Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glory indeed
Neil Young greeted his fourth decade as a recording artist with this solid rocker backed by Crazy Horse. This is a very compelling album and, like the title of track four, I can listen to it over and over.
If you are familiar with Neil's other albums with Crazy horse, you will know what to expect but, if you have only ever heard his lighter, more folksy stuff like...
Published on 1 Sep 2000 by John Peter O'connor

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag
A story of extremes: some turgid grunge that'll block up every drain in your bungalow (F*!#in' Up, Mother Earth and - especially - Farmer John); and some minor classics that exhibit Young's trademark shambolic licks (class as they are) - Country Home, Love and Only Love and the blistering Mansion on the Hill. NY and the band have done better, that's for sure, but...
Published on 2 April 2011 by Dash Riprock


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glory indeed, 1 Sep 2000
By 
John Peter O'connor - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ragged Glory (Audio CD)
Neil Young greeted his fourth decade as a recording artist with this solid rocker backed by Crazy Horse. This is a very compelling album and, like the title of track four, I can listen to it over and over.
If you are familiar with Neil's other albums with Crazy horse, you will know what to expect but, if you have only ever heard his lighter, more folksy stuff like Harvest, then I'd encourage you to listen to this as it shows a very different side of his music. This is much more rock oriented with some great guitar work.
The general style is related to, for example, the earlier release Zuma with the same backing team but he has something new to say here. I tried to list my real favourites and I ended up with a list of well over half of the tracks on the album.
The only song that I'm not really happy with is "Farmer John" which is the only cover and somehow, the song just doesn't fit with the rest of the album, everything else being original by Neil Young for this album.
But that is a minor criticism of a CD which has over and hour of top rate rock songs. Learn the words, play it loud and try to sing along. Then marvel at Neil's vocal range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ragged Genius, 18 Jun 2002
This review is from: Ragged Glory (Audio CD)
When they get older, most musicians are a shadow of their former selves. Not so with Neil Young. Ragged Glory is one of his best albums ever, not just in his later years. It was recorded live in the studio and the energy it captures is nothing short of stunning. It is a set dripping with loud guitars in that shambolic way only Neil & Horse know how to do. Right from the opener, 'Country House', which is such a great track, the intensity of the music does not let anywhere on the album. If you hav'nt got into Neil Young, you really don't know what you are missing. Pure genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 27 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Nicholas Long "Tornadobob" (Exeter, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ragged Glory (Audio CD)
Don't really go for acoustic stuff, Neil Young or anyone else, but this is the best rock 'n' roll album ever recorded with the best guitar solos. Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pristine rough edged diamond, 30 Aug 2009
By 
John Miller "Northolt_John" (Northolt, Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ragged Glory (Audio CD)
I added this disc to my collection recently and I keep finding myself playing this in the car as a disc of choice, by the looks of the CD booklet this was recorded in a shack-cum-garage in a single take and with no overdubs, amazing also when you consider that it was also digitally recorded lending it a crisp lively thrashy sound wth a very 'live' feel, I love 'Love to Burn' even though it's 10 minutes long you'd be forgiven for thinking it was a shorter track, I love the pervy lines in 'Farmer John', love indeed, more like lust.

If ever you wanted a definitive Young + Crazy Horse studio effort, this has to be the choice along with 'Zuma' from 1975.

I'd give it nine stars if I could!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "the days that used to be", 26 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Ragged Glory (Audio CD)
WOW. This really is one of the finest albums i have listened to in years, every song is full of Young's energy and passion.

NEIL YOUNG & CRAZY HORSE RULE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Neil Young and Crazy Horse, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Little Cat Voom (The middle of England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ragged Glory (Audio CD)
Ragged is always the right word for Crazy Horse! And they`re always glorious! It is a really cool title, for an awesome record. It`s loose, loud and lazy, and full of great tunes, by a bunch of musicians who are the perfect fit for each other. A few favourites of mine are "Country Home" (one of the best album openers ever in my opinion), "Mansion on the Hill", "Love and Only Love", and of course, "F*!#In` Up". Brilliant fun, and a brilliant record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only ever buy one Neil Young album, buy this one, 14 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Ragged Glory (Audio CD)
This is an astonishingly good hour of melody, harmony and noise from the master of all three. This was my introduction to Neil Young and I've played it, particularly the opening track, "Country Home" almost every day since October 1991.

If you're into the quieter, accoustic side of Neil Young, this might be one to avoid - this is a Neil Young and Crazy Horse record make no mistake about that. The amps are turned up to 11, the distortion pedals plugged in and the guitars are feeding back like the guitarist's lives depended on it.

Even in his sixties, this fine Canadian chappie could teach the young pups of today a few things about noise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ragged Genius, 18 Jun 2002
This review is from: Ragged Glory (Audio CD)
When they get older, most musicians are a shadow of their former selves. Not so with Neil Young. Ragged Glory is one of his best albums ever, not just in his later years. It was recorded live in the studio and the energy it captures is nothing short of stunning. It is a set dripping with loud guitars in that shambolic way only Neil & Horse know how to do. Right from the opener, 'Country House', which is such a great track, the intensity of the music does not let anywhere on the album. If you hav'nt got into Neil Young, you really don't know what you are missing. Pure genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loud and primal, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragged Glory (Audio CD)
Great to hear this again. Neil & the boys having maximum fun in a garage band - can't beat it! The whole album feels like it was rattled off in just a few days - inspired simple melodies played to the hilt. It has a great raw 'live' sound and you have to play it LOUD. It might not be regarded as his most 'challenging' piece of work but the guy's just letting rip and there isn't a weak track on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil Young Ragged Glory, 1 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. D. Kerr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragged Glory (Audio CD)
Such a brilliant album - possibly the best ever by Neil with Crazy Horse. Sounds live in the studio and really deserves to be played very loud through speakers and not on a personal stereo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ragged Glory
Ragged Glory by Neil Young (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews