Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure professionalism.
Having heard an old cassette tape of a live Steely Dan set, I contemplated over the years if they would ever release a bona fide live album. However sitting one night discussing this topic with a 'Steely Dan-o-phile', we started trawling the cosmos for such an item. Imagine my pure exitement when we did! This album, although recorded at various venues, is slick, the songs...
Published on 20 Sep 2011 by The Groaner.

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An underperforming Steely Dan
I purchased this album as I did'nt have a live S.D. album and there were a couple of tracks new to me. Wish I had'nt as it was a bit of a let-down! I have all the S.D. albums, including the Donald Fagan solo albums, and find each and every one superb.This ,as I say,was below what I have been led to expect.
Published 15 months ago by colyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure professionalism., 20 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alive In America (Audio CD)
Having heard an old cassette tape of a live Steely Dan set, I contemplated over the years if they would ever release a bona fide live album. However sitting one night discussing this topic with a 'Steely Dan-o-phile', we started trawling the cosmos for such an item. Imagine my pure exitement when we did! This album, although recorded at various venues, is slick, the songs are well selected, and is a joy for anyone who enjoys the writing, playing and productive brilliance, that is Steely Dan. One can listen to this album many times and still feel the art and 'feel', that these extremly talented individuals possess. There is nowhere to hide in a live recording, and the support from the other musicians makes this album a masterpiece for any Steely Dan fan. I would recommend it to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When you're hot - you're HOT, 22 Feb 2003
By 
Black Crow (NAILSWORTH, GLOS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alive in America (Audio CD)
OK.....I know drum solos are not de-rigueur in the 90s , I appreciate the craving for the instant hook and that great works of art are rarely identified as such when they are first released into the public domain . It is with these thoughts in mind that I recommend Alive in America .
As soon as the whole has been absorbed , the different layers in the performance can be savoured without detracting from the overall listening experience . To this end Becker and Fagen have enlisted the support of musicians , not only proficient enough to grasp the arrangements firmly , but shrewd enough to know that light and shade are essential ingredients if the gig-cake is going to “cook” .
It was the keenest of moves to place Erskine or Chambers at the heart of the rhythm section on the drum stool , their metronomic precision belying their jazz heritage .......rest assured , they can whack when the need arises .
Easing you in with “Babylon Sisters” , with its deceptively minimalist shuffle , kicking into 3rd gear - Green Earrings gives the soloists Becker , Bernhardt , Bumpus and Zingg their chance , while Bodhisattva lets Georg Wadenius on guitar loose to great effect ; listen out for fantastic footwork from Chambers in the latter stages .
Rarely can changing arrangements from the originals be of much benefit . “Reelin’ In The Years” must be the exception that proves the rule ! This is ensemble playing of the highest order , those familiar choruses interspersed with blistering solos from Chris Potter on tenor plus guitarists Becker and Wadenius . “Josie” lilts jazzily , while Beaker’s “Book of Liars” sits uneasily among the other joint compositions . “Peg” exceeds the original with Wadenius again demonstrating his skill and sensitivity .
“Third World Man” not only boasts one of the most apposite of solos from Drew Zingg but also becomes the ultimate showcase for impeccable timekeeping . “Kid Charlemangne” sees Tom Barney on bass , along with Chambers to lay down the most driving and cohesive of foundations for guitars and horns . The enigmatic “Sign In Stranger” embraces a new arrangement and lyrics that keep you guessing till the last false finale .
No surprise that Aja was the Dan’s best selling album and that its title track was kept till last.
All of Becker and Fagen’s trademarks are firmly forged on to the final offering . Intricate instrumentation , faultless playing , intriguing lyrics , solos that add ( not subtract ) and finally , collective sensibilities that enthral the mind and drive the foot...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steely Dan, alive and very well., 28 April 2006
By 
D. L. Smith "jazz frustratum" (Margate, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alive In America (Audio CD)
Ok, this will be a review from the heart and to the point.

I have been a fan of Steely Dan for nearly 20 years and i never tire of their exquisite arrangements, strangely obscure but intriguing lyrics and above all master musicianship. Steely Dan is basically two guys, Fagen and Becker who employ an amazing array of classy pro session players the realise their songwriting vision.

This album is a live showcase put together from the best of their 93, 94 tour of America.

If you get your kicks from real musicians playing real music this will be a wonderful first introduction to Steely Dan. I wouldn't call it a greatest hits but there are some great tracks here with updated arrangements.

This album has originality, mind blowing solos (no one solos anymore), energy and above all a freshness that never fades.

Buy it, you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dan in fine, live form, 24 Aug 2010
By 
P. Holden (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alive In America (Audio CD)
This is, as other reviewers have said a great album with fine, live versions of classics. Great musicians and top quality emsemble playing. I'd sort of resisted getting a live Steely Dan album and was a little concerned about this being from the early 90's. However, it has proved a bit of a find and I'm glad I got it.
I'd certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars past steely dan peerless performance, 17 Jun 2009
By 
Archie mallis "dan 1990" (scotland u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alive In America (Audio CD)
having been a steely dan fan since the first guitar licks from Reelin in the years I had bought Live in America and every track sounds good with a Josie being a stand out cut showing the band tight and rockin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh perspective, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alive In America (Audio CD)
Despite owning all the SD studio albums, I had no idea this album existed. Each track offers a fresh perspective, with inspired variations from the studio versions, and all contain some brilliant musicianship both in terms of the tightness of the band as a whole and some blazing solos. Mixed as if recorded in one night, with great sound quality on a good system, it's about as near as you can get to attending a concert. I was fortunate to see them live in Birmingham UK in 2009, and this makes for a great reminder of that gig. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My wife loves it, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alive In America (Audio CD)
If she's happy, I'm happy! The tracks are sharp eq and are very clear and the songs are all classics delivered by a great group.I can highly recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars live music recordings, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alive In America (MP3 Download)
Live music recording give more than studio sounds you get the feel of what its like to bee there in the thick of the crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music collection update., 4 May 2013
By 
square eyes (Minehead, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alive In America (Audio CD)
Had LP's before and latterday recordings. This live album ticks the boxes. Still have track 'Green Earings' on my mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steely Dan Live, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alive In America (MP3 Download)
If you like Steely Dan you will love this album, just got to see this band live one day! The album includes many of their past hits which sound even better on this live recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alive In America
Alive In America by Steely Dan (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews