Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1999, don't u wanna go?...
In my opinion '1999' will always remain Prince's best album.
I mean don't get me wrong, 'Sign 'O' The Times' is a masterpiece, but it can't match '1999' it terms of sheer brilliance, and it is only Prince's 1987 album that contains as many outstanding tracks as this record.
Containing 11 tracks (basically an average albums worth of material) Prince manages to...
Published on 19 Nov 2003 by L. A. Stanley

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prince's most overrated album
For many fans, "1999" is Prince's best album to date. I've been a huge fan since 1984 but I've never really liked this album. Granted, there are some classic tracks, particularly "1999" and "Little Red Corvette", but these aside most of the tracks just go on for far too long. "Automatic", for example, is superb but overstays its welcome at nine minutes. The same is...
Published on 24 Feb 2009 by Peter Lee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Still Prince's best ever work !, 26 Feb 2014
By 
D. N. Frew (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1999 [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I just can stand the clicks from my vinyl rip, so I just had to buy the clean MP3 version.

It is brilliant ! What more need I say...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars parrrty!, 23 Feb 2014
By 
t. spain (glasgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1999 [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
great classic. really great. could be one of the best albums of the 80's if you have never heard it, shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prince Marks Out His Own Path, 15 Oct 2013
This review is from: 1999 (Audio CD)
While all of his previous 4 efforts had their merits, especially the new wave pop of Dirty Mind, this was the beginning
of his classic run (1982-1988) where he astounded fans and critics alike. It includes 2 of his most famous songs in 1999 and
Little Redo Corvette, both brilliant. Also the infectious Delirious rounds off Side 1. Things take quite a dramatic dark turn from then
on. The pounding techno beats of Let's Pretend We're Married, paired with a filthy lyric is Prince at his best. Also the pure funk of Lady Cab Driver,
the downright weirdness of Something In The Water and All The Critics Love U In New York, and the fine balled International Lover, are all top
notch Prince. Deep album cuts. The album is not perfect though, D.M.S.R and Automatic although worthy songs, are stretched out way too long, and
could of done being half the length. Closing Side 3, the ballad Free is one of Prince's most ordinary ballads, and comes up short of ballads he'd written on his previous albums such as Crazy You and Gotta Broken Heart Again. 1999 is an essential part of any Prince fans collection, and he wouldn't get as dark again until The Black Album in 1987.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can we say, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1999 (Audio CD)
This is Prince, the one and only
This is a really amazinng Cd.
Probably you just know the new ones..
Great ambience, a must have for all really big fans of Prince
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let Prince take you on a rollercoaster ride down from 1982 all the way to the present day!, 29 July 2008
By 
Alex (Bromsgrove, Worcs, U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1999 (Audio CD)
1. 1999. 10/10
2. Little Red Corvette. 10/10
3. Delirious. 10/10
4. Let's Pretend We're Married. 9/10
5. D.M.S.R. 10/10
6. Automatic. 8/10
7. Something in the Water (Does Not Compute). 9/10
8. Free. 7/10
9. Lady Cab Driver. 8/10
10. All the Critics Love U In New York. 10/10
11. International Lover. 10/10

OVERALL GRADE: 10/10
Let prince take you on a journey through the party of "1999", the sexuality of "Little Red Corvette",the simplicity of "Delirious", the shockingness of "Let's Pretend We're Married", through to the sexy dance anthem "D.M.S.R.", the catchiness of "Automatic", quirkyness of "Something in the Water", sweetness of "Free", steaminess of "Lady Cab Driver", strangeness of "Love U In New York", the sheer brilliantness of "International Lover" and then you are at the end of your 70 minutes of passion. On a par with "Sign" and "Purple" and "3121".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cars?, 26 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: 1999 (Audio CD)
What? These songs are about cars? All these years I thought he was talking about...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty darn good, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1999 (Audio CD)
Great to hear this again. A bit self-indulgent, but brought back happy memories of my vinyl version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Brilliant!, 28 July 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: 1999 (Audio CD)
1. 1999. 10/10
2. Little Red Corvette. 10/10
3. Delirious. 10/10
4. Let's Pretend We're Married. 8/10
5. D.M.S.R. 9/10
6. Automatic. 7/10
7. Something in the Water (Does Not Compute). 9/10
8. Free. 8/10
9. Lady Cab Driver. 9/10
10. All the Critics Love U In New York. 10/10
11. International Lover. 10/10

OVERALL GRADE: 10/10
#2 only to "Sign "O" the Times". But buy both of these, they are absolutely brilliant. Automatic's only fault is that it is extremely long! Brilliant to say the least!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album Review for 1999, 16 April 2009
This review is from: 1999 (Audio CD)
This album is very exciting to listen to with mostly the same genre through out. The genres consist of pop, rock and funk. Although what made this album a huge success were the singles, but if you listen more in depth the album is just brilliant.
However i did not like it at first that much but as you get older i've liked it more and more from when first purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1999 (Audio CD)
I liked all the songs, great album. I keep listening to it everyday.The songs that I liked were 1999, Little red corvette, delirious, D.M.S.R, automatic, lets pretend were married, lady cab driver and all the critics love u in New york.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1999
1999 by Prince (Audio CD - 1984)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews