Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince's masterful 6th album...
In 1984 Prince released what would come to be his biggest selling album: 'Purple Rain'. The soundtrack to his highly successful film of the same name; the album catapulted him to superstardom.
'Purple Rain' isn't just a movie soundtrack though, but a collection of some of the most electrifyingly impressive songs you will ever hear from this decade , or any other for...
Published on 21 Nov 2003 by L. A. Stanley

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware MP3 Version of this album!!!
Purple Rain [Explicit]

I was shocked to find when listening to this that the MP3 download contains the heavily edited 'radio' version of the track "Purple Rain".

The album is a triumph, and it was fantastic to hear it again after so many years, but I feel somewhat cheated having wasted the monety to download it when I am going to have to buy it again...
Published on 20 May 2010 by Mr. W. J. Robbins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Prince's finest.., 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: Purple Rain (Audio CD)
I will admit to being one of those weirdos that 'norms' (such as yourself) class as 'Prince fans'. A proper, slightly scarily-obsessive Prince fan. I have noticed that Prince is somewhat akin to
Marmite. People either love him; love his eccentric, talented, multi-instrumentalist brand of funk pop rock etc., or hate him; his preening, little-man-syndrome self-indulgence making you want
to pick him up by his immaculately coiffured hair and smash his porcelain head off the nearest table edge. For years I was indifferent, then I bought 'The Hits 1 & 2', together with the B-sides.

And so began a six year obsession with owning all of Prince's music, learning all his licks, listening only to him, defending his albums (no matter how atrocious some were), defending his horrendous
habit of offending everyone with his prima-donna antics, and so on (any other Prince fan will back me up). I am older and wiser now, so I can look somewhat more objectively at my behaviour. I
can still appreciate him, but in a slightly more realistic manner. Enough background, what of 'Purple Rain'?

Prince's early albums were slightly nervous, embarrassed Stevie Wonder-copying funk and soul. Once you got over the fact that (shock!) he played everything himself, then his first two albums
only have a handful of really top quality tunes on them ('Soft and Wet' on 'For You', 'I Wanna Be Your Lover' and 'I Feel For You' on 'Prince'). Precociousness aside, he needed an album full of these tunes.
The number of stonkers increased with each album (granted, the filler material got worse, but hey) and in '82, he released his best effort yet, '1999'.

At this stage, Prince's ego was growing to ever-larger proportions. From reading biographies on him, for this period, he had developed somewhat of a 'me-against-the-word' mentality, which was
evident in songs like 'Partyup', '1999' or 'Uptown' (Prince was always looking for an unobtainable Utopia beyond society's reach). He decided, after the moderate success of '1999', he wanted to become a movie
star. The film, 'Purple Rain', is best described another day (in a suitably scathing-for-his-sheer-self-indulgence review). The music, however, was breathtaking.

Prince's songwriting was, I believe, at the peak of its powers. To be honest, I feel 'Sign of the Times' (which critics always argue is the ultimate example of a Prince album) is over-rated. It is bloated,
several songs are too similar to each other, the musicianship doesn't shine through as much as 'Purple Rain'. But hey, different opinions make the world go round.

The album opens with a bonafide Prince classic, 'Let's Go Crazy'. Prince's obsession with the Linn drum machine is evident from the off, and in this case, it gives the track a machine-like
repetition which really propels the song forward. Fantastic guitar work.

The next song is the companion to the most toe-curlingly cringeworthy scene in the movie (the bike-naked-girl-lake debacle). 'Take Me With You' is best described as midtempo pop, I suppose, with
the lead vocals shared between Prince and Appolonia. It again tells of somewhere else Prince would rather be. The strings in particular, are striking; definitely a forerunner to 'Raspberry Beret'.

The first ballad is up next, the rather unstructured-but-emotional 'The Beautiful Ones'. Prince revisits his familiar themes of lust and longing, bringing the whole thing to a throat-shredding climax.
It was poorly covered by Mariah Carey, but the feeling behind it and the Prince's falsetto still manage to bring a tear to my eye.

'Computer Blue' follows, an unusual tune for Prince. The arrangement is slightly more progressive, as is the virtuosic guitar work. It has no chorus to speak of, and takes a few listens to sink in. When it does,
it stays. Not the best song ever written, but a suitably decent album track.

'Darling Nikki' is the most controversial track on the album, and I believe the most throwaway. It describes a girl masturbating, but in such a way as to drain anything remotely sexually attractive out of it. It
gained Prince notoriety but that is about all I can say about it.

'When Doves Cry' is amazing, a stupendous track in every respect. People always mention how the track has no bass. The thing that really struck me when I bought the album, was the radio edit was only
about three minutes long. The album version had a fantastic organ solo on it, followed by some excellent vocal harmonising. One of his best songs ever.

I am not a big fan of 'I Would Die 4 U'. It works well in the film, but is a little bit weak for Prince. Another relentless Linn hihat pattern ensues, which makes me slightly uncomfortable in its urgency. Skip!

'Baby I'm A Star' is a top-notch, standard issue Prince dance-funk number. It accompanies the triumph in the movie, and as such can only be associated with positive feelings. It consists of braggadocio, Prince
style, telling the world how lovely he is to an admittedly infectious groove. Works as a perfect buildup to...

'Purple Rain'. Seemingly, around this time, Prince heard Bob Seger on the radio, and scoffed at how his 4 chord brand of common nonsense could touch so many hearts. He vowed to bang a couple of chords
together, and 'Purple Rain', the title track, was the result. I love it, it builds to an emotional crescendo, complete with searing guitar solo. It also reminds me of my engagement party, so it can only be good
for me to listen to it.

On the whole, I love 'Purple Rain'. It does a fantastic job of transporting me back to different times (all positive), and it also has that rare quality: it manages to sound quintessentially 80s while also not sounding
like utter dated rubbish. I believe it is better than 'Sign of the Times', but that's just me...plus watching the movie made me listen to The Time.

Morris Day is a legend!

So is classic Prince. Enjoy this, 'Dirty Mind', '1999', 'Sign...', 'Parade', 'The Gold Experience', 'The Rainbow Children' first. Enjoy the rest to a lesser extent, depending on mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The purple prince at his BEST!, 9 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Purple Rain (Audio CD)
What has to be said of the album that knocked the world famous 'thriller' (michael jackson) of the top of the charts. an absolutely fabulous album with every track being a winner, the best tracks on the album are, of course, the soothing 'purple rain', the jazzy 'let's go crazy', the stunningly funky 'when doves cry' and my personal favourite, the stunning masterpiece known as 'darling nikki'. a must for any one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an old favorite, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purple Rain (Audio CD)
I had this on tape and had to get it on cd. It was even better if that is possible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purple Rain (Audio CD)
Love this movie! Every time I watch it I think I love prince a little more if that's possible! Buy it!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purple Rain (Audio CD)
The condition of the case and cd was as new and the delivery was very quick.
It meant I could get a long lost and loved album replaced without paying the full price.
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Prince Album Ever, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purple Rain (Audio CD)
This album is just truly incredible and song after song it's just brilliant. It also has an amazing film to it. 10/10 album. This is my all time favorite Prince album, every song on the album is unique, different and just awesome and any good prince or music fan should seriously buy this, it's just an album you can listen to and listen to and never get bored
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 15 Sep 2013
By 
B. J. Farmer (Rugby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purple Rain (Audio CD)
Even nearly 20 years later this is a classic. I don't think the purple one ever surpassed it, but he had a very hot streak during the80s and early 90s.

Buy this......excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars purple rain say no more, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purple Rain (Audio CD)
fantastic cd, One of the great classics Prince at his complete best sound track from a great film. When Doves cry one of my all time favourite songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prince purple rain, 5 May 2013
This review is from: Purple Rain (Audio CD)
You have just got to love prince. I would recommend this cd it is brilliant to listen too and the price was right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 20 April 2013
By 
L. E. Cooper "Lindsey" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purple Rain (Audio CD)
What an album! prince was way ahead of his time a total genius! If you haven't heard it.... where have you been!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabcc26f0)

This product

Purple Rain
Purple Rain by Prince (Audio CD - 1984)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews