Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album that rocketed him into guitar aristocracy.
Robben Ford came to prominence as a rival to Larry Carlton and played with the group LA Express, before notching up his own credits as a session man for Joni Mitchell, George Harrison, Barbra Streisand & Little Feat. He even toured with Miles Davis in 1987. This album was one of his early solo outings and dates from 1990, and it immediately rocketed him into guitar...
Published on 22 Mar 2002 by Alister King

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great guitar - terrible production
Great guitar - Terrible production

There is no doubting that Robben Ford is one of the most talented blues guitarists of his generation, seemingly equally at home playing a bit of rock and jazz fusion when the mood takes him.

My problem with this album, and it is a big problem, is that the appalling late 80's production techniques render this album...
Published on 1 Nov 2007 by Pete


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great guitar - terrible production, 1 Nov 2007
This review is from: Talk To Your Daughter (Audio CD)
Great guitar - Terrible production

There is no doubting that Robben Ford is one of the most talented blues guitarists of his generation, seemingly equally at home playing a bit of rock and jazz fusion when the mood takes him.

My problem with this album, and it is a big problem, is that the appalling late 80's production techniques render this album almost unlistenable for me. I have read one reviewer describing Ford's albums from this era as "...the Steely Dan of the Blues..." this does a huge disservice to both. I think Ford (or Scott Ferguson the producer) is attempting a Dan-like level of fidelity but falling well short of the mark. Worst offenders on this album are the title track in which the keyboard intro has a really grating midi sound almost as if the player has just hit the "blues shuffle" pre-set button and "Help the Poor" where the rhythm track seems to owe quite a lot to Billy Oceans Caribbean Queen (strange but true). This is nasty stuff.

This albums only saving grace is Ford's exemplary guitar playing which is at times breathtaking. I would advise potential purchasers to investigate some of Ford's albums recorded in the 70's, perhaps 1972's "Sunrise" first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album that rocketed him into guitar aristocracy., 22 Mar 2002
By 
Alister King "Big Al" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talk To Your Daughter (Audio CD)
Robben Ford came to prominence as a rival to Larry Carlton and played with the group LA Express, before notching up his own credits as a session man for Joni Mitchell, George Harrison, Barbra Streisand & Little Feat. He even toured with Miles Davis in 1987. This album was one of his early solo outings and dates from 1990, and it immediately rocketed him into guitar aristocracy. In 'Talk To your Daughter' Robben defines his Blues tonality with aplomb and walks the tone/chops line like a tight-rope, teasing you ear with solos that sometimes lean over the abyss but never overbalances. There is a range of songs with a variety of Blues harmonies, lyrical depth and musically very rich, replete with technique for the budding session player.
Stand out tracks: Talk to Your Daughter, Ain't Got Nothin' But the Blues, Revelation, Can't Let Her Go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good blues songs well played., 7 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Talk To Your Daughter (Audio CD)
Blues tonality is really specific, and very often the tempatation for accomplished musicians like Robben is to play too many notes that belay their experience of other musical forms, notably jazz. In 'Talk To your Daughter' Robben walks the tonality line like a tight-rope, teasing you ear with solos that sometimes lean over the abyss but never overbalance.
There is a range of songs with different blues harmonies here. A little short on lyrical depth but musically very rich.
For any would-be guitar player this album has lessons that will build your technique for years to come.
Buy it now before it sells out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars He can certainly play but.........., 24 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk To Your Daughter (Audio CD)
This not a bad album by any means but it fails to cover any new ground & is really rather a limited piece of work.

Can he play? Yes.
Is the album well produced? Yes, perhaps too much so.
Can he sing? Yes, good voice but banal lyrics. (Okay, so we shouldn't expect a Dylan on every album!)

Nothing new going on here really, just a proficient player plying his trade.

My biggest issue is with the un-necessary use of synthesiser/keyboards. Listening to the album as a whole, it's clear that Mr Ford himself & his fellow players are more than capable but the synth/keyboards fills really fail to contribute anything other than another layer of gloss on an already overblown production. Guilding the lilly indeed.

Better value to be had elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album., 26 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk To Your Daughter (Audio CD)
This is a great album and repays repeated listening. But do you want to rip it and listen on your phone or via your bluetooth speaker? - if yes, then you probably have a problem because it will likely sound dreadful. But play it on your standard portable cd player or hifi and everything sounds great. Check the internet for CDs issued by Warners and it becomes a little clearer who is to blame. It's all so some record company president can have a ferrari and a bentley - forget the people who actually want to listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top musician, 31 July 2013
By 
R. French "bookworm" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk To Your Daughter (Audio CD)
Fantastic album, if you need convincing that Robben is a superb guitarist then this is the album to get. Having seen him live during his last visit to London, I'm a Robben Ford fan without doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Robben Ford, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk To Your Daughter (Audio CD)
A great guitarist and a very good album.
His versatility and artistry is remarkable.
A good and varied collection of tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old but very inspiring record from Mr.Ford., 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk To Your Daughter (Audio CD)
I had this CD but during my recent movings I lost it somwhere, somehow. I only could find a digital copy in my iPhone. Recently I have just listened to it and fell in love with it again, so I decided to purchase it again. This CD is one os the most inspiring records of Robben Ford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful blues, jazz, rock!, 25 Aug 2008
By 
B. Rodriguez - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talk To Your Daughter (Audio CD)
as a fan and a musician, this album changed my life and i have found it to be an amazing piece of music art work. obviously, not everyone will like it but robben ford is capable of playing various styles effortlessly and playing complex jazz harmony while mixing it in his blues. plus he has a wonderful voice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't ask, just GET IT!, 16 Mar 2008
This review is from: Talk To Your Daughter (Audio CD)
As an already accomplished guitarist I learned more from this CD than ANYTHING else ever, and after several years I'm still picking things up from these songs! If you have even a remote interest in learning to plays blues guitar with more than a hint of jazz then don't even contemplate this purchase - JUST BUY THE CD and then spend months if not years picking it apart, mimicking the exquisite phrasing, marvelling at the musicality, envying the rich tone, and above all else enjoying listening to some damn good songs and playing. It should be COMPULSORY to own this, and embarrassing not to. For all non-guitarists its probably less vital listening, but nevertheless contains some great modern workings of old standards. I own every album that Robben's done since (and a few from before), but none has left quite the mark on me that this one did. If I could keep only one CD, this would be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talk To Your Daughter
Talk To Your Daughter by Robben Ford (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews