Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Faint Praise?
For people who know and love every Gordon Lightfoot album, this would seem a waste of money. For those of us who liked him back in the sixties, this is a good catch-up. The man knows how to write songs. Those fresh to me are up to standard. I have a couple in the old versions and the new takes find him in pretty good voice.
Published on 9 Mar 2012 by lonniej

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the original versions.
Be aware these are predominantly not the original recordings but were recorded in 1988. There are two consequences. Gordon's voice, although still pleasant, is thinner and sometimes a bit nasal, unlike the deeper, mellow voice of his youth. It's not a major issue but may cause some to prefer the earlier efforts. More serious is the use of keyboards to fill in the...
Published on 12 Dec 2010 by Fidory


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the original versions., 12 Dec 2010
By 
Fidory (Mid Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gord's Gold Vol.2 (Audio CD)
Be aware these are predominantly not the original recordings but were recorded in 1988. There are two consequences. Gordon's voice, although still pleasant, is thinner and sometimes a bit nasal, unlike the deeper, mellow voice of his youth. It's not a major issue but may cause some to prefer the earlier efforts. More serious is the use of keyboards to fill in the background where, originally, string arrangements had been used (not always sympathetically, it must be said). Where this might be easily forgiven in a live performance, it can begin to sound like a low whine on some songs (e.g. Pony Man, where it is just not needed).

An example: `The wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald' on this CD is a good version, but certainly less enjoyable than the original version, on the `Rhino High Five'. If that is what you are after to complete the first `Gord's Gold' selection I advise you to download the original MP3.

Don't get me wrong, it is not a bad collection and has the excellent `If it should please you', albeit with the above objections in evidence. And if you are a real aficionado you might enjoy the alternative versions offered here. I play it and enjoy it (but would much rather have the originals).

Before you buy be aware that this is not quite a `Greatest Hits vol 2' but a set of later (and arguably inferior) interpretations, and check out the voice and the rather ubiquitous keyboards to make sure you are OK with them. Still, great songs and even on this CD `Gord' doesn't let you down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Faint Praise?, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gord's Gold Vol.2 (Audio CD)
For people who know and love every Gordon Lightfoot album, this would seem a waste of money. For those of us who liked him back in the sixties, this is a good catch-up. The man knows how to write songs. Those fresh to me are up to standard. I have a couple in the old versions and the new takes find him in pretty good voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the old uns are the best!, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i remember hearing this some years ago, and the track " The Wreck of the of the Edmond Fitzegerald " is one of my all time favourites! I heard it on tv other day and can't stop humming it! It tells a story that is soo sad but soo right! And to now listen to some of his other songs is a refresher course in good old country music! great voice and superb music! For me PERFECT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some more gems from Gord., 11 May 2011
By 
Ms. J. E. Vesey "Janet V. MusicMad" (Co, Cork. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gord's Gold Vol.2 (Audio CD)
This CD has more great songs from Gordon Lightfoot's pen. Although the first 3 tracks are disappointing (recording poor and hard to hear the words) Gord soon sounds like his old self. Love the charm of "The Pony Man" and the message of "Race among the Ruins" The dreamy "Christian Island" is a winner too. Memorable melodies and songwriting to treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Check before you buy, 18 Dec 2010
By 
Fidory (Mid Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Be aware many of these song versions are not the original recordings but were recorded in 1988. Despite being marked as such on the MP3 list it is easy to overlook this fact. There are two consequences. Gordon's voice, although still pleasant, is thinner and sometimes a bit nasal, unlike the deeper, mellow voice of his youth. It's not a major issue but may cause some to prefer the earlier efforts. More serious is the use of keyboards to fill in the background where, originally, string arrangements had more usually been used (not always sympathetically, it must be said). Where this might be easily forgiven in a live performance, it can begin to sound like a low whine on some songs (e.g. Pony Man, where it is just not needed).

An example: `The wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald' on this CD is a good version, but certainly less enjoyable than the original version, on the `Rhino High Five'. If that is what you are after to complete the first `Gord's Gold' selection I advise you to download the original version.

Don't get me wrong, it is not a bad collection and has the excellent `If it should please you', albeit with the above objections in evidence. And if you are a real aficionado you might enjoy the alternative versions offered here. I play it and enjoy it (but would much rather have the originals).

Before you buy be aware that this is not quite a `Greatest Hits vol 2' but a set of later (and arguably inferior) interpretations, and check out the voice and the rather ubiquitous keyboards to make sure you are OK with them. Still, great songs and even on this CD `Gord' doesn't let you down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for one track, 28 Oct 2000
By 
Mr. R. Szweda "royzee" (mk uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gord's Gold Vol.2 (Audio CD)
Worth it for one track - the Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald.
The moody, ethereally sad song about the ship that was lost with all hands while carrying iron ore across the Great Lakes is an epic. The clinging sadness is reminiscent of other major musical poems like June Tabor's Heroes of Suvla.
GL is one of Canada's stars - like Neil Young and Leonard Cohen - but unlike them has in some respects been eclipsed by the more recent Bryan Adams and Ms Dion. He deserves to be "rediscovered" especially in the light of the newer wave of singer songwriters.... after all, GL did blaze a trail in folky rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gord's Gold Vol.2
Gord's Gold Vol.2 by Gordon Lightfoot (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews