Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angel indeed, 2 May 2001
By 
Baz Douglas (Thames Valley, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Angel Band (Audio CD)
Don't be put off if you are unfamiliar with gospel music. This is a superb album of country gospel songs with a small acoustic band. E-L's voice is as wonderful as ever, the way she can float those notes never ceases to amaze. The feeling in the songs is palpable and I just love this album. Play it when you are world weary and your worries will float away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acoustic gospel music, 27 May 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Angel Band (Audio CD)
Emmylou has recorded many different types of album in her career and it should come as no surprise that she eventually recorded a gospel album. Within that, she chose to record it to a sparse acoustic backing of instruments used in bluegrass music including acoustic guitar (sometimes played by Emmylou), mandolin, fiddle and dobro, though there is no banjo. I can't actually call it a bluegrass album because the music is so sparse. Also, most of the songs are ballads, heightening the effect of the sparse music. Emmylou's wonderful voice is always the focal point of her albums but never more so than on this one. Vince Gill (tenor), Carl Jackson (baritone) and Emory Gordy (bass) provide superb backing vocals.
Some of the songs are traditional, among them Precious memories (surely the most famous song here - often covered, I doubt if any other version ever sounded like Emmylou's), the title track and Drifting too far from the shore. Other songs are of more recent origin including Someday my ship will sail (Stanley Brothers) and When he calls (an original song). The ultimate in sparse backing is to found on the song Bright morning star, for which instruments are laid down - Emmylou sings it a capella.
This album is inspirational in more ways than one. I suspect that not all fans of her other music will enjoy this, but I love it, albeit not as much as her classic early albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devotional masterpiece, 20 Oct. 2005
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Angel Band (Audio CD)
Angel Band is one of Emmylou Harris' more obscure albums, a flawless gem of mostly traditional songs where her spiritual expression reigns supreme. Backed by acoustic and bass guitars, dobro, fiddle, mandolin, mandola and viola, the vocals are particularly impressive with the tenor of Vince Gill, the baritone of Carl Jackson and the bass of Emory Gordy interweaving perfectly with Emmylou's gorgeous voice.
It opens with the stirring Where Could I Go But To The Lord, which is followed by the title track, which is thematically similar to the well-known Swing Low Sweet Chariot. The third one, the rhythmic If I Be Lifted Up, reminds me of her version of Orphan Girl on the album Wrecking Ball, in its comforting lyrics. The non-traditional When He Calls with its lovely instrumental flourishes is a definite highlight. The lilting We Shall Rise is another, together with If I Be Lifted Up the most uptempo numbers among these generally slow ballads.
There is seamless continuity between the traditional and the non-traditional compositions like Someday My Ship Will Sail and The Other Side Of Life. The album concludes with the uplifting When They Ring Those Golden Bells. Angel Band is an album of tender and yearning hymns, mournful and comforting at the same time. Those who love Emmylou's bluegrass excursions like the album Roses In The Snow, will love this neglected classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel Band (Audio CD)
Had this on tape 20 years ago, long since lost. Just got the CD - superb bluegrassy accompaniment to Emmylou in her best voice IMHO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant listening, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel Band (Audio CD)
I bought this CD to compare Emmylou's performance years ago compared to the present. I enjoy playing the tracks, but I prefer her more recent efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Angel Band (Audio CD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long time fan, 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel Band (Audio CD)
This artist can do little wrong for me and I really enjoyed listening to this cd.
Buy this cd -you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angel Band
Angel Band by Emmylou Harris (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews