Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intimate, quirky, lush, sparse, infinitely listenable, 21 Feb 2001
By 
Mr. Stuart Robert Harris "Vivir Con Arte" (Norwalk CT 06850) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acadie (Audio CD)
Confession time. I can't get enough of that Daniel Lanois sound. Like other great studio wizards, his touch is unmistakable. On other people's albums such as U2 and Emmylou Harris, some listeners might find the trademark Lanois sound palette a tad too intrusive. Personally I love it.
On Acadie, it's entirely his own show. The songs are simple and rarely less than lovely. There's the big sweeping soundscape of "Still Water" and "The Maker" and the sparse intimacy of "Silium's Hill". The final flourish says it all - "Amazing Grace" as you've never heard it before, with Aaron Neville warbling like an angel seguing into a trademark Lanois reverb coda of heroic proportions.
This album will happily create an ambience in the background, but also richly reward the most attentive listening. I hesitated between a four and a five - don't want to devalue my currency! - but the heart says definitely a five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite!, 30 Nov 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Acadie (Audio CD)
This beautifully textured masterpiece sparkles with classic songs like Still Water, The Maker, O Marie, Under A Stormy Sky and Where The Hawkwind Kills. The gripping melodies have a folky feel but the playing and production give it an ethereal, atmospheric dimension that puts it in a league of its own. O Marie is sung entirely in French, while Jolie Louise and Under A Stormy Sky have alternating French and English verses. The album concludes with a tender, subdued version of Amazing Grace. There is a certain spiritual quality to the music that is hard to define, but also found in the work of fellow Canadian Jane Siberry, or on John Cale and Brian Eno’s Wrong Way Up or in Peter Gabriel’s songs Blood Of Eden and Come Talk To Me. Acadie is a very uplifting listening experience. Exquisite music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 30 Oct 2008
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Acadie (Audio CD)
This beautifully textured masterpiece sparkles with atmospheric songs of great profundity including ballads like Still Water, The Maker & Where The Hawkwind Kills and uptempo tracks like O Marie and Jolie Louise. Brian Eno must also be credited for making the music so special.

The exquisite melodies have a folkie feel but the playing and production give the music an ethereal, brooding dimension that puts it in a league of its own. O Marie is sung entirely in French, while Jolie Louise and Under A Stormy Sky have alternating French and English verses.

The album concludes with a subdued rendition of Amazing Grace. There is a certain spiritual quality to the music that is hard to define, but also found in the work of fellow Canadian Jane Siberry, in Peter Gabriel's songs Blood Of Eden & Come Talk To Me and of course in the work of Emmylou Harris.

Lanois produced and played on Emmylou's exceptional album Wrecking Ball; on her live album Spyboy there is an impressive 8 minute + version of his composition The Maker. Acadie is a very uplifting listening experience and slightly better than his other great album For the Beauty of Wynona.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An under-appreciated low-key ambient gem, 11 Dec 2000
This review is from: Acadie (Audio CD)
Listeners may wonder how Lanois' own work compares with the work of all the artists he's produced (U2, Peter Gabriel etc.) The pleasant surprise is that his own album is every bit as well produced, as sonically evocative and at least as atmospheric as any of the above artists recordings. Its a great late-night record and one which is a real grower. Also, it's strange that it never received the recognition it clearly deserves. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite album ever, 16 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Acadie (Audio CD)
i feel a bit sorry for mr lanois that he brought this masterpiece out as his 1st album. surely he will never better this absolute genius of an album. after 16 years every song is still superb and shows no signs of aging or familiarity. all of his albums are great but this is so good it transcends not only his but every other album ive heard in nearly 40 years of listening to music. No fillers at all but listen to siliums hill and st anns gold. they will send a shiver down your spine.

turn it up and wallow in perfection!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maker of marvels, 20 Oct 2011
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Acadie (Audio CD)
Daniel Lanois has a sound as immediately identifiable as that of Phil Spector or Joe Meek, whether producing for Dylan, Emmylou, U2 or the Neville Brothers. Heavy on the echo, clear, spidery-velvet guitars, plenty of `swampy` atmosphere. Imagine how utterly different Dylan`s Oh Mercy or Emmylou`s Wrecking Ball would have sounded without Lanois at the helm. (If you ain`t heard `em, hear `em, they`re great.)
When this debut album sidled up to us back in 1989 he`d been producing others` records for about 15 years in his hometown of Quebec, including Martha & The Muffins
(his sister being a Muffin). In fact I`m amazed to find he`s sixty years old now, same age as me.
I can`t remember what made me buy this CD all those years ago - perhaps I heard a track on the radio - but I can`t imagine being without it. A year might go by when I
haven`t played it, then I discover it again and heave a contented sigh of relief and
recognition.
The name Acadie is related not to some Arcadian Eden but rather describes the Canadian Nova Scotians who were exiled by the French and settled in Louisiana, hence Lanois` New Orleans sound, that being his second home, and hence too the word Cajun. Acadie the album is drenched in Cajun sounds, soulful bayou plaints, the French that`s spoken in both Quebec and New Orleans, and both the light & playful and darker & heavier sounds of the Deep South.
The album as a whole is like a suite of songs, barely a pause between tracks, and a distinct air of gentle menace hangs over much of it - though that is in part down to the generally heavy-lidded production.
On the one hand much of Acadie is virtually an acoustic set of melodic songs, on the other it`s as electric as they come, in both senses of the word. I`m loath to describe any of the songs, preferring to let newcomers hear the magic and beauty of this unique album for themselves. It`s not a disc that has `standout` tracks, or indeed hits, though the first four tracks should haul you in like a tired catfish: Still Water and the astonishing The Maker, followed by the lighter O Marie and sweetly tuneful Jolie Louise. And if the jaunty Under A Stormy Sky doesn`t make you want to rise from your seat and execute a deft two-step, I`ll be surprised.
Acadie is simply a weirdly wonderful gift to the world from a man with a musical vision.
There`s nothing quite like it out there.
As I say, I can`t imagine life without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album changed my life, 28 Jun 2002
By 
Marja A. Brouwer (THE HAGUE Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Acadie (Audio CD)
This first solo album by producer/genius Lanois changed my life - ever since I first heard the brilliant "The Maker" I knew there was no way back: this album I had to buy! It lifts you up from the surface of the earth and leaves you to hover above it... Ambient, romantic, spiritual, whatever. The most brilliant album I own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful & mystical music, totally relaxing., 12 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Acadie (Audio CD)
I have listened to this album many times & enjoy it more every time I listen to it. It is so different, if you like MOBY you will probably like this, the mix of French & English is wonderful. This is one of those albums that should be in everyones collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece!, 16 July 2008
This review is from: Acadie (Audio CD)
I have this record in my collection for a number of years.Every time i hear it again it's like the first time!I have to admit that i can't get enough of these Lanoiesque sonic landscapes.To the contrary of others here i tend to like more the "fisherman's daughter" and the "white mustang II".I can understand the beauty of the other songs but for me the Lanois' musical genius really shines when he just plays his heart out ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The CD is in excellent condition and is a favourite album of mine, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acadie (Audio CD)
I have this on vinyl and can't play it as the turntable is kapput. The CD is in excellent condition and is a favourite album of mine. Well packed and here well within the time limits given Thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Acadie
Acadie by Daniel Lanois (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews