Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best live album EC has done to date
This album is so good. It shows Ec playing some stupendous blues, ripping through some Cream tracks, has the better tracks of his output at that time and some excellent playing alongside an orchestra. I've rarely heard EC play the guitar as well as on this album, it is breathtaking at times. One of my favourites of his live work.

Feel free to check out my...
Published on 9 July 2006 by Spider Monkey

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, I drifted off...
I think Eric Clapton is great and I regularly defend him when others label him as boring. But some of his releases make him very hard to defend. This live album is one such release. It just goes on and on and on without ever taking off. It's very hard going and when the orchestra comes in the indulgence just gets too much. Whatever about the first disc, staying awake...
Published 16 months ago by Twenty Benson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best live album EC has done to date, 9 July 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 24 Nights (Audio CD)
This album is so good. It shows Ec playing some stupendous blues, ripping through some Cream tracks, has the better tracks of his output at that time and some excellent playing alongside an orchestra. I've rarely heard EC play the guitar as well as on this album, it is breathtaking at times. One of my favourites of his live work.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most beautifull collection of classical Clapton!, 16 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 24 Nights (Audio CD)
I have collected Clapton LP's and CD's for a long time. This is one of the pearls! My favorites is Wonderful Tonight - 9 minutes of great feelings- and Old Love - 13 minutes in heaven!! Have You Ever Loved A Women and Edge of Darkness are also in the better end of Clapton live productions. Listening to the two excellent discs is almost like being in The Royal Albert Hall yourself. Buy it - it will complete any Clapton collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars musical genius, once in a lifetime, 18 April 2005
This review is from: 24 Nights (Audio CD)
Well....for me, Eric peaked from 1991-1993 with the recording of this album, the unplugged album and from the cradle.
The 24 nights album features eric at his most melodious. (The first cd is a little non-descript however).
but the second cd....thats where he lights up.
The singing is obviously in eric's inimitable trademark style but the guitar work, oh, it is a dream!
The tone is stratospherically smooth and sweet yet punchy and vivid. The melodies are superb- what it would have been to actually be eric and be in the moment of playing these songs. wow!
Eric's recent robert johnson recordings are all very well and good but going up and down a few blues pentatonic scale isn't particularly emotive. With the 24 nights album i cannot help but place my ears close to the speakers and listen desperately for all the subtle nuances in erics playing.....
anyway. suffice it to say - this is top quality music. listen. enjoy. yearn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "24 Nights - The Limited Edition" Boxed Set, 19 Feb 2004
This review is from: 24 Nights (Audio CD)
"24 Nights - The Limited Edition" boxed set, is a unique collaboration between Eric Clapton, Peter Blake, Derek Taylor and Genesis Publications commemorating Eric Clapton's record 24-night performance at the Royal Albert Hall in 1991. Peter Blake's scrapbook is a collection of pencil sketches, charcoal drawings and montages showing Eric and the band during rehearsals and performances. Blake was the Associate Artist of the National Gallery and is probably best known for his graphic cover of The Beatles' 'Sergeant Pepper' album cover. A vast selection of original memorabilia from the concert tour including back stage passes, hotel room lists, polaroid photographs, seating plans, set lists, laminates and sheet music are reproduced in the scrapbook, many of them tipp-ins pasted in by hand. The scrapbook is accompanied by a commentary book by Derek Taylor. Taylor attended rehearsals in Dublin, performances at the Royal Albert Hall and the after-show party. His account provides a unique insight into the backstage and on-the-road world of Eric Clapton and his band. A former publicist for Apple Corps (as well as the Mamas and Papas,The Beach Boys and The Byrds), Taylor was one of the most influential music industry professionals of the time. His commentary offers the reader a rare opportunity to experience an insider's perspective on the man who is universally recognised as the world's greatest blues guitarist. 24 Nights also includes a 2 CD set of live recordings from these performances featuring additional tracks not available anywhere else: "Layla (Orchestra Intro)", "No Alibis" and "I Shot The Sheriff" . Additional facsimile memorabilia including Eric's guitar picks, a backstage laminate pass, button badge and guitar string complete the set. 134 page (300mm x 210mm) scrapbook quarter-bound in bonded leather featuring sketches by Peter Blake and rare unseen photographs. All copies are personally autographed by Eric Clapton and Peter Blake. All items are produced to the highest standard and presented in a superbly-designed solandar box limited to 3,500 copies. Many of the memorabilia are pasted by hand. A 64 page (210mm x 148mm) second-volume of commentary by Derek Taylor looking at Eric and the band in rehearsals, at the shows and at the after-show party. Individual items of facsimile memorabilia including Eric's guitar picks, back-stage laminate, button badge and guitar string. THIS IS NOW OUT-OF-PRINT, SO IF YOU SPOT ONE FOR A GOOD PRICE SNATCH IT UP!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "24 Nights - The Limited Edition" Boxed Set, 19 Feb 2004
This review is from: 24 Nights (Audio CD)
"24 Nights - The Limited Edition" boxed set, is a unique collaboration between Eric Clapton, Peter Blake, Derek Taylor and Genesis Publications commemorating Eric Clapton's record 24-night performance at the Royal Albert Hall in 1991. Peter Blake's scrapbook is a collection of pencil sketches, charcoal drawings and montages showing Eric and the band during rehearsals and performances. Blake was the Associate Artist of the National Gallery and is probably best known for his graphic cover of The Beatles' 'Sergeant Pepper' album cover. A vast selection of original memorabilia from the concert tour including back stage passes, hotel room lists, polaroid photographs, seating plans, set lists, laminates and sheet music are reproduced in the scrapbook, many of them tipp-ins pasted in by hand. The scrapbook is accompanied by a commentary book by Derek Taylor. Taylor attended rehearsals in Dublin, performances at the Royal Albert Hall and the after-show party. His account provides a unique insight into the backstage and on-the-road world of Eric Clapton and his band. A former publicist for Apple Corps (as well as the Mamas and Papas,The Beach Boys and The Byrds), Taylor was one of the most influential music industry professionals of the time. His commentary offers the reader a rare opportunity to experience an insider's perspective on the man who is universally recognised as the world's greatest blues guitarist. 24 Nights also includes a 2 CD set of live recordings from these performances featuring additional tracks not available anywhere else: "Layla (Orchestra Intro)", "No Alibis" and "I Shot The Sheriff" . Additional facsimile memorabilia including Eric's guitar picks, a backstage laminate pass, button badge and guitar string complete the set. 134 page (300mm x 210mm) scrapbook quarter-bound in bonded leather featuring sketches by Peter Blake and rare unseen photographs. All copies are personally autographed by Eric Clapton and Peter Blake. All items are produced to the highest standard and presented in a superbly-designed solandar box limited to 3,500 copies. Many of the memorabilia are pasted by hand. A 64 page (210mm x 148mm) second-volume of commentary by Derek Taylor looking at Eric and the band in rehearsals, at the shows and at the after-show party. Individual items of facsimile memorabilia including Eric's guitar picks, back-stage laminate, button badge and guitar string. THIS IS NOW OUT-OF-PRINT, SO IF YOU SPOT ONE FOR A GOOD PRICE SNATCH IT UP!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, if somewhat slick, live album, 6 Jun 2003
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 24 Nights (Audio CD)
Seeing how this album only has fifteen tracks, I think it's safe to say that not all of Eric Clapton's 24 Royal Albert Hall performances are represented.
Never mind, though. "24 Nights" is still the second-best live album of Claptons near-forty-year career (the best being "Eric Clapton's Rainbow Concert"). Recorded in 1990-91, it features songs from his entire career, and of course gives the listener plenty of opportunities to complain about the songs that aren't here.
But let us focus on what is here instead. The man from Surrey draws no less than five songs from his then-current studio album "Journeyman", and all of them work well in this live setting, souning a little less polished than they do on the studio recordings. Especially "Pretending", which comes off slick and over-produced on "Journeyman", but rocks pretty well here.
The first four songs are recorded with Eric Clapton's touring band (bass, drums, keyboards and Clapton himself), and they do come of a little bit bland at times.
Of course I'm always looking for more grit and more real blues riffing in Clapton's playing, rather than just extended soloing, and "24 Nights" doesn't really deliver too much of that, but that is not to say that the arrangements are bad, and Clapton was never too big on the blooze-and-boogie-stuff anyway.
I much prefer the next four tracks, which are recorded with Robert Cray and Chicago blues king Buddy Guy, to the ones recorded with Clapton as the sole guitarist. The additional two guitars make the sound richer and lend a real blues-rock feel to "Watch Yourself" and the slow, groovy rendition of "Hoodoo Man", and "Worried Life Blues" fares pretty well, too. We don't really need yet another version of "Have Your Ever Loved A Woman", though.
The third installment (tracks 9-13) features seven musicians and two backup singers, and that band includes a second guitarist (Phil Palmer, who has worked with everybody from Ralph McTell to Robbie Williams), which bolsters the sound nicely, particularly on the aforementioned "Pretending" and "Bad Love". This set also includes the classic "Bell Bottom Blues", which is one of the highlights of the album.
Awful 80s-style keyboards, though.
The final two songs are recorded with the Royal Philharminic Orchestra (in addition to a full rock band). Whether or not that adds anything interesting to "Hard Times" or "Edge Of Darkness", which aren't the most interesting songs to begin with, is probably a matter of taste.
All in all, "24 Nights" is a pleasant, somewhat laid-back live album. The arrangements are more pop than blues at times, but the songs are generally good, and the sound quality is excellent, as is the musicianship. A good purchase if you like Eric Clapton's solo years, particularly from the mid-seventies onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly,utterly fantastic., 2 May 2002
By 
Mr. Colin Rankin "Colin Rankin" (Braintree, essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24 Nights (Audio CD)
I was in the Royal Albert Hall when some of this was being recorded.Magical.The album captures much of the occaision.Unfortunately I missed the 'classical' sessions and only saw the rock and blues performances but this recording perfectly captures all three.All in all,possibly one of the greatest live recordings of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite CDs, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 Nights (Audio CD)
I originally had 24 nights on VHS cassette when it was first released and have been meaning to buy the CD for use in the car. I am so pleased that I did as it is one of my most played Eric CDs> I love it and regret not buying it ages ago as it shows his versatility and professionalism as second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eric Clapton is so brilliant. well worth listening to, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 Nights (Audio CD)
I had this album on tape and looked everywhere for the CD.. found it and this album really rocks.. Eric Clapton is so brilliant. well worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great night out., 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 Nights (Audio CD)
Good memories.
I was there for a great night of rock and roll music.
Have become an even bigger fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

24 Nights
24 Nights by Eric Clapton (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews