Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Van Hagar's first album is also the best for this lineup
"Well, helloooooooooooooooo, baby!" Thus begins one of the most successful 1980s albums ever, and what an album it is. So began my own personal journey into Van Halen's studio catalogue. My first Van Halen album was Best of Vol 1, and my first studio album that followed was this puppy, 5150. So let's get down to the album itself.

When Van Halen released...
Published on 1 Oct 2007 by Mike London

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars should have done all ballads
Can overload on the synth on some songs in such a sugary sweet way that you will be in desperate need of fillings on completion of this album.

In my opinion it can't hold a candle to their self titled album or any album that Van Halen released before it for that matter. Even 1984 stands ahead of 5150, the problem is that for a Van Halen album I don't think it...
Published on 1 Aug 2012 by Anoosh Falak Rafat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars should have done all ballads, 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5150 (Audio CD)
Can overload on the synth on some songs in such a sugary sweet way that you will be in desperate need of fillings on completion of this album.

In my opinion it can't hold a candle to their self titled album or any album that Van Halen released before it for that matter. Even 1984 stands ahead of 5150, the problem is that for a Van Halen album I don't think it works, if it was released under a different name and if they had decided to go the pop ballad route for the whole album I think their change of direction would have been easier to swallow.

If you are having a house party were there isn't anybody who really likes rock you could probably sneak this in and have a good time, otherwise it might be best to stick to Van Halen's older stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Van Hagar's first album is also the best for this lineup, 1 Oct 2007
This review is from: 5150 (Audio CD)
"Well, helloooooooooooooooo, baby!" Thus begins one of the most successful 1980s albums ever, and what an album it is. So began my own personal journey into Van Halen's studio catalogue. My first Van Halen album was Best of Vol 1, and my first studio album that followed was this puppy, 5150. So let's get down to the album itself.

When Van Halen released 5150 in 1986, its fan base waited with baited breath due to the band having a new singer, Sammy Hagar. While the Hagar/Roth debate has been [going back and forth from that day to this] raging ever since, the public made it quite clear that overall, a significant portion of Van Halen's fans were big fans of the direction the band was going in, making 5150 the band's first number one album in its career.

When Van Halen jettisoned lead singer David Lee Roth in 1985 (or he left to pursue a solo career, depending on whose story you're listening too), they were left in quite a predicament. Not only did Roth leave, he took most of the band's management and their only producer up to that point, Ted Templeton, with him, to do his own albm, "Eat `Em and Smile". On that album, Roth would strip away the keyboards Eddie so adamantly added to the band's sound and returned to his earlier sound. So would Van Halen call it quits? They were all set for life, and had a very successful run of six multiplatnum albums. Or would they look for a new singer?

Well, we all know the answer to that. They began auditioning for new singers, and at one time entertained the idea of having different temp singers front the band for an album to see who the public liked (think Rock Star:INXS twenty years before they did a TV show about it). Naturally, this idea didn't pan out, as [Eddie discovered Sammy Hagar at a mechanic shop as he was getting his lamborgini serviced, and they hit it off.] Eddie discovered Sammy Hagar, lead singer to Monstrose from the 1970s and several successful solo discs on his own. Sammy says the first time he ever met Eddie (at nine in the morning) Eddie was smashed out of his mind on alcohol. The band got together with Sammy, and soon wrote several new songs.

Naturally, the new singer brought a totally new sound to Van Halen. Where the Van Roth band focused more on the rock and roll element and party hearty image, Van Hagar's focused were more on ballads and love songs, with a healthy measure of rock in there as well. Still, 5150 has a much different feel to it than the previous six Roth LPs as far as the front man's personality, personae, and image were concerned. It is quite clear from the get go that Eddie wanted to move the band into new directions, and he largely did that with Hagar.

The ironic thing, in all this, naturally, is, out of the four Van Hagar albums and the six Van Roth albums, 1984, their last record with Roth, and 5150, their first record with Hagar, are the mostly closely related between the two different eras [of all their albums]. While obviously Hagar is no Roth (but by the same token Roth's no Hagar either), the actual songwriting on 5150 has its foundations and roots in 1984. After the fiasco of DIVER DOWN, Eddie wanted control over the band's musical future and ultimately founded his own studio 5150, which this record's name is drawn from. It is in 1984 Eddie began to implement, and vary successfully at that, keyboards into the band's sound, and broaden out the band's overall musical approach more into a pop-metal sound than a pop-rock and roll sound. 1984 set up a whole new playing field for the band, with a much more mainstream, pop-metal sheen than the first four Van Halen albums and even DIVER DOWN, which is little more than a deliberate attempt to cash in.

5150 is a natural extension of the band's new sound that was largely established largely in 1984. Several of Van Hagar's best songs are right here on the first disc.

"Why Can't This Be Love" and "Dreams" were huge hits, and deservedly so. Both are among Van Hagar's best material, and "Dreams" is not only one of the band's best power ballads, but also one of the best ballads of the 1980s. "Best of Both Worlds" is one of Van Halen's most highly regarded songs. Great rock and roll, even given the fact they say you don't need to get born again to go to heaven (rather troubling line for the religiously inclined).

"Summer Nights" is one of those songs no person growing up in a small town and hanging out in parking lots at night can't help but look at fondly. That song always brings back a lot of memories for me, and I can relate to it very well.

"Get Up" is a great "get off your ass and make your life work" song. "Good Enough," the opening song to the disc with its very memorably opening line (probably VH's most memorable intro), is a adrenaline pumping, hard-rock celebration of sexual attraction at its most physical and basest of all levels. In other words - pure lust all the way baby.

"5150", Van Halen's second title cut to one of their albums, is actually one of the more minor songs on the record as far as popularity goes. Still, a good song. "Inside" is easily the strangest song on the album, and indeed one of the strangest in their entire catalogue. One of my favs, though I can see why people wouldn't like it.

That leaves us with one song left. "Love Walks In". A lyrical tour-de-force, this is easily the best song Van Halen ever wrote, at least lyrically. Sammy Hagar states it's about when aliens came down and visited him (no, I'm not making this up - he talked about it on Howard Stern and in a Guitar World interview). While the song definitely makes a lot of sense from the standpoint of a person remembering an alien encounter (and this is before Whitely Strieber's "Communion" came out), the beauty of this song is it doesn't have to be about aliens, but can have any number of meaning. For me, this is probably my favorite Van Halen song.

While both EAT `EM AND SMILE and 5150 are great competing albums, I have to give the edge to 5150. It's the tightest, single best album of the four that the band made with Hagar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album - needs remastering, 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5150 (Audio CD)
Firstly I should say that I love the album - oustanding! So I looked forward to getting the CD version in the post. But seriously, the sound quality is awful! Tinny treble and lacking bass and middle - my old cassette sounds better! Love the tunes though, just felt I should warn anyone who is not half deaf yet... ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How many times can you tell the same joke?, 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: 5150 (Audio CD)
I must admit upfront, I was never a huge original Van Halen fan. I appreciated the guitar wizardry as a technical achievement, but DLR is a limited singer at best and the nudge nudge wink grew a little old with me. Yes, absolutely an Adonis and archetypal front man in Dave, but for all it was lauded, quite rightly taken in context, there is only so far you can go down that road. 1984, was probably the high water mark even if trouble hadn't been brewing between the band.

For proof of that theory, DLR lasted about two albums of, let's face it Van Halen, sans the Van Halen brothers, before the public got bored with the joke and his career died.

So enter Sammy Hagar, and of him I was and am a fan. Great singer and a charismatic front man... less showbiz, more content on all fronts. So, 5150 mirrors that change. The best album by VH, with or without Sammy. Great songs and musicianship allowed to run free with a bona fide singer and musician. Eddie and co never sounded more musical and free.

Sure not the jokey VH that so many love, but we have those albums, so no reason to hate this one on principle.

Try it, absorb it for what it is, an evolved band with a different sound -much like Rush every 4 or 5 albums... Trust me, freed from prejudice, you won't find a better album from any of these guys...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good catchy summer pop metal, 20 Mar 2008
This review is from: 5150 (Audio CD)
This album is by any accounts a godd album with great summer driving anthems and ballards - which is one of the mains things you should be buying a van halen album for. However it is hard not to start comparing it to VH's earlier albums which were groundbreaking classics which will always come up high in lists of greatest albums. 5150 sounds like a different band and so as long as you are not expecting another VH1 or 1984 you will be very satisfied with this album. For some reason I still feel it neccessary to just state that SammyH can't come close to DLR (although I doubt that critics and fans will ever resolve that one!) and for that reason alone if you haven't got any other VH album then don't start with this - buy VH1 or 1984 for god's sake and you won't look back - if you have got them (both of them!) then buy this next!!

5150 contains 3 massive hits - dreams, why can't.. and love walks in, which are probably worth getting the album for alone, some of the other more rock/metal based cuts fall slightly below par (inside, good enough, get up)- and this is not just the fault of the singer, they just aren't memorable enough and so are consigned to background party music really.
Howver the pounding shout along 5150, the aforementioned hits, best of both worlds and summer nights are all potential classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of post-Roth Van Halen's finest., 30 Nov 2000
By 
Uriel (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 5150 (Audio CD)
This, the first of Van Halen's albums with Sammy Hagar, was the continuation of Edward Van Halen taking more control of the band's music.
5150 is a showpeice for the kind of guitar prowess for which Van Halen are justly famed. Unlike a lot of 'can you play the guitar as fast as me?' metal bands at the time, Van Halen's songs cling to the memory, never allowing Eddie's mastery of the instrument to get in the way of songwriting.
To the end of the David Lee Roth era, the band had started to use keyboards to bring a more pop edged feel to the music and this is continued with songs like 'Why can't this be love' and 'Dreams'.
Sammy Hagar fits well into the lineup and while not having the same level of showmanship as his predicessor, more than manages to hold his own. Hagar provides a voice fitting with the sheer energy of Van Halen but also allowing for softer melodies and he gets a chance to show this with 'Love Walks In'. His lyrics match neither the attitude of Roth or the insightfulness of Hagar's successor, Gary Cherone, but nevertheless are appropriate to the songs and are occasionally witty, especially if you are familiar with the circumstances in which he joined the band.
While not being Van Halen's best album it is one of their best with Sammy Hagar and a worthwhile addition to any rock fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5150 (Audio CD)
Great and heaviest Van Halen's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD ALBUM, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5150 (Audio CD)
I already have this on vinyl, so I decided to replace a few of my better albums with CDs - this is one of them.
A good price and good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yeah, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5150 (MP3 Download)
Gotta love this classic rock. Takes me right back to the 80s! Eddie's guitar playing still sounds incredible after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5150 van halen album, 9 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5150 (Audio CD)
If you like van halen and like the older rock then you will love this album its fantastic, its up there with kiss, whitesnake,acdc etc. Defo reminder of the eighties rock. Well worth the money and fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

5150
5150 by Van Halen (Audio CD - 1986)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews