Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do I have to say a word
From the Diva of Pop Music, it's perhaps one of the finest dance albums of all times with amazing remixes done by Shep Pettibone, Jellybean. Set the floor on fire. Superb.
Published 9 months ago by ANURAG PATHAK

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Soaring, Smashing, Dance Sensation!
Madonna's first remix album definitely brings much dance to the spotlight! At a time in the 80s when remixing was basically foreign, Madonna decided to embark on a new adventure and concept for her dance hits! The result: A mega success!

Along with the previously released songs remixed, a new unreleased track was introduced named SPOTLIGHT [released April 25,...
Published 21 months ago by gone


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do I have to say a word, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can Dance [VINYL] (Vinyl)
From the Diva of Pop Music, it's perhaps one of the finest dance albums of all times with amazing remixes done by Shep Pettibone, Jellybean. Set the floor on fire. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can Dance (Audio CD)
true Madonna a good cd worth adding to your collection great music from that era it brings back happy times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting on my dancing feet, 7 May 2013
This review is from: You Can Dance (Audio CD)
I am a huge Madonna fan and this is one of my favourite albums ever .Whenever I play this album makes me want to dance around the room fantastic mixes a must for any Madonna fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Soaring, Smashing, Dance Sensation!, 9 Oct 2012
This review is from: You Can Dance (Audio CD)
Madonna's first remix album definitely brings much dance to the spotlight! At a time in the 80s when remixing was basically foreign, Madonna decided to embark on a new adventure and concept for her dance hits! The result: A mega success!

Along with the previously released songs remixed, a new unreleased track was introduced named SPOTLIGHT [released April 25, 1988]. It was an added bonus track and features fast tempos, highly energetic dance beats and much enthusiastic sounds definitely uplifting and cheerful. Some words are, "No one knows you better than you know yourself do the thing you want/Don't wait for someone else life is just a party/That's all you need to know/It's your turn to shine." Madonna's vocals are very high pitched and reminiscent of her earlier songs like INTO THE GROOVE and HOLIDAY. The song was originally recorded for True Blue but was rejected. John "Jellybean" Benitez and Shep Pettibone were involved in remixing, and it was written by Madonna, Stephen Bray and Curtis Hudson. It was inspired by the song Everybody Is a Star which is sung on her Girlie Show as that. The single was not officially released as a single in the U.S so it was not eligible to enter the Billboard. However, it reached #32 on the Hot 100 Airplay Chart and reached #15 on the Hot Crossover Singles Chart.

As you hear the music on this album, the songs flow nicely as there are no long pauses or stops in between the tracks. The entire listening is like a party experience with many excellent effects. The deejays worked hard to create an illusion of being at the club or just being at a high tech dance party. The songs get a mix treatment very upbeat, more phenomenal in funk, and excellent in enhanced effects. The drums: slightly altered, the chorus: maybe echoed more, the length: slightly longer, and the overall experience: sure-fire dance-friendly!

The album cover designed by Herb Ritts has the Spanish ambiance embracing the Hispanic culture which Madonna has shown to admire. The Japan release includes the lyrical booklet while the US does not. Critics of the album state that the remixes grab at you and lure you in. The Washington Post stated the album as "an energetic collection of remixes, that will surely be the highlight of the party..."

The album contains remixes of tracks from Madonna's first three albums titled, MADONNA, LIKE A VIRGIN, and TRUE BLUE. This release was after TRUE BLUE and the Who's That Girl Tour. With the help of Jellybean Benitez, Patrick Leonard, and others the remixes were a sensation in highlighting the dance effect. From the first album, Madonna the songs chosen were: "Holiday", "Everybody" and "Physical Attraction. From the second album Like a Virgin the songs chosen for the CD were: "Into The Groove", and "Over and Over". From the third album True Blue the songs chosen for the CD were: "Where's The Party". Once again, "Spotlight" was an unreleased bonus track for the U.S. It was released in Japan as a vinyl.

The highlights of this album would be that it reached a peak of #14 on the Billboard 200, later topping to the #1 spot in the Dance Charts after a LP cuts were released to the radio stations. It was Madonna's seventh #1 on the Hot Dance Music/Club Play. The album was certified platinum by the RIAA and it reached #6 in the European Top 100 Albums. It was named second best-selling remix album of all time, according to Madonna's Official Website.

This CD album features 3 Dub Versions: HOLIDAY, INTO THE GROOVE, and WHERE'S THE PARTY. (According to DJ Franco a dub is a remix with more instrumentals and less vocals.) There is a Limited Edition Release titled, You Can Dance: Single Edits that is also a great Collector's Item. As the popularity has increased through the years numerous deejays have added a promo in their catalog of this album. One in particular is called "You Can Dance Platinum Edition" definitely dance hot!

The remix + dub musical enhancements done along Madonna's vocals are excellent and reminiscent of being at the party or club. This is an excellent production definitely standing the test of time and as being classic and relevant! Madonna took a chance as one of the first music artists to go for a remix album back in the 80s and more than 20 years later it has shown that the answer lies in believing in yourself; most notably YOUR DREAMS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific remix album, 19 Jan 2003
This review is from: You Can Dance (Audio CD)
I'm one of those rare Madonna fans that has owned a copy of You Can Dance since its 1987 release. It features remixes or remastering of her best dance tracks from her first three albums, including the remixed "Into the Groove." It's interesting to note that this was the only Madonna album that that song was available on until the Immaculate Collection was released, and the remixed version that appeared on You Can Dance is the one that Madonna continues to perform live.
The album also features one track that, to my knowledge, was never released on any other: Spotlight. It's the last throwback to Madonna's 80s sound; her albums became more soundscape-y and much more advanced technologically after this. The entire album is a great throwback to mid-80s dance music and the remixes of "Over and Over" themselves make the album worth the price. Back in 1987, NOBODY was making music like this; and you can see where many of today's "chillout" and "trance" DJs got their inspiration. The remixes on this album are all inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madonna's underrated historically important remix album! and immortal classic, 24 Aug 2010
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can Dance (Audio CD)
for a lot of my short life (18 years currently as i write this review of the album) Madonna has been a literal hero for me, an artist that i have witnessed push boundaries through her material,artisty,performance art, and always a pivotal and important musician and my all time favourite artist! You Can Dance always gets severely overlooked and i purchased the album two weeks ago and i am so mightily glad that i did!! it's a definitive masterpiece of a remix/dance album containing some underrated classic,unreleased album tracks and a newbie each segued together to make one fantastic listening experience.

For me it is a lot of Madonna's under acknowledged albums usually spark a plethora of creativity (see Erotica,The First Album and Music) alongside her BLOCKBUSTER masterpiece albums (Confessions on A Dance Floor (more on that later),Ray Of Light,Like A Prayer,True Blue and Like A Virgin)and i can confirm that You Can Dance literally sparked something of a revolution in being the very first remix album in music history influencing Michael Jackson,Janet Jackson,Jennifer Lopez,Britney Spears and Paula Abdul amongst other to make some of their own (to mixed successes)but You Can Dance has currently shipped 6 million copies worldwide and remains something of pure excitement and wonder.

It all kick starts with a mini masterpiece of an epic tune with Spotlight which truely is a timeless song that i kick myself that Madonna didn't release with an EPIC video in 1987 to really promote this album (You Can Dance was promoted almost solely by her name!)it truely is an underrated song that in everyway matches the uptempo and dark synths of Into The Groove...speaking of which that too is expanded upon in a huge remix which makes it sound all the more of the blockbuster that it is, and a true hit single of the 1980's evoking that pure uptempo bliss and thumpy synth anthemic flourish that remains symbolic of the era. Over & Over from Like A Virgin is also enhanced on this album to such a fantastic effect, Physical Attraction is also given something of a thumpy rethink from The First Album. While Underappreciated anthem Everybody from The First Album (and Madonna's DEBUT single!) also reflects that timeless appeal of the neo-disco flourish and excitement that will be revisited a few times in her career demanding people onto the dancefloor!

While, Holiday on this album just proves why it is something of a genuine power anthem that reflects Madonna's own knack for making her material just pure timeless material none can match. For me however it's that charm of the remix Where's The Party from her True Blue album that is given something of a real HUGE enhancement from the powerful original in the aforementioned album that evokes a very Marvin Gaye What's Going On style dark groove and real old skool R&B Synth percussion and real high power style tuning remixed by Shep Pettibone (who also did Into The Groove on here) who would be a major collaborator on her I'm Breathless soundtrack with Vogue and on the underrated masterpiece Erotica album it just really revisits her inspirations for the album and messages to the listener why she is such a phenomenal talent and how she can control her listeners and audiences to really let themselves go free and feel the sounds and live the lyrics. Something no artist can ever match!

I would have loved it if Madonna followed You Can Dance up with a remix album in the 90's after her like A Prayer,Erotica and Bedtime Stories albums and see Express Yourself,Deeper & Deeper,Erotica,Keep It Together,Human Nature,Cherish,Why's It So Hard and Waiting remixed and segued but that album never materialised, nor did it after the success of Ray Of light and Music where we could have had Ray Of Light,Nothing Really Matters,Sky Fits Heaven,Don't Tell Me,Impressive Instant and Swim remixed to full power. And of course in the 00's delivered a real career hight with Confessions on A Dance Floor which in itself is a thematic triumph that reignited that flare this album has with the songs segued together like a DJ night-set and really crafting the record as a piece of artform.

One hopes that Madonna will release another remix album to this standard soon! as You Can Dance is an underrated masterpiece of a dance recording and an album i highly recommend for their album collection!

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable!, 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can Dance (Audio CD)
This certainly bring the 80's come back to you!
And an overwhelming desire to dance!
Contains the novel "Spotlight".
But... The digital form, not preserve the original work, presenting non-stop tracks.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You Can Dance" - the first ever remix album, 3 April 2005
This review is from: You Can Dance (Audio CD)
I bought Madonna's two underrated albums on the same day -"Erotica" and "You Can Dance". I thought that "Erotica" was alot better and as a result, I didn't really play this CD that much. However, now I am addicted to this fantastic remix CD, which faetures mixes of Madonna's best, most loved and most popular hits of the 80s from her first 3 albums.
"Spotlight" is a great track, released on no other. "Holiday" has an 12" mix plus a dub mix. The dub mix flows nicely, as the 12" mix was changed only slightly. "Everybody" has a 12" mix, which, again, is very good! "Physical Attraction", besides "Spotlight", is my favourite track on the whole disc aswell as the remix for: "Into The Groove" which is completely original and great! (Another favourite) There are also remixes for "Over And Over", from "Like A Virgin" and "Where's The Party", from "True Blue", also excellent. There are dub versions of "Into The Groove" and "Where's The Party", which are also brilliant!
Overall - 10/10
Yet another splendid Madonna album, as she does me proud! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure pop genius..., 21 Jan 2004
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Can Dance (Audio CD)
One of the first (if not the) remix albums in its time, this is a great non-stop pop dance album!
The album starts with a new rack (and only found here), the Lucky Star-ish 'Spotlight', a nice, light, feel-good pop song.
With classic Madonna tracks remixed, the fantastic Into The Groove (the only remix) with the great honky-tonk break half way through, Holiday (not touched very much - just tweaked), Everybody, the fans favourite Wheres the Party (give a real party treatment here!), and a fantastic remix version of Over and Over from the Like a Virgin album.
All tracks are sequenced (non-stop) and are extended versions.
Dubs come as CD extras, and quite good they are too (as dubs go!)
Well worth it for fans of classic Madonna.
These are how remixes should be, they retain the best elements of the original song, but offer enough of a twist to make them exciting all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KEEP DANCING, 30 Sep 2011
By 
popfan (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You Can Dance (Audio CD)
This album consists of remixes of tracks from madonnas first 3 albums, a fore runner of the remix album this album has gained popularity among madonna fans as time has passed. Its a great dance record that breathes new life into madonnas early 80s tracks
The red sleeve is eye catching and the booklet is basic at best, i would reccomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Can Dance
You Can Dance by Madonna (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews