Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!
I bought this album about 20yrs ago and have been playing it regularly ever since.Both my kids are hooked too now (ages 16 and 11!). This album is by far his best. Every track is superb.
Published on 13 Oct. 2003 by Book Lover

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
just ok.
Published 3 months ago by peart


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 13 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Breaking Away (Audio CD)
I bought this album about 20yrs ago and have been playing it regularly ever since.Both my kids are hooked too now (ages 16 and 11!). This album is by far his best. Every track is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz/Soul Classic!, 2 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Breaking Away (Audio CD)
In the late-1970s, Warner Brothers managed to break George Benson out of the jazz market and into the pop realm, and obviously then fancied doing the same with Al Jarreau. Teaming Al with Jay Graydon, who had already produced a couple of hits with George ("Turn Your Love Around" and "Never Give Up On A Good Thing"), proved to be the masterstroke. Their initial teaming, This Time, was well-received, but on Breaking Away everything clicked and a platinum Grammy-nominated album was born. Combining smooth jazz arrangements with slightly more accessible R and B/pop material was irresistible. The single, "We're In This Love Together" is cool and catchy and proved a well-desered hit, but is more than matched by the rest of the material. The opener, "Closer To You Love" is more uptempo and stylish, while "Roof Garden" is funk-jazz and a real gem. As all great albums, though, the best is saved for last - the gentle, smooth arrangement of "Teach Me Tonight" glides along effortlessly until the last verse when Al lets go and soars, matched by the arrangement and the wonderful sax climax. Awesome. This is an essential part of any real music lovers collection. Check out the follow up too, Jarreau, which I think is even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars His best album?, 20 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Away (Audio CD)
This was the first album of Al Jarreau I purchased..I have bought others since but still think that this is his best, with a fine collection of songs, Our Love / we're in this love tgether / closer to your love / roof garden etc all performed in the usual immaculate style. Great Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Although a great album it's not his best, 13 Dec. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Away (Audio CD)
This is a great album, but if you haven't got : Jarreau get that first - even at elevated used prices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Away (Audio CD)
Prompt delivery and item as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Away (Audio CD)
just ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Away (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breakin Away [CASSETTE]
Breakin Away [CASSETTE] by Al Jarreau (Audio Cassette)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews