Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic underlines her versatility
From the film 'Dick Tracey', this album is very retro, as the film is set in the 1930s. Madonna plays the temptress and villian/heroine (if you've seen the film, you'll know what I mean) Breathless Mahoney, hence the name of the album. Enter Madonna the cabaret singer... He's A Man is a Broadway-style song sung by Mahoney about Dick Tracey. It provides a nice...
Published on 28 July 2000 by josh_debbarman@hotmail.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars One of her best albums. Maybe it's because I don't estimate her ...
One of her best albums. Maybe it's because I don't estimate her average discography, but here she proved she could be an interpreter, not just a showgirl. And, for a while, be even taken into consideration by not the usual pop consumers
Published 8 months ago by Elleppi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic underlines her versatility, 28 July 2000
This review is from: I'm Breathless (Audio CD)
From the film 'Dick Tracey', this album is very retro, as the film is set in the 1930s. Madonna plays the temptress and villian/heroine (if you've seen the film, you'll know what I mean) Breathless Mahoney, hence the name of the album. Enter Madonna the cabaret singer... He's A Man is a Broadway-style song sung by Mahoney about Dick Tracey. It provides a nice introduction to the film and Madonna will impress many with her easy adaptation to the different style of singing. A powerful performance. Sooner Or Later is a slower, more seductive number, more reminiscent of a classic cabaret song. Those people who say that Madonna's voice is high-pitched and like that of Aqua's lead singer will be surprised at certain parts of this song. Hanky Panky is a naughty, bouncy song about lovin'-an'-a-spankin'. Madonna's voice oozes personality and authority as she instructs "spank me". A great number. I'm Going Bananas is a comic song with a strong latin influence. The voice used is completely different yet again (like that of the famous Brazillian singer, Carmen Miranda), emphasising Madonna's versatility. Cry Baby is another comedy song, where Madonna puts on a New York accent (another change !) and tells how her guy is such a cry baby. It's such a good impression, you almost forget it's Madonna singing. Who said Madonna can't act ? Something To Remember is a more serious affair, where Madonna's is voice full of regret and loss - the lyrics are quite evocative and emotional: "I was not your woman, I was not your friend, but you gave me something to remember," and "we were not meant to be, at least not in this lifetime". A tear-jerking classic. Back In Business shows the bad side of Mahoney's character, and how ! In a cruel, mocking, ice-queen voice, she tells how being bad is best. There is a huge difference in rhythm between the verses and the chorus and the bridges, but it all work together somehow with the jazzy music. Incredibly cool. More is a Material Girl à la Broadway. It's another great number, packed full of materialistic desires. "More is better than nothing - yes !" she yells, "gotta fill your cupboard, remember Mother Hubbard" she warns and "each possession you possess, helps your spirits to soar", she enthuses, and you can't help loving it. There is a fine piece of drama at the end to round off a superb song. Coming down from the dizzy heights of materialism, What Can You Lose is a beautiful, sad, little duet, to the accompaniment of a piano, between Madonna and Mandy Patinkin, the pianist from the film. Patinkin's quavery tone perfectly compliments Madonna's clear voice. It leaves you feeling regretful that it is only two minutes long. Now I'm Following You will quickly dispel any gloom though. Another duet, this time between Madonna and Warren Beatty, who did remarkably well. Part I sounds as if it comes from a classic musical, whilst Part II is a more modern dance version which follows on from Part I and which cleverly contains sections inserted from previous songs in the album. Vogue is, by any standards, quite astonishing. It starts off low-key, with a lengthy intro punctuated only occasionally by Madonna's spoken words. But then it metamorphasises into one of the greatest dance tunes ever. This song encourages everyone to get up and dance, because "you're a superstar, yes, that's what you are !", this song is beloved by the gay community, who took it to mean that coming out is not something to be avoided but embraced. The song also demands racial and gender equality. It includes a tribute to many stars of yesteryear who had 'Vogue'. A great, great song. A perfect, modern ending for a classic album. This is a glorious collection of classic musical music. Madonna not only puts on a good performance in the film (recommended, by the way), but also adapts her voice well to this very different type of music. Not only that, but there are different voices used in the different songs of the album. I challenge, nay, defy anyone to name any other modern pop star who could metamorphasise so gracefully into a '30s singer. Fans of Madonna's modern music may not give this one full credit, but because it is vastly dated already, it will never age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Madonna for all occasions, 19 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: I'm Breathless (Audio CD)
An often overlooked album, but spawning several classic hits - the most famous being Vogue which is a dance-floor-filler and will certainly stand the test of time.
The limited success of the film did not do the album any favours, but did allow her to incorporate the Dick Tracey theming into to her highly successful and entertaining Blond Ambition Tour.
Other good tracks include: 'Sooner or Later', 'Now I'm following you' and the ballad 'Something to Remember'.
Certainly one for the record collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Hanky Panky'... a track of some panache, 30 Nov. 2012
By 
Hal Marshall "It wasn't me!" (Brentwood) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm Breathless (Audio CD)
The first cassette single I ever bought in the nineties was 'Hanky Panky'. We really don't need to go into quite why that may have been the case, suffice to say I then moved on to owning the full soundtrack to this film first on cassette and then CD. I am no fan of Madonna's (an understatement on a par with telling the world I like taxmen and would always make one a cup of tea while he was flicking through my accounts) but you can almost forget she was ever involved with this album. The songs are all excellent ( except for 'Something To Remember', which is so awful that mere words cannot even begin to describe it) and this is one of my favourite ever albums, despite the fact that I have still never seen the film.

The last sixty seconds of 'Now I'm Following You (Part 2)' remains one of my most favourite pieces of music ever (not including that rather groovy bit in 'I'm A Pink Toothbrush' by Max Bygraves)... Mozart and his ilk be damned - we are talking about Madge here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Masterful Production Long Lasting & Classic, 9 Oct. 2012
This review is from: I'm Breathless (Audio CD)
As Madonna stepped the ladder to super stardom she explored her acting and as many may say stumbled a bit. But with this soundtrack and movie she definitely hit the jackpot in terms of showing her artistic style and perseverance to conquer the screens as well as the sound in her vocal performance. This amazing album not only takes you to that time, but also to the past were celebrities like Fred Astaire, Frank Sinatra, and other big names made quite a mark. The music was inspired for the movie DICK TRACY. Madonna not only gave critics something to talk about but also showed her staying power and versatility in embarking on something different and new. This particular album has her musical sound to have influences with jazz horns, the 40's, dance, and definitely classic style! Fans of Lady Gaga may see a reminisce of this like in Lady Gaga's Thanksgiving Special performance with Tony Bennet or her BBC Radio 1's Weekend performance of "Orange Colored Sky". Not exact, but a similar incorporation of taking from the past. That being said, this album is a sure fire banging sensation to enjoy!

While many songs are clearly visible and heard in many of Madonna's tours like VOGUE, HANKY PANKY, I'M GOING BANANAS, SOONER OR LATER, and NOW I'M FOLLOWING YOU others are also heard on the movie Dick Tracy like MORE, to name one. Quite noticeable to the average music fan of hers is Madonna's transformation of vocals as here they sound very nice. Not quite Minnie Mouse on Helium but more like a total resonating pitch along the lines of classic Hollywood legends like Marilyn Monroe and others. The music is elegant, strong in portraying emotions, and very deep thought provoking. For example, WHAT CAN YOU LOSE bringing a transition for the listener to hear, think, and contemplate. While love is beautiful it can be very difficult to experience in such a hard world. This is about letting go of your fears, your worries, and just letting the singing, music and style take you on a journey of fantasy where your wants and desires can happen. It's positive, empowering at times, fun on others.

Fans of Madonna will have many already heard songs like NOW I'M FOLLOWING YOU as it was danced and performed on her BLOND AMBITION TOUR. Another song also performed and very funny and tongue-in-cheek is I'M GOING BANANAS danced and sung on her GIRLIE SHOW TOUR. And of course the beautiful HANKY PANKY very uniquely and classically danced and sung on THE REINVENTION TOUR and BLOND AMBITION TOUR. Aside these, many are also present as described above. Another excellent addition is the touching ballad titled SOMETHING TO REMEMBER found on her album Something to Remember. This has a softer, more subtle Madonna singing in a very luscious yet somber tone of love being a memory and nothing more. It is one of the songs I can relate to the most as being a single woman in a world of men that make promises they don't keep are quite common.

The overall experience is classic, epic, and elegance combined with enthusiasm to take on perhaps a project you were not inspired to do, or an uplift from a mood that maybe was not good or cheerful. Songs like VOGUE also inspire and bring much energetic beats and vocals definitely club-strong and dance friendly. For new Madonna fans, this may be more of a "get in the groove to experience something different" mood rather than another Madonna club dance sound or pop style. It's a great album to play for many generations as the music never sounds outdated or dull.

This album was released May 22, 1990. The Japanese release features the lyrical sheet with both Japanese and English words to the song. The original releases did not have the lyrics. The obi-strip is also included adding collector's worth down-the-line. Other than that, there are no extra bonus tracks or added material. It is 45:08 minutes long. Madonna worked with many producers among the more known would be Shep Pettibone, Patrick Leonard, Bill Bottrell, and Gilbert. There were only 2 singles spawned: Vogue released March 20, 1990 and Hanky Panky +3 released June 30, 1990.

The first single VOGUE is a dance pop song and has club sounds with house beats. It is a very disco influenced song and a number very common back in the earlier times when the Latino and Afro American community was practicing their fashion pose dance styles [to imitate the Hollywood stars] in garage type get togethers/underground gay scene as the alternative lifestyle was still not accepted at the time according to Madonna As Postmodern Myth: How One Star's Self-Construction Rewrites Sex, Gender, Hollywood and the American Dream. The video and song played tribute to other Hollywood legends from the 20s and 30s. The video won 3 awards at the 1990 MTV VMA's out of 9 nominations according to Wikipedia. It was performed recently on the Super-bowl Halftime Bridgeport Show. The song went to #1 in the Billboard Hot 100. VOGUE was also performed at the 1990 MTV VMA wearing the Marie Antoinette inspired clothes. The second single, HANKY PANKY incorporates some swing and pop. The single peaked at #10 in the Billboard Hot 100 and was certified Gold by the RIAA. In the UK it peaked to #2.

SOONER OR LATER was performed also at the 1991 Oscar Awards creating quite a splash as Madonna was also seen hand in hand with Michael Jackson and looking very much like Marilyn Monroe. It has a very jazzy sound with much inspiring energetic beats. The song went on to win Academy Award for Best Original Song.

Critics and fans were amazed at Madonna's vocals as it became apparent she had vocal training and much improved sound. The album reached the top 10 in the United States and was certified Gold, Platinum, and 2x Platinum across. It sold more than 7 million copies worldwide. In support of this album and her LIKE A PRAYER album Madonna embarked on her BLOND AMBITION TOUR to promote them. Madonna has publicly stated that she feels this album is one of her favorites and that all of the songs are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good vocals. Oh yeah, it's got VOGUE on it., 15 Oct. 2013
By 
R. Hallifax - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I'm Breathless (Audio CD)
This is a departure for Madonna. Away from the typical pop of the time, she slows it down for her role in the Dick Tracy film.

1. He's a Man - Great opening track to the album. I was worried that this album would be full of dud ballads, but this track is sassy and fun. 9/10

2. Sooner or Later - A bit boring, but it's from the film, so no M influence on the writing. 4/10

3. Hanky Panky - a fast paced, naughty sassy account of someone who likes their bum spanked. I was disappointed to find out that M does not like, er, 'a good spanky', this song is pure lies!! Okay, I need to calm down and get over the fact that all songs arent autobiographical. This track is fun fun fun. 9/10

4. I'm Going Bananas - Think of Carmen Miranda's hat. This is the song version of that. 9/10

5. Cry Baby - This song is a bit cruel! About someones partner being a cry baby, and she's getting annoyed at him. It's ok. 6/10

6. Something to Remember - My favorite M song of all time. A ballad but a stunning one. There is something in the way she sings this. Magical! 10/10

7. Back in Business - and the tempo speeds up with this track. Along a similar line to 'He's a Man', it is MEGA SASS. 10.10

8. More - Fun and silly, from Dick Tracy. The three tracks from the film do stick out a little bit. 5/10

9. What Can You Lose - Horrible duet ballad. 2/10

10. Now I'm Following You - a song about dancing, just a short one, a duet with Warren Beatty. Ahem. It is very cute though. 8/10

11. Now I'm Following You Part 2 - This is an extension of the song, it is upbeat and 90s poppy. It's a silly little thing, but leads nicely into the next track... 7/10

12. VOGUE - What can I say about this? One of the greatest 90s pop songs. The piano, the brass blast, the lyrics, the video, the dance...the song feels SO out of place on this album, but hey, it's a blooming choon. 10/10

Overall, a neat concept album, one worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back years!!, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm Breathless (Audio CD)
Great albumn and madonna is kirky and cool. I sang all through (not sounding quite as cool) and would recommend to anyone who loved the film. Its all slightly mad but great tunes and lyrics from this era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madonna at her best..., 23 April 2010
By 
This review is from: I'm Breathless (MP3 Download)
Madonna lived in the wrong decade im sure... here she channels a sassy, buxom, blond vampirella who belts out hits like a 1930's club diva, its simply captivating to hear her croon songs like Sooner or Later, probarbly her best vocal performance of her entire career. Shes a genius and pre-empted the whole rat pack, diva-vamp sound way before the Spice Girls, Robbie Williams or Michael Buble et al. It was the soundtrack to the hugely succesful Dick Tracy film and Madonna was yet again riding a storm of controversial and critical acclaim with her legendary blond ambition tour, she cites this as her most accomplished and favourite work, Stephen Sondheim really catches the essence of the 1930's with this and his muse, Madonna, flat out sells the record, its brilliant and reminds me so much of my youth, a drama students dream! Its a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to a bygone age, 16 May 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I'm Breathless (Audio CD)
For this album, Madonna goes back in time to a completely different musical age - the 1940's, when pop music was very different, although the 1940's style is obscured somewhat by a 1990's production style. This is a light-hearted album, more in keeping with (though very different from) the song-and-dance music that Betty Grable did than the pop music of Dinah Shore or Jo Stafford. Some songs are covers of songs from that period but most are original songs written in style of the time, even including some novelty songs that you either love or hate. Madonna's big hit of the time, Vogue, was added to the album to help sales but it doesn't really blend in.
Stephen Sondheim composed three of the songs, these being Sooner or later, More and What can you lose - a duet with Mandy Patinkin. Madonna's performances on these songs are impressive. Of Madonna's own songs, Hanky panky and Vogue were huge hits but the outstanding song is Something to remember, which later became the title track of a compilation of her ballads. He's a man and Back in business are also wonderful. I also enjoyed Cry baby but I can imagine that some people will not like this at all. Madonna did not write the two other original songs - I'm going bananas (a slightly sill but entertaining novelty song) and Now I'm following you parts 1 and 2 (a lot of fun but definitely not a novelty).
I had to play this album a few times before I really appreciated it, but I liked it more with each listen. Although this album is just for fun, Madonna's covers of the Sondheim songs suggest that she could record a serious jazz album if she ever wants to.
This is not like any of Madonna's other albums so some of her fans may not like it. At the same time, I'm not sure that it will win her any new fans. Nevertheless, this is a fascinating album that proves just how versatile Madonna really is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very pleased, 4 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm Breathless (Audio CD)
i love this cd sing along in the car to all the tracks but absoloutly to Hanky Panky can't help myself,fast speedy delivery, really pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My body just hurts thinking about it!, 30 Sept. 2011
By 
steven Green (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: I'm Breathless (Audio CD)
Potentialy the most fun album of madonnas career,with select cuts from the film dick tracy and other material,madonna excels. The album features warren beaty and culminates in the worldwide number 1 -vogue. Its a light hearted fun record that shouldnt be took to seriously and flows in that vein
This is a good buy and i reccomend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I'm Breathless
I'm Breathless by Madonna (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews