Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Corker!!!
Oh, man! Remember when we'd sit there watching Whispering Bob on the New Year's Eve 'Old Grey Whistle Test Special' and phoning in to make sure 'Gimme All Your Lovin,' 'Sharp Dressed Man' or 'Legs' won the video vote? Then one year, (this was before we had video recorders in the home, wasn't it?), Bob played all 3 in a row! I mean, Lynyrd Skynyrd won enough times with...
Published on 11 Sep 2008 by Alan Burridge

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Texas Boogie
Texas Boogie for the disco generation. Okay, but does it stand up to Tres Hombres, Tejas or Deguello? Not a chance.
Published on 4 Mar 2011 by Anthony R. Dixon


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Corker!!!, 11 Sep 2008
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Oh, man! Remember when we'd sit there watching Whispering Bob on the New Year's Eve 'Old Grey Whistle Test Special' and phoning in to make sure 'Gimme All Your Lovin,' 'Sharp Dressed Man' or 'Legs' won the video vote? Then one year, (this was before we had video recorders in the home, wasn't it?), Bob played all 3 in a row! I mean, Lynyrd Skynyrd won enough times with 'Freebird,' now it was ZZ's turn, and what classic tracks and videos they were and still are!
On Disc one we have the 'Eliminator' album for the first 11 tracks, as per usual, and is it OUR age NOW or don't these tracks date? They sound as fresh as they did 25 year's ago! Track 12 is 'Legs' single version / bonus track, 13 to 17 are Live, previously unreleased bonus tracks, and then a dance mix of 'Legs,' which is fun and just knockout!
Disc 2 is the DVD with those 3 'Whistle Test' classics plus 'TV Dinners.' Then, and this will make everyone just Click To Buy if you haven't decided to already, four Live tracks from ZZ's performance on 17th November 1983 on 'The Tube.'
Now, we probably got the vinyl disintegrating there in the LP box, and the original CD caked in dust by now, but just click the button, THIS IS THE PUPPY YOU NEED for the 21st Century; you'll be 25 year's younger by the time you've played this a few times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How about remastering the rest of Tops Titles, 23 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. R. Powell (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most people reading this review will already know enough about the album itself, a 5* eighties masterpiece. What they'll be wondering is 'Is it worth forking out for the deluxe edition?'. The answer is yes, just about. The remastering does wonders for the sound, it just blasts out of your speakers. It brings the whole sound alive and makes you ask the above question (Come on Rhino lets get Tejas, Deguello and El Loco remastered). But what about the extras. Well, the cd extras are hardly essential. Do we really need two extra versions of Legs, especially a Dance Mix (Lets face it those eighties dance Mixes were an abomination and this is no exception). The live tracks are not much better, recorded at the Marquee and Donnington, the sound is fairly rough after the excellence of the main album (There must have been some decently recorded gigs on the Eliminator Tour). That brings us to the DVD. First up the promotional videos. Who can forget those. Ahh, how time can distort our memories. In '83 they looked so cool. Now they look pretty tacky, and those eighties styles just look horrible. The TV Dinners video fairs better though with some morf like animation. Finally onto the last 4 videos, taken from the Tube. These are worth it. By this time they'd been touring the album for quite some time and were tighter than a pair of Def leppards spandex. This really is worth seeing especially Tube Snake Boogie which was never broadcast. Overall then, a 5* album with 3* extras. Buy it for the much improved sound & Tube videos. Do what I did, get it cheap off the amazon marketplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Eliminator CD/DVD" - A Sharp-Dressed Reissue - Disappointingly No..., 16 Sep 2008
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Released on LP and Cassette in March 1983 on Warner Brothers, the blues boogie of "Eliminator" was an absolute phenomenon for the Texas trio ZZ Top.

They'd been bubbling under for years - "La Grange" in 1973, "Tush" in 1975 - and a minor hit with "I Thank You" in 1980. But none of it even remotely indicated what would happen in 1983 and 1984. "Eliminator" - one of the best boogie albums ever made - changed everything for them and us - it was little short of absolute global domination.

It was a combination of things - the umpteen tracks that were all single/radio friendly hits, the emergence of rotation MTV, the videos with leggy sexy babes - the fabulous 1956 coupe car - the ZZ TOP keyring flying through the air to the hapless buck trying to be a 'sharp dressed man' - the image of dusty dudes with beards - all of it combined in one heady mix to produce domestic sales in the USA topping 10 million with the same number estimated for the rest of the world. And if you take into account second-hand sales since that heady time 25 years ago and an early issue on CD, you're looking at a "Rumours", a "Purple Rain" and a "Thriller". This September 2008 (delayed release) has it good points and bad though...

Here's the layout first:

Disc 1 (78:27 minutes)
Tracks 1 to 11 are the album REMASTERED in its entirety with the original lengthier mix of "Legs" at 4:34 minutes re-instated for the first time (it was replaced after initial pressings by the shorter single mix of 3:37 minutes)
Tracks 12 to 18 are bonus tracks; 12 is the single mix of "Legs"; 13 to 17 are 5 previously unreleased live tracks (13, 14, 16 and 17 recorded at Castle Donington Festival in Leicestershire in England, while 15 was recorded at The Marquee Club in London - no dates supplied)
Track 18 is the 12" "Dance Mix" of "Legs"

The remastering of the album is FANTASTIC - muscular, in your living room, detailed - all that it should have been these last two and half decades. I've waited years to hear "I Need You Tonight" in this sound quality and it was worth it. But the really bad news is the audio bonus tracks, which are a huge letdown. The live versions have what is laughably called `audio restoration' on them - they sound like rubbish bootleg recordings - someone standing in a field with a microphone held up (Donnington was exactly that - a vast field). The truly awful extended mix of "Legs" was on the box set anyway - unlistenable then and the same now. Worse - there are single edits of "Gimme All Your Lovin" and "Sharp Dressed Man", but maddeningly they're not included here - they should have been - it would have been far more appropriate to a supposed `collector's edition'. Also there's nothing new worth hearing - no outtakes, alternatives, no demos, no new songs - nothing. Really disappointing stuff I'm afraid. The album is great, but the supposed bonuses are awful.

Things fare better on the 2nd disc, an 8-track DVD. First up are the 4 famous videos that broke the album with a worldwide TV audience and their inclusion on this `special edition' is only right and proper - they were such an integral part of the "Eliminator" experience. The prints are clean, but unfortunately blurry in that cheap 1980s kind of a way. They're fun to re-watch, but not much more than that. Things get considerably better with tracks 5 to 8, which are professionally filmed studio performances. They were recorded live in front of a studio audience on 17 November 1983 for one the UK's popular pop programs of the time - "The Tube". The sound and visuals are great and while the vocals are live, I'm fairly sure some tweaking has been done to beef up the sound. Whatever way you look at it - this is primo ZZ TOP and makes up somewhat for the disappointing crap that is tail-ending the Audio CD. Fans will really enjoy these.

The packaging isn't great either - a gatefold digipak with a 20-page booklet. The layers under the see-through trays have no photos of singles - outtakes - they're blank - pretty crappy really. The car's pictured a couple of times, lyrics reproduced, a basic essay on the album - but no real event feel to it - no live shots - no interesting formats pictured - fan stuff left out - it's basic really, when it could have been so much better.

In truth, you'd have to say that if Rhino had just issued the remaster of the album with the single edits and the 12" mix added on at the end - then that would have been so much better. As it is, you're being asked to spend £13 to £16 on a package that smacks of laziness and greed - and worse - leaves you with a bad taste in the mouth - an underwhelming experience that should have been a real celebration of a really great album...

To sum up - fantastic remaster of the album, good stuff on the DVD, but docked a star for the rubbish filler at the end of Disc 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best album ever!, 26 Oct 2008
Eliminator was the real deal back then but to be re-issued with the added bonus of a few decent if patchy live tracks of their best hits and a dvd of their tube fame is worth the money alone but its a mystery why its no longer selling on amazon since it has not been issued as a limited collectors edition.

Back to the album the sound quality alone has improved a lot unlike the older eliminator album where having to turn the volume up to 11 meant only hearing the finished product at half strength whilst the legs single version is re-introduced in all of its extended glory giving the album a welcome shot in the arm which is still a hit with songs to match like "You got the six, "Give me all your lovin", "Sharp Dressed man" etc but like i say about the three bonus live recordings they sound relatively patchy whilst the dance version of legs is decent but virtually a track that should have been left off the album as its mainly dominated by bleeps and virtually no lead guitar from Billy Gibbons.

But the dvd is a added bonus seeing the three sharp dressed men tearing it up for great viewing pleasure live on the tube whilst the video's to gimme all you lovin, sharp dressed men, legs and tv dinners are hilarious beyond belief.

Of course there are other albums like tres hombres that are highly regarded above any of zz tops eighties albums but atleast this one is better than any of the later stuff they made that failed to recapture their former glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it for the Tube clips, 4 Sep 2008
By 
freewheeling frankie (north London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm sure I don't need to tell most potential buyers how good the original album is - suffice to say that other ZZ Top albums reach similar heights but this is probably their most consistent as well as their most successful. The long overdue remaster has been augmented here by:

1) the single and 12" versions of Legs - the single version was used on the original CD and the longer album version, unavailable since early editions of the lp, is restored here; the 7:50 12" version, described here as Dance Mix, was called Metal Mix on my 12" copy.
2) live recordings (5 songs, all from Eliminator) from Monsters of Rock in 1983; this is in all honesty not the greatest ZZ Top performance I've heard - Gimme All Your Lovin' in particular is quite sluggish - but does have its moments, notably I Got The Six
3) a bonus DVD featuring:
a) the three classic and well-known videos for Legs, Gimme All Your Lovin' and Sharp Dressed Man, and the much less well-known but very entertaining video for TV Dinners
b) and finally, the live performance from one of the UK's greatest ever music tv programmes, The Tube. Only the first 3 of these 4 songs were shown on The Tube at the time, and the programme credits roll over the end of Sharp Dressed Man; you then get a cracking version of Tube Snake Boogie, the only non-Eliminator song among the bonus tracks here.

This Tube video is ZZ gold dust, absolutely worth the price of entry: the performance is scorching - far, far better than the Monsters of Rock stuff on the CD - with Billy Gibbons playing some stunningly heavy guitar; the camerawork is up close & personal. My only quibble is with the slightly iffy picture quality - I recorded this on VHS back in 1983 and it still looks sharper than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The one without the beard is called beard" ZZzzzzzzzz, 17 Nov 2005
This review is from: Eliminator (Audio CD)
Well what can I say...Brilliant album from the great Texan's themselves. It will always be floating around every Auction site from Amazon to Ebid. Everyone should own a copy and listen to it regular. Power chords at their best and all great songs. If you don't own it....you should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Drive it!, 15 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eliminator (Audio CD)
The album that brought ZZ Top to my attention and probably to the attention of the masses at the start of the MTV generation and to my mind the best one that bridges the gap between their rhythm and Blues roots and their later mass market offerings that many feel don't match up to their earlier works. There's not a bad track on it; from the block busting singles of Legs, Sharp Dressed Man and Gimme All Your Lovin' through the driving Bad Girl and Got Me Under Pressure to the sublimely humorous TV Dinners, every one is a winner. Owned this album on cassette since it came out and needed to get it to play in the car again; now all I have to do is find the money to buy a '33 Ford coupé and get on the road!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We bought the CD and were not disappointed! This is one of our favourite of all ..., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eliminator (Audio CD)
Has this as a tape in the past and talking to my husband he had the tape too. We bought the CD and were not disappointed! This is one of our favourite of all times CD! Driving round with roof down on car and ZZ Top playing quite loudly! Takes us back :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eliminator (Audio CD)
Brilliant thank you so much sorry for delay.A ++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eliminator is the Top, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eliminator (Audio CD)
had this one many years ago on LP just had to have it again because every track is so good .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eliminator
Eliminator by ZZ Top (Audio CD - 1984)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews