Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So glam, it's absurd
If Sign 'o' the Times was Prince singing about things we all understand and can empathise with-- being in love, being horny and worrying that the world might not last long enough to enjoy it-- then Lovesexy is Prince begging us for 45 minutes of our time, as he now has something extraordinary to tell us, and we certainly haven't heard anything like it before.
It...
Published on 21 July 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
sound is just crap
Published 15 hours ago by paul mclaughlin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So glam, it's absurd, 21 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lovesexy (Audio CD)
If Sign 'o' the Times was Prince singing about things we all understand and can empathise with-- being in love, being horny and worrying that the world might not last long enough to enjoy it-- then Lovesexy is Prince begging us for 45 minutes of our time, as he now has something extraordinary to tell us, and we certainly haven't heard anything like it before.
It begins with the sound of fire and ends with water. We are welcomed to the New Power Generation (back then, a concept rather than a backing group). We are exhorted to say 'YES!', jerk our bodies 'like a horny pony would', to clap our hands, stomp our feet and chant that 'God is love, love is God'. To dance on, dance on, dance on... It all crystallises on the title track, when what has gone before begins to make some kind of sense: love God, love life, love sex, but know this-- they're all the same thing. 'I wish U love, I wish U heaven' he says, in one of pop's simplest, yet most profound statements of love for another person. Then it ends as bafflingly as it began, with a warning not to 'kiss the beast' and sounding for all the world like a black mass.
Still listening? Probably not. Because this isn't what people want from their pop music, is it? It all sounds like too much hard work? Far from it-- Lovesexy is an album of nine songs that have enough killer tunes for a record more than twice its length. Whether or not you buy into Prince's concept of the spiritual lay, hearing him try to convince you is enormous fun.
The band is the best he ever had, his production was never more sure-footed and as an artist, he was never more creative. Like all the best albums, Lovesexy is filled with wonderful, singable melodies and songs that exhibit a broad emotional range, from the highs of 'Eye No' to the lows of 'Anna Stesia' and beyond. It's a breathtaking trip, spirited and uplifting, performed with such exuberance that it makes even its out-there concept become utterly convincing.
Yes, it's arcane, messy and borderline pretentious. Yes, it has a few X-rated moments and a noticeable lack of the conventional pop song Prince reliably included amongst even his most difficult work. It's far from perfect, and loses some of its thrust towards the end. But this is pop music for grown-ups, that delivers new pleasures as the years go by. And that's very rare.
Say YES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 18 April 2005
This review is from: Lovesexy (Audio CD)
With this album Prince expertly tackles the most complex of human emotions- love, in just 45 minutes. For example, being deeply in love with someone is analysed in the fantastic 'When 2 R in love' and loneliness is covered in 'Anna Stesia'. He also looks into when love is merely physical with such songs as 'Glam slam'. Not only does love come in for a deep examination but Prince's faith is a continuing theme throughout. Obviously 'I wish U heaven' is concerned with religion but references to god and the like are spread all the way through. Though it has a message to tell it is still catchy and very listenable. It is the perfect CD to unwind to and is uplifting. As mentioned in other reviews originally the songs were all blended together and so there was just one track. However on my copy despite the CD label saying "songs are in a continuous sequence" all the songs are have individual tracks, making it a 9 track album Additionally the inlay helpfully comes with lyrics. Amazingly apart from 'Alphabet St' much of this material has been largely over looked. Nevertheless, despite being released back in 1988 it still sounds fresh today and is a essential addition to any Prince collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince's last great album, 19 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Lovesexy (Audio CD)
This was Prince's last great album, coming at the end of an amazing creative streak encompassing Parade, Dream Factory/Camille/Crystal Ball/Sign o' the Times, The Black Album, and this hastily realeased but lushly brilliant substitute. At the time, it was a let-down from Sign o' the Times, and everyone made sure to get their hands on a copy of the Black Album boot, but in retrospect it clearly belongs to the fertile Sign period, rather than to the decline that began with Batman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 18 Aug 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Lovesexy (Audio CD)
This album is highly underrated, as it has some of his best moments! From the funk of "Eye/I No" to the smoothness of "When 2 R In Love", this is not Prince's best. but very good, definately in the top 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rebirth of the soul, 14 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Lovesexy (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album. This is Prince ay his best. The album was recorded very quckly but you can't tell. The use of the studio on this album is absolute genius. There is so much going on on this record that 12 years after its releases im still finding new things. I would recommend headphones when listening to this for the full effect. Each and every song is wonderful. This is Prince's most beautiful album full of multilayered vocals and counter melodies. It is a spiritual experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great album. Not to be missed., 26 Nov 1999
By 
This review is from: Lovesexy (Audio CD)
This album has a very spiritual theme, but don't let that put you off. There are a number of great tracks here with Alphabet Street, Glam Slam, Anna Stesia, I Wish U Heaven and the title track all standing out. The musical theme is mostly funk and this represents Prince at his finest. A must for all Prince fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovesexy [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
sound is just crap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a mixed bag., 16 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lovesexy (Audio CD)
"Lovesexy" is quite an enigmatic album. At first listen, particularly through headphones, it can be very bewildering. "Eye Know" is a superb dance track, and the musical collaging of "Alphabet St." is excellent. However, this is off-set by tracks such as "Glam Slam" and "Lovesexy". I find it hard to get into a track with the lyics "Glam slam thank you mam"! The title track is supposedly an early funk outing for the NPG, but I feel it was perhaps a little early for the collective to make a typical "Billy Jack Bitch"/"Hide The Bone"/"Newpower Soul type track as the instrumentation now sounds very dated. However, "Anna Stesia", "I Wish U Heaven", and "Positivity" are all good songs, making this album a pleasing experience. Overall: Quirky but good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The album that shouldn't have been, 24 Feb 2009
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovesexy (Audio CD)
1987. After the success of the "Sign O The Times" album, Prince retired to the studio with the intention of writing a very "black"-sounding album, something dark and funky which people could play in clubs. Rumour has it he was experimenting with drugs at the time, and the resulting product - "The Black Album" is simply superb, as dark and funky as he could have hoped for. However, the story goes that an acquaintance of his heard the album, said "this isn't you," and asked if it was the way he'd wish to be remembered if he died. Finding himself in agreement, he withdrew the album just prior to its release and quickly recorded a replacement which would be its exact opposite - as light, bright and optimistic as he could manage. "Lovesexy" was the result.

I confess that I've never been a huge fan of this album, and from the start the opening track "I No" sounds like a mess, a seemingly huge band all fighting for attention, their individual melody lines clashing and collapsing in a heap. "Alphabet St" is great for its opening two minutes, but the second half, chiefly involving a fairly ugly-sounding rap from Cat Glover, is scruffy. "Glam Slam" is enjoyable for the first half, tremendous for the second, but Prince sounds bored, his vocal almost dirge-like. "Anna Stesia" is probably the best track on the record, a huge, piano-led symphony of a song which just grows and grows until it stops abruptly.

The second half is a little shambolic. "Dance On" is terrible, a choppy synth stabbing away as a mixture of programmed and real drums go into battle over the top, and nobody thought to bring a tune to the party. "Lovesexy" is more of the same, a few minutes of keyboards and horns which drift from memory soon after, but then, seemingly from nowhere, the gorgeous "When 2 R In Love" appears, salvaged from "The Black Album", and to be truthful it works better here than it did in its true home. "I Wish U Heaven" is lovely, if inconsequential and blighted by a weak lyric ("If I say eleven / you can say it's seven / still I wish you heaven"). Finally, "Positivity" tries to be a bit like "Anna Stesia" but doesn't make it, instead being a low-key chugger for most of its duration until a choir pops up at the end to offer a little salvation.

For some, "Lovesexy" is one of Prince's best albums, but for me it sounds like a rush-job, layer upon layer of instrumentation trying to disguise a fatal lack of good songs. If another artist had released this it could have been a career best, but for Prince, and especially coming on the back of "Sign..." and the aborted "Black Album", it can only be seen as a failure.

Sadly, there was worse to come...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let it wash over you, 11 Mar 2002
By 
Craig Mansfield (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovesexy (Audio CD)
This cd has only one track, this was so you had to listen to it, in the way Prince intended.
People should let the experience of the cd, wash over them.
This is the only CD I have out of hundreds, which makes me feel uplifted, and more positive after I've listened to it.
The album was the beginning of the decline in popularity, of Prince's music, but it holds some of his most beautiful music, and you can tell he was buzzing when he made it.
5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lovesexy
Lovesexy by Prince (Audio CD - 1988)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews