Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
148
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2002
Er...wow. This is an INCREDIBLE album. THe songs contrast in styles and emotion, from the bittersweet 'Under The Bridge' to the buoyant 'Give It Away'.
My personal favourite track is 'I Could've Lied', which I could listen to on repeat for days... EVERY track is superb. Even the quirky 'They're Red Hot' is a valuable part of the album.
The album's continuity is excellent, considering the 74 minute duration. I never skip any tracks, and each one contributes to forming the mood of the next.
Track Ratings:
1)The Power Of Equality-8/10 A perfect opener with a brilliant chorus.
2)If You Have To Ask-7/10 Memorable chorus, decent verses.
3)Breaking The Girl-10/10 One of the best tracks, Kiedis at his best.
4)Funky Monks-8/10 Takes a few listens to get into, but when you do it's well worth the wait. Brilliant bass from Flea.
5)Suck My Kiss-10/10 The best up-tempo track, with the fast paced verses building up magnificently to the wonderful 'Suck my kiss...' line.
6)I Could've Lied-10/10 Poetic lyrics and subtle guitar work. Beautiful.
7)Mellowship Slinky In B Major-8/10 Carefully delivered vocals are complimented by the (again) excellent bass.
8)The Righteous & The Wicked-9/10 Sharp guitars and a truly wonderful chorus.
9)Give It Away-10/10 Begins as it means to go on, no messing-straight into funk and (once again!!!!) memorable chorus. This song will stay in your head for hours...
10)Blood Sugar Sex Magik-10/10 Im giving a lot of tens, aren't I... Dark and brooding vocals fit with the BEST guitar work on the album perfectly. Get's int oa VERY funky groove and stays there. Excellent.
11)Under The Bridge-10/10 I only consider this second best song on the album because I've listened to it so many times. For the first, say, 1000 listens this will be regarded as probably THE most lyrically competetnt song EVER.
12)Naked In The Rain-8/10 Hugely underrated-tight guitars and particularly good lyrics in the verses.
13)Apache Rose Peacock-7/10 Together with 'Sir Psycho Sexy', the definition of 'KERRRAZZY' lyrics. Very cool.
14)The Greeting Song-9/10 Very fast, very fun, very funky, very enjoyable.
15)My Lovely Man-8/10 The ending makes the song. Also, very poignant lyrics when taken into context (written about ex-guitarist who died...). Fantastic guitar solo, too.
16)Sir Psycho Sexy-8/10 Surprisingly, doesn't grate for an 8minute track. But the lyrics, oh the lyrics. How did they come up with this stuff? The wierdest lyrics since, well, track 13.
17)They're Red Hot-7/10 Short, humourous, uplifting and very very odd.
I have a very eclectic taste in music, from Roni Size to Nirvana, from Red Snapper to System of a Down, from Rage to Roots Manuva, etc. But this is an true classic, and absolutely EVERYBODY should own this album.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2006
First off, I'd like to state that I'm not a RHCP mega-fan. Having said that, this album is my favourite album, by anyone, ever. It's also worth saying that if you consider yourself an avid Chili Peppers fan on the basis of 'By The Way' then don't bother with this album. You will have probably heard 'Under The Bridge' and read that this album is their greatest offering, (which is true) therefore will expect more of the same mellow type material as heard on 'By The Way,' and the aforementioned mega-hit off this album. You will be bitterly disappointed. This album is funk metal through and through, and the singing is mostly in the rap style. So.... if you're open minded, and want to know what the true Chili Peppers are all about, read on.

The Chili Peppers first 2 albums, (self titled and Freaky Styley) sound to me like nothing more than kinda enjoyable but very amateurish funky jam sessions. It came together in a big way with 'Uplift' with far superior melodies and actual songs! That album, and the subsequent 'Mothers Milk' (which was the first album with the current line-up, and the same line-up as on BSSM) had many a highlight, and I love those albums too. However, BSSM was a giant leap in every respect. With Rick Rubin at the production helm this album sounds like real funk rock pros who know they're at the top of their game, and they set out to create their greatest work. They succeeded totally.

Every single track, with the exception of 'They're Red Hot' (which was obviously intended as a joke throwaway, so it's forgivable) is a 10* winner. Tracks 1 & 2 flow seamlessly together to create an amazing opening medley of pure funky rock with soaring choruses, and cutting lyrics. Flea slapping his base like never before, John playing in a far heavier style than we're used to now and Chad anchoring it all down with some of the clearest drumming ever recorded. Along with 'Under The Bridge', (and to an extent 'I Could Have Lied') 'Breaking The girl' is the other all out "slow" track and is equally as great as its more famous cousin. The lyrics aren't as good, but the music is better, with Chad banging out a solo on scrap metal. Bizarre but perfect, it's a beautiful track.

I'm not gonna review every track, but suffice to say, most of the rest of the album continues in the same funk rock vein as set out in the first 2 tracks. 'Funky Monks' is one of my favourites, with an explosive guitar solo from John, which I relish all the more, cos I know he'll probably never lay down such a sound again, (here's hopin with Stadium Arcadium!!). Of course everyone knows 'Give It Away' and it is undeniably superb, but IMHO not the best funk rock song on this album by a long shot. For me, the title track outstrips it, as does 'The Righteous And The Wicked' with its ace bass riff and powerful chorus. 'My Lovely Man' is another highlight, as it's a lyrically beautiful tribute to the late great Hillel Slovak, their original guitarist, and sonically a great rocker, with John yet again unleashing an amazing extended guitar solo. Also of note is 'Naked In The Rain' which is unremarkable, compared to the rest of the album, (which means that it's still great) but it does contain an awesome slap bass solo from Flea, which really rocks. Hard.

For me, the real last track of the set, and the best, is 'Sir Psycho Sexy' and it's a brilliant way to finish. Yes, the lyrics are pornography in an audio form, but even on 'By The Way' the lyrics are pure filth, (not to this extent, granted) so it's what the Chilis are all about, only on this track they take it to the extreme! The first half of the song is a funk rave-up, in the style of most of the rest of the rest album, but then just over half way through, it breaks down into for me what is the most beautiful music on the whole album, (not acoustic like 'Under The Bridge' etc. but simply music that floats, in a tripped out manner). It's a classic Chilis song.

Again, I implore you to steer clear, if you're a hardcore 'By The Way' fan and expect this to be similar. It isn't really anything like 'By The Way'.... having said that, if your favourite track off 'By The Way' is 'Can't Stop' then you may want to give this a spin. It's a long album though, and heavier than 'Can't Stop' but don't dismiss it; endure and hopefully you'll get to love it as I do. It angers me to some extent how few songs were included off this album on their greatest hits album. You'd be better off buying 'What Hits!?' 'Greatest Hits' and BSSM. It really is their best album.

A seminal release. Cheers for reading.
33 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
'Blood Sugar Sex Magik' completely passed me by back in 1991. I must have been too busy listening to REM, Metallica and Nirvana. Yet the Chili's brand of sleazy LA funk rock is as powerful and intense as any grunge or metal and has also stood the test of time. Highlights are the slow-burning 'I Could Have Lied', the blistering title track and the iconic 'Under the Bridge'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 1999
Most people know the Red Hot Chili Peppers as the guysa who wrote the classic 'Under the Bridge', well they are and this album encapsulates all the best moments of the Chili Peppers 15 year career in one magical album. From the moment of the first chord of 'The Power of Equality' to the end of the last note in 'They're Red Hot' you are delivered on a rollercoaster of emotion. The beautiful 'Under the Bridge' and the equally evocative 'I could've lied' show off the more mellow side of the band, whilst the frenetic bass lines in 'Give it Away' and 'Naked in the Rain' give Flea the chance to show to the world what a truly great bassist he is. There is not one song on the album which cannot be counted as a masterpiece in its own right and the curious mix of funk, rock, and rap delivers a fresh, upbeat and complete album. Anthony Kiedis' lyrics are spat forth as though his life depends on it, and the title track 'Blood Sugar Sex Magik' utilises every talent he has. John frusciant's guitaring is at times awe-inspiring, the solos in 'My Lovely Man' (a brilliant tribute to the Peppers original guitarist, Hillel Slovak who overdosed on heroin) and 'I could've Lied' are among his very best. If you don't have this album, go out now and buy it because it truly is one of the most complete album you will ever buy. And then you'll want the rest !!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2003
From start to finish this is the most addictive and magic album i have ever heard. With John Frusciante playing guitar along with Flea and Chad it will the best music you will hear. The lyrics sung by Kiedis are amazing and all the songs contribute to their best album. My favourite songs have to be Power of Equality and Suck My Kiss. However Funky Monks, Breaking the Girl, Greeting Song and The Righteous and the Wicked are also worth a mention to name but a few. It also has the more famous Give it Away and Under the Bridge to get you hooked. The song I Could Have Lied is not noticed straight away aswell as Breaking the Girl but can turn into the most emotional tunes on the album. My Lovely Man tribute song also adds to the flavour of this album as well as the great Sir Psycho Sexy.
If you are a more recent fan this would make your collection but steer clear if you don't like this harder sound. Personally you can't help but love this album even on the 1000th hearing.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2007
This is what I firmly believe is this the best album ever made.There is not one complaint at all about it,it is perfect.With this it may host the best song ever made Under the Bridge.Its unexplainably cool and original,the songs link up beautifully,its clever,hard hitting,to the point and is better than the mindless nonscence you will here from any modern day punk group.At times it is loud and raucous(Suck my Kiss),at times it is beautiful on a phenomenal scale(I could have Lied),at times it is so outrageous that its excellent!(Sir Psycho Sexy).

1.Power of Equality-10/10-Fast,Funky and decietfully intellegent.

2.If you have to ask-9/10-Keeps the set pace and not bad in its own right.

3.Breaking the Girl-10/10-Thoughtful,Beautiful and Personal.

4.Funky Monks-9/10-Interesting mix of start-stop and guitar riffs.

5.Suck My Kiss-10/10-Loud,hard driven,sware motivated and excellent.

6.I Could have Lied-10/10-Something else,Beautiful and makes you think.

7.MellowshipSinBMajor-8/10-My least favourite but its not bad.

8.Righteous&The Wicked-9/10-Great build up for give it away,works well.

9.Give it Away-10/10-That amount of energy for four minutes is phenomenal!

10-BloodSugarSexMagik-9/10-Concieves a different light on the record

11-Under the Bridge-10/10-Classic.Nothing like it,in the world,ever.

12-Naked in the Rain-8/10-Good listening,slightly repetitive.

13-Apache Rose Peacock-10/10-Another high point,funkiest tune on the album

14-The Greeting Song-9/10-Good Tune,Dont know why its towards the end.

15-My Lovely Men-10/10-Tribute to Hillel Slovak,Id be proud if i were him.

16-Sir Psycho Sexy-10/10-Penultimate 8 minute masterpiece,great guitar finish to the song that sums up a phenomenal record.

17-Theyre Red Hot-9/10-Perfectly Placed to add a nice touch to the end of the album and to cool you down.

Overall,phenomenal record,essential piece of music history.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
I initially wasn't so keen on this album, the sound is slightly quieter than most albums (noticeable when the songs play on shuffle on my iPod) and I just didn't think the album was as good as the later Chili Peppers albums. That was until I realised how damn funky the songs are! It's very hard not to do a casual head bop while listening to this on the bus!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
The cd is fine very happy, I have gives it 4 stars as the plastic grips on the cd holder were all broken off, not sure if this is s fault of the postal service or the factory it was produced at, it was definitely new as it was foil wrapped and I don't think it was s fault of the vendor!!!
Many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2006
You will see about 70 5 star reviews on this album and all in good reason. This is one of the finest albums ever written. Although i am a keen RHCP fan, i have a love for many artists and genres of music. But this is my fav album ever due to its beuatiful soulful lyrics, memorable guitar riffs, toe-tapping drum work and wait for it.......FLEA. His bass is just incredible. The slap-bass has been cut down a bit, wich leaves more room for outstanding finger-plucking bass lines from the worlds most renowned bassist.

1. The power of Equality - 8/10 - This will appeal to all fans of punk and rap. great bassline.

2. If you have to ask - 7/10 - low-pitched verse with a very high pitched chorus by john. slightly boring but good nonetheless.

3. Breaking the girl - 8/10 - John chuggs away on his 12-string acoustic while anthony sings a very beuatiful song about his past relationships. great ballad.

4.Funky Monks - 8/10 - funkiest song ever made. great guitar at the start. it changes alot along the song but it is still a fantasic song.

5. Suck my Kiss - 9/10 - A real attitude song! great, yet humerous lyrics served with a very cool guitar riff.

6. I could have lied - 10/10 - This song is beautiful. Emotional lyrics that really are tearjerking. best guitar solo on the record.

7. Mellowship slinky in B major - 8/10 - Funny song with funny lyrics but it has an incredible chorus.

8. Rightous and the wicked - 8/10 - another attitude song. catchy chorus with great guitar on the bridge.

9. Give it away - 10/10 - Classic pepper track that everyone knows. funky with fantasic vocals. a real funky bass line by flea.

10. Blood Sugar Sex Magik - 9/10 - a real rocky one with, of corse, a bucket of attitude.

11. Under the Bridge - 10/10 - The defining song of the chilis. What can i say? just magic! an all-time classic that is without dought the best on the album! fantasic soulful opener by john with a memorable chorus and a beautiful, dramatic closure. 10 OUT OF 10.

12. Naked in the Rain - 8/10 - Flea in his prime. the bass solo is just incredible. anthonys vocals are really enjoyable to listen to.

13.Apache Rose Peacock - 8/10 - Great vocals by anthony for funny lyrics. it grows on you tho but still a great track.

14.The greeting song - 9/10 - really fast paced track with a great bassline. anthony says however that he hates this song. hmmmm hard to know why....its a cracker

15. My lovely Man - 9/10 - RHCP ode to hillel who died 3 yrs prior. meaningful lyrics and great guitar riffs.

16. Sir Physco Sexy - 9/10 - A long one at 8 mins. but it makes up for that in its great funky riffs and great lyrics whic are really explicit! the outro is incredible and is the true outro to Blood Sugar Sex Magik.

17. They're Red Hot - 5/10 - Bizarre song put in as a joke outro but fun enuf.

My Fav Songs are:

1. Under the Bridge

2. I could have lied

3. Give it away

4. My Lovely Man

5. Power of equality (as im lerning the bass to it)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
RHCP are one of America best exports they have made a few fluffs but this album is mostly brilliant the track "Give it away" is top rock and then there is "Under the bridge" you get your own meaning from that one Just good Music.
Graham
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.94
£4.36
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)