Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving
Though there is some debate about whether it is REM's best work, Out of Time is without doubt a classic.
Most people will have only heard of Losing My Religion, deservedly one of their biggest hits, but beyond that the songs that will stay with you just keep coming.
Happy songs are what the album is best known for and the jangling, uplifting pop of Near Wild...
Published on 3 Jun 2003 by jack_hartt

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shiny, Happy Music (albeit rather insubstantial), June 16, 2004
OUT OF TIME stands as something of a paradox in R.E.M.'s discography. Even though it's R.E.M.'s most inconsistent album, OUT OF TIME ushered in a new, radical phase in the band's career, moving them far and away from such groundbreaking recordings as MURMER or RECKONING. Because of the massive hit "Losing My Religion," R.E.M. came out from the underground and began their...
Published on 11 Sep 2012 by Mike London


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shiny, Happy Music (albeit rather insubstantial), June 16, 2004, 11 Sep 2012
This review is from: Out of Time (Audio CD)
OUT OF TIME stands as something of a paradox in R.E.M.'s discography. Even though it's R.E.M.'s most inconsistent album, OUT OF TIME ushered in a new, radical phase in the band's career, moving them far and away from such groundbreaking recordings as MURMER or RECKONING. Because of the massive hit "Losing My Religion," R.E.M. came out from the underground and began their mainstream career. While all the subsequent records (AUTOMATIC, MONSTER, NEW ADVENTURES, UP, and REVEAL) have moved them further along the lines of reinventing their sound, this transformation started here.

Ironically enough, this is R.E.M.'s worst album, although this is the very record that broke them into mainstream and enabled them to make some of the greatest music of their career. While many purists despise this album, I personally feel that without this record which brought R.E.M. such massive success, we wouldn't have those great later day records. It may have turned off a lot of fans, but OUT OF TIME brought R.E.M. to national attention. Still, it can be hard to swallow some of this record.

Filled with sonic grooves and textures, bright, shinny production, and lots of outside collaboration, OUT OF TIME finds R.E.M. moving away from the more jangly pop and underground sound of their IRS years to a more mainstream, streamlined sound. ("Radio Song," one of the more bizaare collaborations with rapper KRS-1, is a fun, jaunty little song, but still sounds, after all these years, as a rather misguided and a largely failed experiment.) The biggest problem with OUT OF TIME is, after the record finishes, there's not a lot to return too. It's a shiny, happy record, without much substance.

Any record where the production is more noteworthy than the songwriting is in deep trouble, and that is exactly where OUT OF TIME suffers. I do admire the band's ambition to broaden and deepen their sound, bringing in mandolins, keyboards, and even string sections. It's just the songs on OUT OF TIME are so breezy and insubstantial that is plays like a 1970s Wings album. It gets in a mellow, sunny groove, more concentrated on making a pleasant summer record than making lasting music. Like "Shiny Happy People," OUT OF TIME is a great catchy album overall but when it comes down too it, stripping away all the bright production and concentrating on the album itself, there's not really that much to it. Even the title has that tossed off feel. The band laterally ran out of time to come up with a title, hence the name.

However, when the band does get the songwriting right, then OUT OF TIME strikes gold. The aforementioned "Losing My Religion" deserves all the acclaim it gets. (Who'd think a mandolin driven song would be such a huge hit???) "Half a World Away," "Texarkana," and "Near Wild Heaven" are essential songs. Also, the two outtakes on the bonus disc from IN TIME, R.E.M.'s recently released greatest hits compilation, would have greatly aided this record. "Fretless" and "It's a Free World Baby" are both more substantial than most of the material here and Buck even said to send in a resequenced setlsit to the band because they were thinking about reissuing this album with these two songs incorporated into it.

The real masterpiece, however, is the phenomenal song "Country Feedback." Capturing a general psychic unrest and a searching for meaning, "Country Feedback" is easily my favorite song on the album and one of my top ten R.E.M. songs. The lyrics reminds me "E Bow the Letter." Both "E Bow" and "Country Feedback" have a very distinctive, haunting style that never fails to capture my ear, with wonderful, free association lyrics wedded with R.E.M.'s great instrumental sensibilities. One of R.E.M.'s best. Great live version on IN TIME on the B-Side disc.

In the end, OUT OF TIME never really offends; it just never really makes you think other than the two aforementioned masterpieces. It's a pretty fun record to listen too, but not something to return too time and time again. It's ironic that this is the album that catapulted them into mainstream radio, given OUT OF TIME's spotty nature. R.E.M. made great records before this, and they made wonderful records after this. We can thank OUT OF TIME for coming at that critical juncture, that linchpin record that secured R.E.M. a place in 1990s mainstream rock. Just wish it was a more substantial record than what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album ever, that no-one cottoned on over at the time, 8 July 2012
By 
Craig P Eyles (Blackthorn, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Time (Audio CD)
You have to hear it over twenty years after you first heard it to realize it is/was/remains the best album ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A year on and still my favourite album, 22 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Out of Time (Audio CD)
This is possibly the best REM album you are likely to come across. With tracks like Losing my Religion, Half the world away, Radio Song and Country Feedback (I could go on), the album contains a variety of excellent styles... in short, its a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Out of time, not out of ideas, 16 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. B. Mcmillan (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out of Time (Audio CD)
This was the time when the UK stood up and took notice of Athens' finest. Their bravery in issuing a mandolin led first single was regrettably offset by their foray into cheesy pop. 'Shiny Happy People' and 'Radio Song' aside, this is an excellent record that holds songs of great variety and boasts two of the best songs of that particular era in 'Losing My Religion' and a song so personal that Mr Stipe had to perform it with his back to the audience - 'Country Feedback'. They may have been thrust upon the UK market for all the wrong reasons (see cheesy pop reference above), but in this case the end very definitely justified the means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When REM became huge..., 24 May 2005
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Taking a year or so off to record this (then quite a thing to do), REM decided to stop touring and focus on making studio-albums Beatles-style. This gave the band and producer Scott Litt chance to create a richer sound- and also to employ guest vocalists, in this case Kate Pierson of the B52's and rapper KRS-1 (Boogie Down Productions)The dbs' Peter Holsapple, who fleshed the band out on the Green-Tour (see 'Tourfilm') also turns up here- though as someone pointed out to me, The dbs LP of the time was superior to this! (REM also worked on The Troggs' album released that year- which feels like a companion release to this).
'Out of Time' is a mixed-bag- Opener 'Radio Song' has a rap and is like a Booker-T-extension on 'Pop Song 89'; while 'Shiny Happy People' was initially a gorgeous-pop rush, its over-familiarity has drifted into irritability (Fatima Mansions would offer an amusing cover/critque on their 'Bertie's Brochures' mini-LP)Again, 'Losing My Religion' is just too overplayed and was a retread of 1988's 'World Leader Pretend' ultimately...
Michael Stipe wanted to make an LP of love-songs, but couldn't compose all the songs- thus Mike Mills fronts two-tracks, single 'Near Wild Heaven' & the alt-country-symphony of 'Texarkana' (I think Mills should sing more often- as long as he doesn't sing 'Superman'!!).
'Low', 'Belong' & 'Country Feedback' were all played on the Green-tour (see 'Tourfilm') and are darker in tone- the latter remains one of REM's finest moments and became a live-favourite. 'Endgame' is a lovely acoustic-folk instrumental with some "la, la"'s - this and tracks like 'Half a World Away' suggest that this was probably more the kind of album REM wanted to make with 'Fables of the Reconstruction'! 'Me in Honey' has a sound like a sweeter-take of 'Reckoning's 'Little America' and again features Kate Pierson- though musically it is close to peers 10,000 Maniacs (whom Stipe sang with several times).
'Out of Time' is a solid album with some great songs on, and would lead towards their commercial and creative peak, the following year's 'Automatic for the People.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 15 Mar 2005
By 
L. O'MEARA - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is probably my favourite REM album, tied with their first, Murmur. They sound very alive on this recording, happy even, with a massive dose of sweet melancholy.
This set features a very nicely remastered CD of the album, plus a DVD/DVD-Audio. For those with normal DVD players, it features Dolby Digital 2.0 and 5.1 surround, and DTS 5.1 surround.
For DVD-Audio compatible players it features 24bit/96khz 5.1 surround, and a fantastic sounding 24bit/192khz stereo track. This is obviously the one to listen to for hi-fi fanatics, and sounds fabulous, very open and warm.
Highly recommended set, get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You cannot survive modern life without this CD, 16 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Out of Time (Audio CD)
A barrier breaking, up-lifting, thought provoking CD. If you are unfortunate enough never to have heard REM, this is a good place to start, as it seems to cover every inch of their often obscure but always original style of music. 'Losing My Religion' is my favourite song, as the music and lyrics are so perfectly matched to give an accurate impression of a feeling of desolate confusion that every human being can relate to. 'Shiny Happy People' is a sarcastic, annoying paradox, making fun of shallow, 'shiny happy people'. The message is good, the song is not. This does not, however, in any way detract from the rest of the album, which is simply magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masters of melody, simply stunning., 21 July 2007
By 
Derek10 (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Out of Time (Audio CD)
Although it is difficult to say which is REM's best album, in my view, Out of Time just edges it. The consistency in the quality of the songs right the way through the album is frightening. I will never forget the day I first heard Losing My Religion. I was on the bus going to the gym when it came on the radio on my walkman, I've never been as blown away by a song as I was with this on first listen and no song since has had quite the same effect. It's the perfect combination of music, lyrics and melody and still remains in my view the best song ever made.

I hurried out and bought the album on the strength of this song and wasn't disappointed although I was initially when I heard the first 2 songs on the album Radio Song and Low. They have grown slightly but I still think they are poor and always skip them. However the rest of the album is perfection. Near Wild Heaven is joyous, very summery and melodic as is Shiny happy People which although may be a bit silly lyric wise is still as melodic a song as you are likely to hear and great to sing along to. Belong is different but as good as anything else on the album, the harmonies are stunning. Half a World Away is my second favourite song on the album only slightly ahead of Belong. Again, a perfect mix of melody, lyrics and music. Micheal Stipe's voice is superb all through the album but particularly on this song, beautifull. Texarkana is next, I would have prefered Stipe to have sung this but Mills still does a great job. Country Feedback took ages to grow on me and I love it now but still wouldn't include it as a stand out. Me in Honey finishes things off, another great melodic song.

If you like melody and catchy songs then look no further than this album. Pure brilliance. Marks out of 10 for the tracks are as follows.

Radio Song - 7/10
Low - 5/10
Losing My Religion 10/10
Near Wild Heaven 9/10
Endgame 8/10
Shiny Happy People 10/10
Belong 10/10
Half a World Away 10/10
Texakana 9/10
Country Feedback 8/10
Me in Honey 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Time (Audio CD)
Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE R.E.M, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of Time (Audio CD)
Replaced this CD because my partner only had them cassette and R.E.M is one of the best artists out there since slided bread.! xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out of Time
Out of Time by R.E.M. (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews