline
There's no doubt that from day one ZZ Top were a class act. Billy Gibbons had already shown his teeth as a guitarist in the late 1960s before helping found this formidable trio. Perhaps, though, they just became fed up with blowing bands off every stage in Texas and earning a reputation. With the "Eliminator" album they went for the commercial jugular, a mission that this...
Published on 8 Aug 2006 by D. J. H. Thorn


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From greatness to decline, 8 Aug 2006
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
There's no doubt that from day one ZZ Top were a class act. Billy Gibbons had already shown his teeth as a guitarist in the late 1960s before helping found this formidable trio. Perhaps, though, they just became fed up with blowing bands off every stage in Texas and earning a reputation. With the "Eliminator" album they went for the commercial jugular, a mission that this collection represents.

The first few bars of "La Grange" offer a glimpse of the style that earned their initial reputation, earthy blues with the devil looking on. What little 1970s material is on show here however seems to have been buffed up so as not to make it sound too incongruous. More typical is the cover of "Viva Las Vegas", the title of which aptly describes their new-found gloss. In short, they decided to cash in. There's nothing wrong with courting the chart scene, of course. Tracks like "Sharp Dressed Man" and "Got Me Under Pressure" are irresistible chunks of hard driving boogie. But when ZZ Top don't hit the bullseye with this stuff they tend to be way off target.

"Legs" is a fine track, but the programmed rhythms are ominous. After this recording came tracks like "Sunglasses" and "Planet of Women", which are killed stone dead by that awful flat, synthetic 1980s influence. They should have steered well clear of it. "Eliminator" contains all you need of this kind of approach and is a better purchase, as are ZZ Top's early albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant - as far as it goes ..., 25 Sep 2003
By 
David Cranson (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Now, by that I mean this. On a world-wide scale, things broke with Eliminator. Yet for 15 or so years before that they had been releasing good solid blues/rock albums. Selling loads in US and not much elsewhere.
This album - with a couple of exceptions - ignores the early/earleir years, and concentrates on 1984 onwards. SO alothough it's a fine compilation, I can only hope that we can get a fuller 'Best of' one day which includes all the years.
So, of this stuff we have everything which is expected. "Gimme All Your Loving", "Sharp Dressed Man", "Legs", "Sleeping Bag", "Gun Love" etc . . . There's a couple from Deguello, incl "Cheap Sunglasses" and a couple from El Loco, incl "Tube Snake Boogie".
So from a world-wide perspective it is the greatest hits; but oh for an all-encompassing "Best Of" to include the early years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ClasZZic cuts from those mavens of style and flair, 29 April 2005
By A Customer
I actually remember when we thought ZZ Top was going to be a one hit wonder. They had "La Grange" and then that seemed like it was going to be the end of the road as the Seventies fizzled out. Then 1983's "Eliminator" came out with "Gimme All Your Lovin'" and suddenly ZZ Top exploded as a rockin' blues based power trio. When it comes to putting your pedal to the metal and having a driving beat nobody beats ZZ Top. In fact, in one of Stephen King's "Dark Tower" books one of Roland's crew recognizes the bass line from a ZZ Top song coming from an evil city. See? Even in fictional dimensions the servants of the Dark Man know the value of ZZ Top. Some people say they cannot tell the difference between "Sharp Dressed Man" and "Legs," but that is their headache; people like that probably cannot tell who has the longer beard, Billy Gibbons or Dusty Hill (ironically its not Frank Beard, LOL). ZZ Top has been keeping me awake at night grading student papers for almost two decades and if I am not mistaken, a vehicle that looks a lot like their snaZZy red vehicle was car of the year or something like that. Even if you are not inclined to have their entire oeuvre on your shelf, then you have to at least have this "Greatest Hits" collection. Remember: "they've got a lot of nice girls out there."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hit me like a ton of lead, 25 July 2014
By 
Drengskap (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I picked this up for keeping in the car, since there is no finer music to drive to than the Tex-Mex blues boogie produced by ZZ Top. I defy anyone to listen to the opening bars of 'Gimme All Your Lovin'' without getting the urge to put the pedal to the metal down a long straight highway. Most of what I love ZZ Top for is here, including a decent selection from their 70s albums before they went global with Annihilator - e.g. 'My Head's In Mississippi', 'Tush' and 'La Grange' - but where's 'Beer Drinkers and Hell Raisers'? Any song which is good enough for Motorhead to cover is good enough for me! I'd much rather have had the invigorating hedonism of 'Beer Drinkers...' represented here than either the limp MOR power ballad 'Rough Boy' or the cheesy electronica of 'Viva las Vegas'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits?. Yes. Their best?. No. 2.7 Stars, 17 Nov 2009
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Greatest Hits...I have loved this band for over 25 years and this is packed with the usual suspects & the vast majority of the UK & US hit singles.

The commercial heavyweights, " Gimme All Your Lovin'", " Rough Boy", " Legs" & " Sharp Dressed Man", which i all found awful by their standards, are present. The only single and track for that matter that i had any time for off " Eliminator" was " TV Dinners" and it's excluded. " Doubleback" & " Give It Up" show more of the commercial side of the band. However of the later stuff, i love " Sleeping Bag" & " Viva Las Vegas" which are thankfully included.

A huge saving grace is that the pre - Eliminator days gets inclusion. The superb " Tush", " La Grange", " Cheap Sunglasses", "Pearl Necklace" , " I'm Bad, I'm Nationwide" & " Tube Snake Boogie" stopped me from making this into yet another drink coaster/ clay pigeon target.

If you want their best as oppossed to commercialism, avoid this like a disease and grab hold of the original " Best Of" from the late 70's, or if you want the best of the old and new then " Rancho Texicano" affords you the respect of putting Classic & Commercial on seperate discs, so you don't have to keep skipping tracks.

As a greatest hits package, it does what it says on the tin.

Is this their best?. No way!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Got to own it, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Everyone should have a ZZ Top album in their Rock collection.

Even if it is a compilation, this was my choice, a good CD reasonably priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars America rocks!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the fun element to this group, whose tracks are all about partying. They have a similar appeal to Status Quo in terms of the lightness of touch they bring to their anthems. I find they never fail to pick me up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic hits, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a must have CD if you are a ZZ top fan,it has all of the songs
we all know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars greatest hits zz top, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
the cd was slow in arriving but before the due date the quality for used cd very good I am pleased with the music on the disc have not heard a lot of zz top but could be a fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hit and Miss, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Whilst I am pleased with this CD, I have to mention that among the well-known great tracks such as Sharp Dressed Man and Gimme All Your Lovin, there appears to be lesser known, more repetitive type songs that I personally can take or leave. It is a pity that great tracks from the Afterburner album were not included in this medley of hits which would have made this CD for me a 5 star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by ZZ Top (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews