Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of his most enduring...
This is probably Prince's most commercially accessible album since 'Purple Rain'. Though I could never give a Prince album 5 stars as there are usually 1 or 2 tracks I find myself skipping over, I could not tell anyone this is not a 5 star talent at work. An album like this outlasts its peers by being distinctive in its style and inventive in its output. Prince's...
Published on 28 July 2007 by ChezzyD

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The rot starts to set in
"Gett Off" and "Cream" were two amazing opening singles form this album, but sadly the rest of the collection just couldn't match them. It is documented that when he was recruited by Prince, rapper Tony M set his goal as making Prince's music more "black", introducing more rap and soul elements, and this is where it all started to go wrong for Prince in my opinion. When...
Published on 24 Feb 2009 by Peter Lee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of his most enduring..., 28 July 2007
This review is from: Diamonds And Pearls (Audio CD)
This is probably Prince's most commercially accessible album since 'Purple Rain'. Though I could never give a Prince album 5 stars as there are usually 1 or 2 tracks I find myself skipping over, I could not tell anyone this is not a 5 star talent at work. An album like this outlasts its peers by being distinctive in its style and inventive in its output. Prince's experiments with rap and hip-hop don't always work, but when they do the effect is staggeringly good. Take 'Gett Off' - a grinding, thumping track with some of the most tongue-in-cheek lyrics I've ever heard. One of my favourites is 'Tonight you're a star.. and I'm a Big Dipper'. Pure genius. 'Cream' is another standout track with a striking guitar sound and a compulsively toe-tappable rhythm. 'Diamonds and Pearls' was probably the major hit - no matter how experimental he gets, he never loses an ear for a good tune - grandly helped along by by mighty voice of Rosie Gaines. 'Money Don't Matter 2Night' is a rather touching commentary on the state of the world, as is 'Live 4 Love'. Whether Prince is your 'thing' or not, you cannot deny he is a prodigious talent. As a body of work 'Diamonds and Pearls' stands up today and still satisfies the ear - as a part of Prince's rather voluminous back catalogue it is indispensable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 16 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Diamonds And Pearls (Audio CD)
I have this album on tape, but soon enough I'm not gonna be able to resist buying it on CD! "Thunder" is a rollercoaster funkstravaganza, "Diamonds and Pearls" is an excellent NPG power ballad, "Cream" is smooth, "Strollin'" is too, "Walk Don't Walk" is a clever track about individuality, and "Money Don't Matter 2 Night" is a subtle pleasing mid-tempo number. Even the appalling "Daddy Pop" can't ruin this album, it's brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prince, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds And Pearls (Audio CD)
It's a great album - my son lost the original so this was only a replacement - don't let him near my records any more - he's in Canada now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Pearls!, 5 Dec 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Diamonds And Pearls (Audio CD)
Here the Prince-patented blend of rock, funk and soul is harnessed for a more funky sound which includes tender gospel ballads. Some rap is added by Toni M to tracks like Jughead, Daddy Pop and Push. The two most soulful cuts are Stollin' and Willing and Able, and they're both excellent. Thunder is Prince at his best, while Creamed and Get Off are hook-filled pure pop delight. Get Off, especially, is loaded with those suggestive innuendos. Lyrically and melodically, this ranks amongst Prince's Top Ten albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prince reclaimed the charts..., 5 Aug 2001
This review is from: Diamonds And Pearls (Audio CD)
Prince came with a credibly commercial sound and consistently featured a rapper (Tony M) for first time here. He wanted to reclaim the chart position his stature deserved after relative years in the wilderness. "Batman" and Prince's fourth #1 "Batdance" were mainly successful on the back of the mainstream audience of the movie let us not forget.
The organ led pop-perfect "Cream" would give Prince his fifth US #1. Other hits included the dramatic multi-layered opener "Thunder", the funk-dance classic "Gett Off" and the supreme, Stevie Wonder style ballad "Money Don't Matter tonite" with it's social commentary format and a "Do Me Baby/Scandalous" type ballad in "Instatiable". "Jughead" and "Push" conversely gave Tony M. a chance to spotlight as frontman much to many fans chagrin.
My favourite song on this album however would have to be the title track with its pretty swaying melody and catchy hook.
Overall this album performed it's function and hooked me into becoming a Prince fan ten years ago so i can testify for it's catchiness personally! While perhaps not one of his deepest album concepts he sold albums while staying credible which was the aim. Can't argue with that right? :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars His best ever, 25 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Diamonds And Pearls (Audio CD)
This is the best album from Prince in the nineties, it's all of his best music put together, in my opinion. It's very influentual, just like Prince himself. PS I was looking at the album cover today. Isn't that Jenny from Buffy the Vampire Slayer on there? Anyone who's a Buffy and a Prince fan, please let me know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 16 Aug 2000
By 
This review is from: Diamonds And Pearls (Audio CD)
Prince was, is, and will always be one of the most influential artists of our time. Diamonds & Pearls is often considered his best work of the 90's, this should be corrected to his most commercial work of the 90's ... good music isn't measured by sales figures ... music is good when it touches you, and i'm pretty sure Prince's music, old and new, are able to touch you if you give it a chance ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master piece!, 9 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Diamonds And Pearls (Audio CD)
Every song on the album is a work of art. prince and the new power generation have put all their efforts into making this master piece. this shows on tracks like 'thunder' and 'cream' two tracks that define the greatness of the prducing on the album. i am a die hard fan of prince and would buy bah bah black sheep if his name was on the cover but i truely recommened this album to every one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sonic power!, 16 Aug 2008
By 
Alex (Bromsgrove, Worcs, U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diamonds And Pearls (Audio CD)
1. Thunder. 10/10
2. Daddy Pop. 9/10
3. Diamonds and Pearls. 10/10
4. Cream. 10/10
5. Strollin'. 8/10
6. Willing and Able. 9/10
7. Gett Off. 10/10
8. Walk Don't Walk. 9/10
9. Jughead. 7/10
10. Money Don't Matter 2 Night. 10/10
11. Push. 10/10
12. Insatiable. 8/10
13. Live 4 Love. 10/10

OVERALL GRADE: 9/10
the best songs are 5 of the 6 singles, "Gett Off", "Cream", "Diamonds and Pearls", "Thunder", "Money Don't Matter 2 Night". The other single "Insatiable" features Prince using his falsetto, rather badly. A very good album to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 1 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Diamonds And Pearls (Audio CD)
This superb disc covers various styles of music,including funk,rock,rap,soul and R&B.Prince at his best with the equally brilliant NPG.A must-have in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa99c9594)

This product

Diamonds And Pearls
Diamonds And Pearls by Prince (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews