Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many voices in harmony with Emmylou
This interesting album of collaborations includes tracks that are available elsewhere. By no means amongst Emmylou's best albums, Duets nevertheless contains some real gems and provides a pleasant listening experience.
The uptempo track The Price I Pay sees Harris accompanied by the Desert Rose band, and is followed by the old classic with Gram Parsons, the timeless...
Published on 12 Feb 2005 by Pieter Uys

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant selection of duets
A pleasant selection of duets , that improve and grow on you as you progress through the tracks. 'Star of Bethlehem ' with Neil Young and 'Gulf Coast Highway'with Willie Nelson are especially memorable. All tracks well worth a listen.
Published on 5 Feb 2012 by Colin BS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many voices in harmony with Emmylou, 12 Feb 2005
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Duets (Audio CD)
This interesting album of collaborations includes tracks that are available elsewhere. By no means amongst Emmylou's best albums, Duets nevertheless contains some real gems and provides a pleasant listening experience.
The uptempo track The Price I Pay sees Harris accompanied by the Desert Rose band, and is followed by the old classic with Gram Parsons, the timeless Love Hurts. Roy Orbison provides the male vocal on That Lovin' You Feelin' Again, a mellow middle of the road number, more pop than country, that works surprisingly well.
We Believe In Happy Endings (with Earl Thomas Conley) is a traditional, slow country ballad, whilst Thing About You (with Southern Pacific) is quite catchy with a lilting beat. Star Of Bethlehem, with Neil Young, is short, sad and lovely, and All Fall Down, with George Jones, is another mournful ballad where Emmylou's voice really stands out in its phrasing and inflection.
Although John Denver's voice dominates Wild Montana Skies, it is one of my favourites here with its uplifting melody and soaring vocals. Next up is the breathtaking Green Pastures, a beautiful bluegrass-gospel number with Rickey Skaggs that I first heard on the album Roses In The Snow. This is definitely a highlight of the album. There is a riveting live version of this song on Emmylou's Spyboy album.
Gulf Coast Highway is a story song in the country tradition, very moving and very beautiful as Willie Nelson's voice blends perfectly with Emmylou's. If I Needed You is a gorgeous yearning love song where Don Williams provides the male vocal, and the album concludes with Evangeline, a brilliant collaboration with The Band.
Like all Emmylou's work, Duets is quality music. I wouldn't rate it up there with her best like Pieces Of The Sky, Roses In The Snow, Wrecking Ball, Red Dirt Girl or Cowgirl's Prayer, but the album is consistently enjoyable and every song is a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant selection of duets, 5 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duets (Audio CD)
A pleasant selection of duets , that improve and grow on you as you progress through the tracks. 'Star of Bethlehem ' with Neil Young and 'Gulf Coast Highway'with Willie Nelson are especially memorable. All tracks well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duets (Audio CD)
This woman, it seems, can sing with anyone. The variety of singers on offer here with well known songs makes it a joy to the ears. Everyone will have their iwn preferences, mine are the Neil Young snd Willie Nelson ones. A really lovely album that always ends too auickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the haunting voice, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duets (Audio CD)
Heard several of her tracks years ago on country club on radio 2 and always wanted to get her on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars easy listening, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duets (Audio CD)
very good enjoyable to listen to would recommend to others who like her music. relaxing songs to sit and chill !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sing it again Emmy, 29 April 2013
This review is from: Duets (Audio CD)
This is a few years old now, but is an excellent collection of Emmylou's duets. Her voice is so good and her ability to harmonise with a range of different artists is a joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting sample of Emmylou's duets, 23 Oct 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duets (Audio CD)
Emmylou frequently recorded duets with other singers. A few (such as Sister's coming home with Tanya Tucker) appeared on her albums but most did not - they appeared on the albums of her duet partners instead. This album gathers together a selection of those duets, together with Green pastures (a track from Roses in the snow) and If I needed you (which appeared on Cimarron as well as the Don Williams album Especially for you, now available on CD titled Lord I hope this day is good).
We believe in happy endings, with Earl Thomas Conley, was a number one country hit. If I needed you was also a huge country hit. Love hurts is the oldest track here, being taken from Grievous angel, the classic Gram Parsons album. Green pastures (a song that uses the same tune as the better known Farther along) features Ricky Skaggs and Dolly Parton, though you have to listen closely to hear Dolly on this track. The tracks with the Desert rose band (Price I pay), Southern Pacific (Thing about you), Willie Nelson (Gulf coast highway), George Jones (All fall down) and Roy Orbison (That loving you feeling again) are all brilliant but my favorite track here is Wild Montana skies, featuring John Denver.
There is a lot of great music here. No Emmylou fan who enjoys hearing her sing country music should be without this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS C.D.HOPE YOU WILL, 21 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. Nicholas R. Muller (london england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duets (Audio CD)
THIS C.D. IS MADE UP OF DUETS TAKEN FROM OTHER C.D.S OVER A LONG PERIOD OF TIME ITS A GREAT C.D. SONGS TO MENTION THAT I LIKE ON THIS WOULD BE GULF COAST HIGHWAY[WRITTEN BY NANCI GRIFFITH] WHICH SHE SINGS WITH WILLIE NELSON AND EVANGELINE WITH THE BAND THE SONG FROM THAT C.D WITH THE SAME NAME IS NOT AVAIABLE AT THIS TIME [ 21/1/2009] ITS NICE TO HAVE THE DUETS ON ONE DISC SO YOU CAN STICK THEM IN YOUR PLAYER AND LISTEN ALL IN ONE GO YOU MAY HAVE THEM ALL ALREADY SPREAD OVER MANY ALBUEMS IF LIKE ME YOUR A HUGH FAN OF EMMYLOU SHE DOES ANOTHER WITH DON WILLIAMS IF I NEEDED YOU WRITTEN BY TOWNES VANT ZANDT WHICH IS A CRACKER SONG ITS TAKEN FROM THE C.D. CIMARRON WIHCH HAS BEEN RE-RELEASED NOW RICKY SKAGGS APPEARS ON GREEN PASTURES HE HAS WORKED AND WRITTEN MANY SONGS FOR HER IN THE PAST I THINK HE GOT HIS BIG BREAK WITH HER BEFORE LEAVEING AND GOING ON TO A HUGH SUCCESS IN HIS OWN RIGHT. SHE HAS DONE MANY MORE DUETS SINCE SO MAYBE THEY WILL RELEASE A NEW ONE IN THE COURSE OF TIME WITH THE REST THERE ARE MORE ON THE BOX SET SONGBIRD SOME ARE ONLY ON THAT BOXSET DIFFERENT VERSIONS [TAKES]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duets (Audio CD)
Some great songs, but tending to feature the co-artist, would have preferred more Emmy-Lou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Duets (Audio CD)
Good album but not as good as I wanted it to be ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Duets
Duets by Emmylou Harris (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews