Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
30
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2006
I must have seen this movie when I was about 8 back in 1990 I remeber loving it, the music the story. The sound track is fantastic its all Ry Cooder and its pure delta style blues. Because of this film my music collection swells with old blues records and I even play slide guitar.

A point to make thoight the fantastic guitar battle isn't included on this c.d. instead it was realeased on steve Vai's the Elusive Light and Sound Vol.1. If you can get it cheap its well worth it.

Even if you haven't seen the movie but love Ry Cooder you should still get this cd.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2007
Brilliant laid back slide guitar blues, highlight is Willie Browns song, note that this does NOT contain the guitar duel from the end of the film...
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2000
Saw the film on Sky TV and just had to have the soundtrack. Ry Cooder and Steve Vai play some of the most progressive blues I've heard in 15 years as a blues fan. An excellent introduction to blues for all music lovers. Buy the disc, get your air guitar tuned up and enjoy.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
Great album of blues/soul/gospel. Very enjoyable after watching the film - which is probably how a lot of people will come to it.

Just a shame it misses out the Steve Vai end game classic duel. Still worth buying however - it's just that you will also need to buy:- The Elusive Light and Sound Vol 1 by Steve Vai.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
Curious album. Billed as a "soundtrack" - yet neither the Title track, or "Down In Mississippi" are actually in the movie (if my memory serves me correctly).

People have often lamented the exclusion of the "guitar duel" at the end, and I have to say for my money , it should have been included. It's a massive part of the film sountrack , AND includes fantastic guitar playing by both Cooder and Vai.

What nobody else has mentioned , is that there is LOADS of other music from the film score missed out - which is a great shame...

What we really have here, is a "songs from AND inspired by the film" type album.

It's really just another Ry Cooder album with Crossroads, the blues,and Mississippi as it's concept, just like "Chavez Ravine" was about L.A.

The album is a great listen however, every track is top notch - amazing origional take on Crossroads.This is an uptempo gospel/rhythm and blues version - not the Ry Cooder / Terry Evans - Robert Johnson recreation from the movie. There could have been more letting loose with his guitar in some songs, but I may be being pedantic here...

4.5 stars..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
Ry Cooder playing the blues. What's not to like? OK the music is fairly standard blues and designed to fit in with a feel good film, but it's still good blues. The choice of tracks and their delivery come across well. Pleasant enough in the car on a long journey and a good warm up for something a bit deeper and heavier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Great film great soundtrack - just a shame that it has not got the duel between Ry Cooder and Steve Vai but I believe that was down to Steve Vai's record company pulling a copyright thing so it could not be included.

Anyway if you are looking at this review you already know about the film and Ry Cooder so just do yourself a favour and by it.
33 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
Ry Cooder nails it every time. Good collection, a bit eclectic and not always "pure" blues, but a nice listen - good soundtrack for a not-so-great film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
I remember seeing the movie Crossroads and falling in love with the mellow sounds and the rich deep south melodies. I'm no musician but this music gets into your soul - if you want some real old blues (Down in Missisipi - JB Lenior style) through to the most amazing guitar intro in the first track 'Crossroads' then make your purchase, sit-a-spell and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
Its as good as I remember and well put together - if only they could have included the guitar duel from the film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.