Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best blues-rock band for years
Kenny Wayne Shepherd is definitely up with the best blues guitarists. I actually bought this album after 'Live On' which is the latest KWS Band album to be released. I really didn't expect it to be as good, but amazingly all three of the available albums are just as good as each other ('Trouble is...', 'Ledbetter Heights', and 'Live On'). Even for people not so keen on...
Published on 13 Mar 2001

versus
1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fresh and inspired
Kenny Wayne Shepherd, like so many artists when new on the block.
Steaming with talent and a band so good, working as a band not a backing outfit.
Like so many, it all ended too soon.
Such great tracks, still a good listen after several years in the collection.
If you havent heard it, do so while its still available.
Published on 21 Feb 2010 by 5 string bassist


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best blues-rock band for years, 13 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ledbetter Heights (Audio CD)
Kenny Wayne Shepherd is definitely up with the best blues guitarists. I actually bought this album after 'Live On' which is the latest KWS Band album to be released. I really didn't expect it to be as good, but amazingly all three of the available albums are just as good as each other ('Trouble is...', 'Ledbetter Heights', and 'Live On'). Even for people not so keen on Blues, this gutsy blues rock will have you hooked-great guitar, great vocals. Its the kind of music that makes you feel great, that makes you want to pick up a guitar and just play- I have to agree with the review of 'Live On'-it gives you goosebumps. There isn't a dud song on here. Another reason to give Shepherd credit is that someone so young made such an impact on this particular rock scene. Stevie Ray Vaughn's career was tragically much too short- this starts where he left off in terms of influence and admirable talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KWS the new SRV!, 8 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ledbetter Heights (Audio CD)
This is an amazingly good c.d from one of the new breed blues guitarists.There is not one duff track on the album.Standout tracks being the Bukka White cover Aberdeen,and One Foot On The Path.The vocals are handled superbly by Corey Sterling,and the rest of the band are firing on all cylinders.All in all ,a must for blues rock fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond the Blues, 3 Jan 2004
This review is from: Ledbetter Heights (Audio CD)
This album is a fantastic voyage past what some call "boring 12 bar blues." (I don't). The KWS band provides uncharacteristicly inspired vocals, songwriting and execution. "Aberdeen" is a personal favorite, with thje ringing Dobro providing a Delta feel, while "Deja Voodoo" makes you think where Stevie might have gone musically, had he lived. A must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rock, 14 Sep 2012
By 
bart4books "db" (bristol, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ledbetter Heights (Audio CD)
I heard Kenny on the Paul Jones show and thought he was miles better than most of the stuff on it. His versions of Yer Blues and Oh Well were awesome.

So I thought I would get a CD. I chose this, which is his first album, because bands are often at their best on a first album. He was 18 then and his playing is precocious.

Overall it is a really strong consistent album musically, lyrically it is somewhat cliched, and to my ear he hasn't got a distinctive personal sound like say Mark Knoffler Jimmy Page Brian May or Eric Clapton and I intend to get later albums to see how he develops. But it really is top quality blues rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kenny Wayne Shepherd at 18, 20 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ledbetter Heights (Audio CD)
It's odd to think that I hadn't even heard of Kenny Wayne Shepherd a few months ago until Amazon recommended him because I liked Joe Bonamassa and, having already bought and enjoyed 3 of his albums, I've come back to his earlier album, which he recorded at the age of 18. If anyone knows of any earlier recordings of his, please reply to this posting. I've pre-ordered his latest album: "How I Go" (Limited Special Edition) and am very much looking forward to its release on the first of August 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this guys music, 9 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. A. T. Clarke "welsh dragon" (Wattsville,south wales uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ledbetter Heights (Audio CD)
If I could give six stars I would,what a debut album this is from 1995.I bought "how I am" kenny wayne shepards 2011 special edition album recently which blew me away,and here we go again.Corey Sterling is on vocals here,doing a great job,and Kenny playing some amazing guitar,on some pretty amazing songs.kenny likes throwing his own version of covers on his albums,and on his first offering here we have "Aberdeen"quite brilliant,and 2 other blues covers,along with his originals.Kenny had his first guitar aged 9yrs,and still a teenager with this realese,hailing from Louisiana there is a close knit team working here from the off.This album is more blues ladden than "How I am" with the likes of stevie ray--,Hendrix etc comming through with the feel of the album,The variety is exellent,as with the live track "while we cry",an instrumental as is "Ledbetter Heights""deja Voodoo" builds up into a great track as are they all. Its an import album sent fron new jersey was well packaged by the amazon seller,and also came in plastic sealed sleave,at an exellent price,what are waiting for if you dont own this album you are missing out big time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blonde blusers first, 6 Aug 2011
By 
Cthomas "CJ Turbo" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ledbetter Heights (Audio CD)
Kennys first album shows us what he is capable of, a very underrated player.
Well worth a place in any blues fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kennys best?, 9 Dec 2011
By 
Westy "Two Bells" (Milton Keynes England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ledbetter Heights (Audio CD)
In my humble opinion, this album is the best album Kenny has released! It has a great selection of blues styles, with plenty of scorching guitar solos,hints of the late, great Stevie Ray.With a tight band behind him, Kenny even throws in a live track!Its hard to believe he was only a young teenager when he released this,.....talented b@*!*@*! My personal favourite track is "ABERDEEN", which starts off with great acoustic slide, then blends straight into full tilt rockin blues! Just dont play this when you are driving---you are likely to get a speeding ticket, ( guilty m'lud)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fresh and inspired, 21 Feb 2010
This review is from: Ledbetter Heights (Audio CD)
Kenny Wayne Shepherd, like so many artists when new on the block.
Steaming with talent and a band so good, working as a band not a backing outfit.
Like so many, it all ended too soon.
Such great tracks, still a good listen after several years in the collection.
If you havent heard it, do so while its still available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ledbetter Heights
Ledbetter Heights by Kenny Wayne Shepherd (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews