Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The start of the Mr Bungle circus!
This first offering from Mr Bungle is still new and fresh nearly nine years after it was released. They blend so many genres of music that you can get lost in your first few listens, but if you persist the whole album comes together.
The track highlights include Quote Unquote (Otherwise known as "Travolta", but changed due to fear of legal action) and...
Published on 20 Mar 2000

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than average. Not all of it is genius
Mr Bungle. With a name like that, you know its gonna be odd, or maybe humorous? Alas, the band have some cool toilet humour included. Some of the talking sections at the end of songs hit the mark, most fall flat however. I dont like the circus sections of the songs. It cheesy, plain and simple. Sometimes the record breaks down into cacophony such as #My Ass is on Fire,...
Published on 23 Aug 2008 by Bob


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The start of the Mr Bungle circus!, 20 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr Bungle (Audio CD)
This first offering from Mr Bungle is still new and fresh nearly nine years after it was released. They blend so many genres of music that you can get lost in your first few listens, but if you persist the whole album comes together.
The track highlights include Quote Unquote (Otherwise known as "Travolta", but changed due to fear of legal action) and the riffy "My Ass Is On Fire".
The cover artwork sums up the materials diversity.
A must have for any fan of the later albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird... But Great!, 14 July 2001
By 
This review is from: Mr Bungle (Audio CD)
This album is certainly one in a million... and with this album, Mr. Bungle dodge every single category of music that people try to pin on them. From the very funny lyrics on 'The Girls Of Porn' to Mike Patton's strange carousel-sounding chants on 'Carousel', every single track on this album is brilliant in its own way. The strangest bit in the album has to be near the end of the last track, where headphones are a must - the music and Mike's voice slides alternately from one speaker to the other, and trumpets can be heard from what seems to be the distance.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The weirdest band i have heard, possibly one of the best, 5 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr Bungle (Audio CD)
Thinking I have heard the weirdest of the weird, from Pixies to Faith No More, from Aphex Twin to Wesley Willis, it just got weirder. Mr Bungle is a terrific album which still sounds like it has just been released. This album definitely has a ska influence with tracks like Slowly Growing deaf, Carousel and Egg, but also includes other styles (sometimes even in the same song) including circus music, metal, funk and jazz. There is some extrememly strange but funny lyrics in The Girls of Porn and Squeeze Me Macaroni, being my favourite track. Other great tracks are Travolta (whoops i meant Quote/Unquote hehe) and Stubb a Dub. Faith No More fans should love this being another Mike Patton masterpiece, and anyone who loves music should find this album timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A flawless masterpiece, 23 Jun 2002
This review is from: Mr Bungle (Audio CD)
This debut album was miles ahead of its time when it was released more than ten years ago. Its influence can be heard in other lesser bands, but it still stands head and shoulders over anything released by anybody since.
Oozing with talent and style, it takes the listener on a ten track voyage of acid-funk-thrash metal-spaz jazz-ska effortlessly blended with dark and aggressive but equally humorous lyrics, sung by a vocalist whose range spans from sweet soulful pop to death metal opera. Great melodies, great hooks, it's pure art.
Kill anyone who tells you otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Carnival for the Human Race, 4 July 2007
This review is from: Mr Bungle (Audio CD)
I did not really know what to expect when I bought this album. It turns out it is a work of twisted Genius. GENIOUS I TELL YOU! This album is a fantastic variety of sounds & styles, from Metal to Jazz to Funk to my favourite; CLOWN MUSIC! In fact clown music or carnival music is probably the closest description for this music. It is varied, an engaging listen, & HILARIOUS e.g Girls of Porn. Every time you listen to a song you discover something new like a new favourite 20 second riff of vocal line. It still happens to me & i've listened to the albums of times! If you try to show this album to people, they will either laugh or they will smile & walk away, ordinary people do not understand the majesty of Mr Bungle, & are worse off for it. The only problem with this album are the long silences at the end of each track, although you can hear some noises, you dont know waht they are. Overall though, the best album I bought in 5 years, & a bargain at just a fiver. BUY IT NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars terrifying and eclectic, 22 Mar 2007
This review is from: Mr Bungle (Audio CD)
If you think music should be about unsettling and frightening people as well as uplifting them, this is the album for you. Whilst it proves to give us a bit more access into the thoughts of Mike Patton than we really need, his voice is certainly at its best here; at times soulful and sweet, at others simply deranged. John Zorn provides farmyard alto sax and produces the album superbly - some of the sounds here are truly remarkable. Check out the bizarre stereo panning towards the end of Dead Goon.

Things start well with Quote Unquote, a scary and bizarre meditation on the troubled psyche of John Travolta which is also laugh-out-loud funny. Who can resist Patton crooning "It's the time, it's the place, it's the motion" over swirling horror-movie synths? Carousel is an amusing and menacing ska/heavy metal track about the inherent spookiness of fairgrounds. Elsewhere, all kinds of musical styles are mixed and matched; thrash metal, lounge jazz, Mantovani, surf rock, fusion. The flirtations with funk-rock are now very dated but luckily they're shortlived.

Quotes from David Lynch's Blue Velvet are littered throughout the album and it's surprising the man himself hasn't repaid the compliment and used some of this music for his own movies - it would seem the perfect soundtrack. True, bands like Slipknot and Limp Bizkit probably wouldn't exist without this album - but don't let that put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the greatest albums ever, 20 Nov 2003
By 
Andrew Urquhart "Metal Guru" (West Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Bungle (Audio CD)
I have never met anyone who has actually listened to this album, and didn't reckon it a masterpiece, up there with 'Blood on the Tracks', 'London Calling', or the third Dead Milkmen album. It has something for everyone, but your nan might not appreciate 'the girls of Porn'. I have it on picture disk vinyl, and cd, and although I now prefer 'California' for it's more accessible vibe, I felt that I had to rectify the situation of the negative image the last reviewer gave this one. It is one of the funniest things ever recorded, and that includes everything ever by Rammstein .. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Bungle (Audio CD)
their best ever... have it on vinyl picture disc, but the sound quality on it sucks big time. really absorbing and outrageous album...BRILLIANT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an unforgettable album, 22 Mar 2013
By 
T. Cook "manniusic" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Bungle (MP3 Download)
i remember listening to this album when it came out and being totally blown away by it. And years later it still is as valid and amazing.
The opener which was titled travolta has some hilarious lyrics and the genre busting abilities of the band are outstanding.
Mr Bungle manage to combine great hooks with terror beauty and extreme musicality.
A classic that everyone should listen to atleast once in their life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mr bungle, 7 Feb 2004
This review is from: Mr Bungle (Audio CD)
i think this album is superb,anyone who likes enjoyable, original and sometimes funny music then get this album.the songs on it are long and can change direction very fast, it is a very refreshing album that shows how great (and funny) music can be. buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. Bungle
Mr. Bungle by Mr. Bungle (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews